We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best in Barcelona?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #37 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Solna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best in Barcelona?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We found Hotel Barcelona Catedral to be of excellent standard with friendly staff, a well equipped room with all the expected amenities, an unrivalled central location and superb breakfast! It is difficult to see how one could find something better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgitta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are pleased that you find our hotel convenient, and that it pleased your expectative.
We work to give to the guests a nice stay.
We hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    668
    74
    13
    10
See reviews for
336
955
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I spent a considerable time searching out a good hotel for my wife and myself to stay in for four days and nights. I chose the Barcelona Catedral because it has what I wanted. I wanted the four stars and got it. I wanted the central arae of the city and got it. Barcelona is a big place yet quite compact and here in the Barri Gotic area you are very close ot everything. There are buses, the Metro, and so many lanes to walk around. This hotel is really by the Cathedral yet in a side road and very quiet. We took the A2 Aerobus from the airport and got off at Placa Catalunya where its only a 2 or 300 metre walk to the hotel. It cost 5 euro.90 each oneway. Only took 20 minutes.The rooms are just what you need for comfort with big beds and a great bathroom with all the clean towels and hot water and gels and shampoos you could wish for.
The guys at the reception are just the best. No matter what you require or want to know, they are right on it. Good english as well.
We opted for breakfast and that was lovely. Good bread, hot and cold dishes, loads of tea and coffee and juice,just right to set you up for a days walking and sightseeing.Everything is cooked to order so there is nothing of the fast food factor with everything lying in its own juices for hours.
We did look at the pool area although it was March and I'm sure a bit cold to dip ones feet into but I'm sure it will be great in the summer after all the heat and clamour of the city. All in all, an extremely wonderful and enjoyable city and hotel.
Yes, we wil return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel and with the window open we could hear the sounds of the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helishot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you choose our hotel, and that you found what you expected.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed Barcelona.
We really look forward on welcoming you on your next trip to our city.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent 4 days (19-23 March 2013) in Barcelona Catedral Hotel. Most aspects of this hotel are highly enjoyable. it is modern but in a quiet taste, fantastic location in the center of town : near the city cathedral and plaza catalunya and short walking distance to Bari Gotic, Raval, Eixample and Born districts, 5 minuts walk to the impressive Catalan music palace (where great concerts are offered, we heard Andras Schiff playing 7 Beethoven Sonatas on March 22), and lovely small designers shops in the vicinity, with the world marks on Passeig de Gracia and Diagonal, also walking distance (15-20 minutes...). The staff is small and very helpful, all manage very well in English. The breakfasts are especially nice, with many options and pleasant seating in a room facing the street. Hotel offers lunches but only room service with limited choice at night. Gym is very small but has a nice view and the pool is a lovely addition for summer days. Our room (201) was a bit small but included all that is required for a pleasant stay. Bathroom is lovely and spacious. Wifi is free and we had minor problems with connectivity. Days were a bit cold and heating was not efficient enough, which was taken care by the staff immediately. Our room had a large single bed which we asked for, and a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Naturally, a non-smoking is a first request in Spain... ask for a larger room with possibly a view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldi_Idit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel, and that you enjoyed Barcelona.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour that we offer to our guests visiting the surroundings of the hotel with the explanation of the legends of Barcelona.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
With our best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

very nice hotel great location near every thing la rambla,plaza catalunya,cathedral and shopping streets easy to reach you can use Aerobus from airport to plaza catalunya and then 5 min walk to the hotel.Breakfast was expensive (19 Euro) you can go to any near by resturant to eat and save some mony.....recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superman-q8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you use sharing your experience with the rest of the Tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice experience in your recent stay, and that you find our hotel in the correct location.
We hope you had the opportunity of joining our free walking tour offered to our guests or our taiji class.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel has a very good look - modern, with a comfortable common space in the lobby and good-looking, adequately-sized rooms. The rooms are bright and the beds very comfortable. We did not try the restaurant, as there are lots of places to get breakfast nearby. The desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The location is perhaps the best aspect - literally around the corner from the Cathedral, making it very easy for cabs to get close to it even though it is in the Gothic section, and to get back to it from anywhere. Besides being in the Gothic section, it is a short walk to the Metro and to Las Ramblas. The free WiFi was nice, but a little spotty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of sharing your comments with the rest of the tripadvisor users.
We are very glad to know that you had a nice stay and that you recommend our hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel was conveniently placed to reach most of the major sights on foot,which meant we really explored the narrow streets of the old parts of the city. Our bed was large and comfortable and had a good bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and the staff helpful. I would recommend this hotel. We did the walking tour from the Town Hall and the museums of Catalan history as well as the usual sights such as Picasso museum, Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell and Montjuic. It's a great city for all tastes as well as having a lovely beach front. I personally would not want to go in very hot weather though. It was not a cheap holiday as we wanted a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the comments that your have written about our hotel.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you find our hotel conveniently placed.
We hope of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was nice, perfect location, staff was friendly, breakfast was great, complimentary wifi and city tours were wonderful. Located near airport transportation, hop on and off bus tours which are great, starbucks, lovely restaurants, atm, the Catedral! Gotic! The staff recommended places to eat and they were wonderful. Wifi was great. The beds were big and comfortable. The hotel is very nice, similiar to a nice marriot, but a little worn, the maids the first day did not do a good job, but we asked for them to clean the floors again and they did. Breakfast was worth purchasing in price and night gotic tour was lovely. Restaurant at hotel is open for breakfast and afternoon not dinner. Would stay there again. Also they gave us a pack an display for our son and did not charge us extra for him, or his breakfast, hes 2. Cleaniness could improve, shower a little akward but plenty of hot water and pressure.

Room Tip: Quiet with good heat no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay and that you are pleased with the service given by our team and the location of our propierty.
We hope we have the oportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#29 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#49 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#21 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#23 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#10 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing