We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #31 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Spent two days here on my way to Rome and found this delightful hotel. It's nice and clean and cozy. Stayed on the 5th floor.
The hotel employees were very efficient and helped whenever they could. Easy to get around. No complaints. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank your comments that you have writte here in tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed the hotel and Barcelona.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    641
    72
    12
    10
See reviews for
321
921
42
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WEST NEW YORK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel many times when we make our semiannual trips to Barcelona. It is perfect in every way. The rooms are not small, very clean and comfortable. The front desk service, manager, and service in general go out of the way to be always helpful and polite. And it is so very well located, a few feet from the Catedral plaza with two fine tapas bars, and always some kind of activity. The metro station is easily within walking distance, past good shopping areas, as is the famous La Rambla. And our favorite store, Desigual, has its back entrance directly across from the hotel's front door. So what's not to like? Nothing...and everything to like. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wclegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you come often to our hotel and that you like it.
We hope that you have had the opportunity of doing our free walking tour that is held on wednesday nights and sunday mornings exclusevely for our guests.
We look forward on welcoming you again in your next trip.
Best wishes for 2013.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this hotel. The location is just in front of the historical catedral, so it was very easy to walk from the aerobus stop at the Catalonya plaza. We could see the wall painting of Picasso from the window see of the our room.

The staffs are very friendly and kind. The room we stay was quite large. We are totally satisfied at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
we would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments about our hotel.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you recommend us.
We look foward of welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great position, close to cathedral. Good size modern room with a great bathroom. Very comfortable bed. English speaking TV channels . The free tour offered by hotel was a much appreciated extra. Well worth taking. Staff are helpful

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time of writting your comments.
We are very pleased to know that your stay was good, and that you have enjoyed our free tour.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good hotel. Stylish and no nonsense comfy rooms. The pool on the roof is really nice, lovely spot. It's certainly not my favourite hotel - the decor is somehow just not right, bit boring and the rooms too soulless. BUT all in all this is an amazing spot to stay and see the city. You could not get better and so I would definitely choose it again.

Room Tip: Yes looking to the courtyard is quite but I don't think anywhere in the hotel is that noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you recommend us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.
Bet regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fla.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Most of our comments can be found in the section marked by "Tips on room". Just felt it was
easy to combine everything in one place. This hotel is a nice spot to stay; very convenient to
the old historical quarter, the huge cathedral, multiple transportation modes, and just a short walk to La Ramblas where you'll find everything. Hotel is a secure spot, and that is a plus. Check out more below.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels facing away from the Cathedral plaza are more quiet. Rooms are not overly la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are pleased to know that you find our hotel convenient, and that you have enjoyed your trip to Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here prior to our twelve day cruise. The staff was very helpful and friendly and all the service was
excellent. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and comfortable, wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night.
We would not only recccomed this hotel, but its location is great also. We were unable to use all the hotel has to offer as
it was just the one night. Again we cannot say enough about how helpful and pleasant the front desk staff was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dleamon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your trip and that you would recommend us.
we hope that in your next trip you can stay fo a longer stay and discover a little bit more about our city.
Best wishes for 2013.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#18 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#10 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#17 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#50 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#27 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing