We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Barcelona at it's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barcelona Catedral to your Saves list
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Barcelona at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for 4 nights in Barcelona Catedral. An absolutely wonderful time! Staff was very friendly and professional, rooms clean and the location was extremely convenient to explore the city. Will stay again every time we go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdeliyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We will share your comments with all of our team.
We hope to have the opportunity to see you soon in our hotel.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    617
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
310
869
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

it was a very nice hotel which has a perfect location, and also has very friendly and helpful staff. i think there is noise isolation between the rooms, we stayed there for 5 nights and hear nothing from the other rooms. the hotel is at the opposite street of the famous Gothic Catedral, and at the heart of the old town. you can walk all around that area and explore many interesting streets, shops, little squares around. the hotel room was very comfortable, modern and clean. the bed was really comfortable also. the room was cleaned every morning, the towels were changed daily as well. their little compliments made us happy; such as the welcoming gift lollipops, or the "have a happy birthday" note which was written on the mirror with a red lipstick:) the only feedback is, however there is one in the bathroom, we felt the lack of a mirror in the room. thank you for that beautiful accomodation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sedayucesoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time that your have spent sharing your comments with the rest of the community on tripadvisor.
We are very glad that you spend your birthday in our hotel, and that we did suprised you.
We hope you had the opportunity to join our free walking tour that we have prepared to our guests on wednesday nights or on monday mornings.
We hope to welcome you back in your next trip to barcelona.
best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona. Perfect location. Close to major attractions, restaurants and shipping.
The atmosphire was great. The design is beautiful.
We didn't enjoyed breakfast at the Hotel since it was a bit too expensive to our opinion.
We enjoyed breakfast at the coffee shops near by.
The staff was pleasant and the tour was very interesting.
In total, very recomended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments and sharing your experiences with this community.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and into our city.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed forgone night ahead of a cruise. Excellent accommodation, lovely modern room and very comfortable bed. Good range of in-room facilities and very well-stocked bathroom. Lovely included breakfast. Fantastic location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We loved this place, it was great. Pros: giant room (really, giant), tons of storage space for luggage/bag/shopping/etc, big bathroom, clean, modern decor in the rooms and common areas, super comfy beds, very friendly and helpful staff, great price, and location location location! Cons: none - we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is located across from the cathedral, but just down a side street so it is very quiet, but close to the sights. I love staying in the old city too. You can walk just about everywhere from here - Barri Gotic, Born, la Ramblas, the waterfront; otherwise taxis are plentiful and cheap. We stayed here for 5 nights, and opted for the breakfast-included rate, which was adequate for our needs and convenient. We also had lunch in their restaurant one day, the food was delicious. The rooftop pool was fun for a dip after a sweltering walk around Parc Guell. Barcelona is one of my favorite cities and the hotel made our stay even better!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our Hotel, and that you have enjoyed the city of Barcelona.
We are very lucky with our locationa that our guests can walk in a safe are everywhere.
We also are very glad to know that you find our service correct, we work hard with trainings to our team in order to improve the service.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It is a great location within walking distance of the airport airbus drop off point, La Ramblas, the Barcelona Cathedral, and the pier. The room was clean and the service was very good. It was a little noisy in the evening, as our room overlooked the outdoor dining area and what appeared to be an everyday living area. We did not eat in the restaurant, but chose to walk to a local market and had cheese, crackers, and wine. Overall, I would recommend a stay here if you will be in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Stay away from the center and move toward the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us to other guests.
we work hard in service in order to read your kind of comments.
Thank you and we hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Dec 2012.
It is a very nice hotel, walking distance to many interesting places and next to metro stations.
The rooms are new and clean.
I can not comment about the food, because we did not eat at the hotel, but it seemed to have a good in-house menu.
The gym spot is small, but the hotel is not supposed to have a Reebok center anyway!
I would definitively stay there again, great value and great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is not located at a busy street, so it really does not matter that much the number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are happy to read that you had a great valued worth on your stay and that as you says is a great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.
We hope we can host you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#33 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#30 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#89 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#16 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,686 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#28 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing