We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #50 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was my partners 30th birthday and we stopped here. The staff , management was fantastic . Ordered room service and after a little mix up , when it came it was fantastic . So couldn't of wished for anything more

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haylezG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very glad that you had a nice stay and that finally we could pleased with your partners Birthday.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,045)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in July 2010 and would most definitely return! Wonderful location, minutes to the cathedral and old streets of Barcelona..about 10 minutes to the main shopping area. For a hotel in the centre it was lovely and quiet. We ate in the hotel just once, but the food was delicious if slightly more pricey than you would find in the city. Our room was large (we had a suite with a private terrace backing onto the pool) but there were two adults and a young baby with lots of accompanying paraphernalia and so needed the space! They really welcomed the baby too unlike lots of places that aren't so accommodating! The standard rooms were ample sized too I thought...and most importantly they were clean and fresh! Staff were incredibly friendly and polite! Wonderful place and I would advise anybody to check it out! Don't expect allot from the pool though - it was a lovely place for a drink and a dip but not one to choose if you wanted to keep up a fitness regime! Good length but narrow! Lucky that certainly wasn't top of my agenda!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
We are glad to read that you found our hotel fresh.
We hope of welcoming you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found Hotel Barcelona Catedral to be of excellent standard with friendly staff, a well equipped room with all the expected amenities, an unrivalled central location and superb breakfast! It is difficult to see how one could find something better!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are pleased that you find our hotel convenient, and that it pleased your expectative.
We work to give to the guests a nice stay.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent a considerable time searching out a good hotel for my wife and myself to stay in for four days and nights. I chose the Barcelona Catedral because it has what I wanted. I wanted the four stars and got it. I wanted the central arae of the city and got it. Barcelona is a big place yet quite compact and here in the Barri Gotic area you are very close ot everything. There are buses, the Metro, and so many lanes to walk around. This hotel is really by the Cathedral yet in a side road and very quiet. We took the A2 Aerobus from the airport and got off at Placa Catalunya where its only a 2 or 300 metre walk to the hotel. It cost 5 euro.90 each oneway. Only took 20 minutes.The rooms are just what you need for comfort with big beds and a great bathroom with all the clean towels and hot water and gels and shampoos you could wish for.
The guys at the reception are just the best. No matter what you require or want to know, they are right on it. Good english as well.
We opted for breakfast and that was lovely. Good bread, hot and cold dishes, loads of tea and coffee and juice,just right to set you up for a days walking and sightseeing.Everything is cooked to order so there is nothing of the fast food factor with everything lying in its own juices for hours.
We did look at the pool area although it was March and I'm sure a bit cold to dip ones feet into but I'm sure it will be great in the summer after all the heat and clamour of the city. All in all, an extremely wonderful and enjoyable city and hotel.
Yes, we wil return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and with the window open we could hear the sounds of the city...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you choose our hotel, and that you found what you expected.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed Barcelona.
We really look forward on welcoming you on your next trip to our city.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 4 days (19-23 March 2013) in Barcelona Catedral Hotel. Most aspects of this hotel are highly enjoyable. it is modern but in a quiet taste, fantastic location in the center of town : near the city cathedral and plaza catalunya and short walking distance to Bari Gotic, Raval, Eixample and Born districts, 5 minuts walk to the impressive Catalan music palace (where great concerts are offered, we heard Andras Schiff playing 7 Beethoven Sonatas on March 22), and lovely small designers shops in the vicinity, with the world marks on Passeig de Gracia and Diagonal, also walking distance (15-20 minutes...). The staff is small and very helpful, all manage very well in English. The breakfasts are especially nice, with many options and pleasant seating in a room facing the street. Hotel offers lunches but only room service with limited choice at night. Gym is very small but has a nice view and the pool is a lovely addition for summer days. Our room (201) was a bit small but included all that is required for a pleasant stay. Bathroom is lovely and spacious. Wifi is free and we had minor problems with connectivity. Days were a bit cold and heating was not efficient enough, which was taken care by the staff immediately. Our room had a large single bed which we asked for, and a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Naturally, a non-smoking is a first request in Spain... ask for a larger room with possibly a view t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldi_Idit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and that you enjoyed Barcelona.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour that we offer to our guests visiting the surroundings of the hotel with the explanation of the legends of Barcelona.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
With our best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

very nice hotel great location near every thing la rambla,plaza catalunya,cathedral and shopping streets easy to reach you can use Aerobus from airport to plaza catalunya and then 5 min walk to the hotel.Breakfast was expensive (19 Euro) you can go to any near by resturant to eat and save some mony.....recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superman-q8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you use sharing your experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice experience in your recent stay, and that you find our hotel in the correct location.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour offered to our guests or our taiji class.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has a very good look - modern, with a comfortable common space in the lobby and good-looking, adequately-sized rooms. The rooms are bright and the beds very comfortable. We did not try the restaurant, as there are lots of places to get breakfast nearby. The desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The location is perhaps the best aspect - literally around the corner from the Cathedral, making it very easy for cabs to get close to it even though it is in the Gothic section, and to get back to it from anywhere. Besides being in the Gothic section, it is a short walk to the Metro and to Las Ramblas. The free WiFi was nice, but a little spotty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay and that you recommend our hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,352 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
2,004 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing