We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel. Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #46 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Lovely Hotel. Best Location”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Hotel is located in the heart of Barcelona. Perfect location. Close to major attractions, restaurants and shipping.
The atmosphire was great. The design is beautiful.
We didn't enjoyed breakfast at the Hotel since it was a bit too expensive to our opinion.
We enjoyed breakfast at the coffee shops near by.
The staff was pleasant and the tour was very interesting.
In total, very recomended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurit17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments and sharing your experiences with this community.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and into our city.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best Regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    742
    82
    14
    14
See reviews for
380
1,099
51
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed forgone night ahead of a cruise. Excellent accommodation, lovely modern room and very comfortable bed. Good range of in-room facilities and very well-stocked bathroom. Lovely included breakfast. Fantastic location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank claudiaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We loved this place, it was great. Pros: giant room (really, giant), tons of storage space for luggage/bag/shopping/etc, big bathroom, clean, modern decor in the rooms and common areas, super comfy beds, very friendly and helpful staff, great price, and location location location! Cons: none - we would definitely stay here again. The hotel is located across from the cathedral, but just down a side street so it is very quiet, but close to the sights. I love staying in the old city too. You can walk just about everywhere from here - Barri Gotic, Born, la Ramblas, the waterfront; otherwise taxis are plentiful and cheap. We stayed here for 5 nights, and opted for the breakfast-included rate, which was adequate for our needs and convenient. We also had lunch in their restaurant one day, the food was delicious. The rooftop pool was fun for a dip after a sweltering walk around Parc Guell. Barcelona is one of my favorite cities and the hotel made our stay even better!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our Hotel, and that you have enjoyed the city of Barcelona.
We are very lucky with our locationa that our guests can walk in a safe are everywhere.
We also are very glad to know that you find our service correct, we work hard with trainings to our team in order to improve the service.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon. It is a great location within walking distance of the airport airbus drop off point, La Ramblas, the Barcelona Cathedral, and the pier. The room was clean and the service was very good. It was a little noisy in the evening, as our room overlooked the outdoor dining area and what appeared to be an everyday living area. We did not eat in the restaurant, but chose to walk to a local market and had cheese, crackers, and wine. Overall, I would recommend a stay here if you will be in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Stay away from the center and move toward the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us to other guests.
we work hard in service in order to read your kind of comments.
Thank you and we hope to have the oportunity of welcoming you in your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in Dec 2012.
It is a very nice hotel, walking distance to many interesting places and next to metro stations.
The rooms are new and clean.
I can not comment about the food, because we did not eat at the hotel, but it seemed to have a good in-house menu.
The gym spot is small, but the hotel is not supposed to have a Reebok center anyway!
I would definitively stay there again, great value and great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is not located at a busy street, so it really does not matter that much the number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are happy to read that you had a great valued worth on your stay and that as you says is a great alternative for a top 5 star hotel.
We hope we can host you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I found this Hotel through Trip Advisor and it lived up to its great reputation. All the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room temperature was perfect. Fantastic location too. Great value for money. I really didnt want to leave.

Room Tip: My room was opposite the lift so I was a bit apprehensive regarding noise but I didnt hear a thing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinoco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to read that you have so enjoyed your stay that you did not want to leave! We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed, and we hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Hotel Catedral is a lovely hotel, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. The staff here
were very nice and helpful too. The hotel is in a great place very central for everything. It is
round the corner from some great bars and restaurants and near to all the sights. It is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
we would like to thank you fro your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you find our hotel Lovely and that you recomend it.
We look forward on welcoming you back in the near future.
best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 513 in Barcelona
1,338 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 513 in Barcelona
1,958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
1,174 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
2,092 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing