We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in the BEST location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #50 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I arrived early in the morning to find my fantastic room ready and waiting for me. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. I could not have asked for a better location - right at the Cathedral, yet quiet and safe. I was able to wander from my door around the best parts of Barcelona's old town. I will definitely be back and have already recommended the hotel to two lots of friends travelling to Barcelona next year. The perfect hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
We only can thank you for your recomandation and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here over a long weekend. The hotel is in an excellent location, 30 metres from the Gothic Cathedral, approx 5-10 minutes stroll from the Aerobus stop at Plaza Catalunya.
The room was really nice, modern and kept very clean. The toiletries were excellent and it also had a large selection in the mini bar. There was also a kettle and cups plus free tea, coffee and milk to brew a reviving cuppa.
All the staff we met were very nice which makes this a really good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for the time of writing in tripadvisor about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay, and that you have at least found the service expected.
We are lucky that we try to be a wonderful team in the hotel that helps to our guests to enjoy theyr stay.
We look forward on welcoming you on your next trip to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A modern hotel, near the Ramblas and all the shopping, but on a quiet street. Perfect service and nice rooms with wooden floor and very modern bathrooms. Nothing fancy, but the design is modern and appealing.

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the comments about our hotel.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the city of Barcelona, and we hope to welcome you back i n your next trip.
Best regards and best wishes for 2013.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Spent two days here on my way to Rome and found this delightful hotel. It's nice and clean and cozy. Stayed on the 5th floor.
The hotel employees were very efficient and helped whenever they could. Easy to get around. No complaints. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest
We would like to thank your comments that you have writte here in tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and Barcelona.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times when we make our semiannual trips to Barcelona. It is perfect in every way. The rooms are not small, very clean and comfortable. The front desk service, manager, and service in general go out of the way to be always helpful and polite. And it is so very well located, a few feet from the Catedral plaza with two fine tapas bars, and always some kind of activity. The metro station is easily within walking distance, past good shopping areas, as is the famous La Rambla. And our favorite store, Desigual, has its back entrance directly across from the hotel's front door. So what's not to like? Nothing...and everything to like. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wclegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you come often to our hotel and that you like it.
We hope that you have had the opportunity of doing our free walking tour that is held on wednesday nights and sunday mornings exclusevely for our guests.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next trip.
Best wishes for 2013.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. The location is just in front of the historical catedral, so it was very easy to walk from the aerobus stop at the Catalonya plaza. We could see the wall painting of Picasso from the window see of the our room.

The staffs are very friendly and kind. The room we stay was quite large. We are totally satisfied at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us.
We look foward of welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great position, close to cathedral. Good size modern room with a great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. English speaking TV channels . The free tour offered by hotel was a much appreciated extra. Well worth taking. Staff are helpful

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments.
We are very pleased to know that your stay was good, and that you have enjoyed our free tour.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,353 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#69 of 513 in Barcelona
2,004 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
4,554 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $99 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing