We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First Visit Great, Second Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #31 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“First Visit Great, Second Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Barcelona Catedral in May of 2011 and were very pleased. We had an opportunity to spend a couple days in Barcelona again and didn't hesitate to book another stay. We were very glad we did. Upon arrival, we were greeted very warmly as repeat visitors. We had anticipated that our room wouldn't be available due to our arrival time in Barcelona (8:30 am) and were able to store our luggage. When we returned in the afternoon, our room was ready. A few minutes after we entered our room, reception surprised us with a complimentary bottle of Cava and fruit. Very unexpected and appreciated.

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Barcelona. When we return, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EduardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that your second stay in our hotel was as good as the first one in 2011.
We work very hard on service in order to make the most confortable and unique stay to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you in your third stay in Barcelona and we hope you have the opportunity to come back to our wonderful city very soon.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    641
    72
    12
    10
See reviews for
321
921
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent location and highly recommend this hotel. Very nice, quiet place, clean room and good service, breakfast was expensive but luxury. Rooftop small poolarea, near by the Cathedral area was wonderful. Few minutes walk to La Rambla, Placa de Catalunya, Gothic Quarter... and metrostations. Lovely place to spend wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjut_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you found our hotel a lovely place to spend a wonderful vacation.
We are very pleased to know that you highly recommend us.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay at Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Location, comfort, level of service, pool...it has it all. Right around a quiet corner from the Cathedral and a short walk to almost everywhere you would walk. I have absolutely nothing negative to say! Price was not bad either.

Room Tip: top floor puts you on same level as pool/roof deck. i liked that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you found what you needed.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Very good location right next to the cathedral and 5 min walk to Las Ramblas. Very clean and new looking hotel with great, friendly and informative staff. Rooftop pool great to relax with large comfy beds. Pool towels provided. All in all this hotel is perfect for a stay in Barcelona and would definately return when I go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have found our hotel excellent, and that our team pleased your expectatives.
We hope to welcome you back in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location and yet quiet, close to everything in the gothic quarter, lovely clean room, fully furbished, free tours, made our romantic vacation fully enjoyable-highly recommended. Staff friendly and helpful

Helpful?
Thank Chaim T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments and sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that we have made your romantic vacation fully enjoyable and highly recommended.
We look forward on having the opportunity of welcoming you again in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Once we'd found the hotel we found it an excellent location to set up base for a 3 day stay! Great facilities and near to all the major attractions. Staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Wold have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richspedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the comments that you shared with the rest of the tripavisor users.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have found our team helpful.
We hope you had the opportunity to do one of our free activities proposed to our guests, like the free walking tour, held on wednesdays night or sunday morning, or our Taichi.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I went to Barcelona with a friend and we stayed at this hotel. The Location is amazing. its in the Goth quarter and is practically walking distance to either everything you need or walking distance to the transport to get you to the other parts of town. Hotel was clean, spacious and very helpful staff, the breakfast was great but the only negative was the bar....bar tender was a little grumpy and had the worse margarita i have ever had! Anyway, on the bright side it was perfect for what we needed and i would definitely stay there again. Great value for money.

Room Tip: i suppose higher floors would be better for access to pool and away from street noise. but it is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alison n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Gerente at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a good stay and that you find our team helpful.
I will personally check with our food and beverage mgr. about the problem that you had with the cocktail.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#14 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#50 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#27 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing