We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #38 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here prior to our twelve day cruise. The staff was very helpful and friendly and all the service was
excellent. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and comfortable, wish we could have stayed longer than just the one night.
We would not only recccomed this hotel, but its location is great also. We were unable to use all the hotel has to offer as
it was just the one night. Again we cannot say enough about how helpful and pleasant the front desk staff was.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dleamon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your trip and that you would recommend us.
we hope that in your next trip you can stay fo a longer stay and discover a little bit more about our city.
Best wishes for 2013.
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    676
    75
    13
    10
See reviews for
340
975
43
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with either the location of this hotel or the courteous attention that the staff gave us, We needed to extend our stay due to the recent storm in NY and everyone helped us with our needs both within the hotel and our site seeing adventures. The front desk staff in particular was very helpful and very friendly. The location is central to the nicest parts of town as we saw it. We would certainly visit this hotel again if we were to return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
As we send you in our mail, we hope everything is ok with your relatives and your properties.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Nice big rooms, good location, nice breakfast and rooftop pool. Overall rating is lowered by less than great service. It's not bad, but not 4-star quality. Think moderately engaged "kids" in their lower 20's. Also, dishes on room service menu range from plain to plain disgusting, which is a bit of a mystery since breakfast and lunch restaurant is really nice. These little flaws make value for money only average.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockholm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are really surprised about the inconvenients of room service that you had, due that we have a nice quality presentation and quality.
i think you had fill in already our quality quiz, and we did not find what the problem was, we will try to improve in this service.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very central hotel right next to the Barcelona catedral- very convenient for sightseeing and the port. Excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms and the reception and restaurant staff are very nice and helpful. Our stay was only spoiled by an over eager maid who made a terrible racket on Sunday morning, waking up the entire floor at 9.30- to get us all up so she could make up the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We present our more sincere apologies for the inconveniet with the made waking you up on Sunday.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great location, very helpful staff, good sized bathroom. Room was super quiet (5th floor). However, no drawers to put clothes in.

Our one big problem was the safety in the shower. It's in a bathtub with a slippery surface, a half door that can open out and spill water onto the floor, and a shower head located in the middle of the tub (not the end). Don't know if all of the rooms are like this. If they are and you like to take a shower, then I can't really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N0sDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We not to try to make something in this type of room, due that not all of the bathrooms are the same.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for our wedding anniversary in May this year.
There was a bottle of Cava with chocolates waiting in our room on arrival.
Room was clean and tidy though we thought they could do with a little more storage for clothing.
The rooftop pool was great to chill out at the end of the evening.

What's good at this hotel,
Location
Pedro at front desk
Breakfast
Rooftop pool
Free walking tour
Chill out Terrace

What's not,

Wi-fi not great.

We enjoyed this hotel and location that much we have booked to return next year.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay, if you celebrate your anniversaries, please let us know in advance so we can do something special for you.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My son and daughter-in-law stay here several times a year so it came highly recommended. We were not disappointed. We arrived early after an over night trans-Atlantic flight and asked if we could have our room. The front desk clerk said the only rooms available at that time were on smoking floors. He offered to show us saying there would be no smoke smell and I reluctantly agreed to at least look. He was right...the room was immaculate without even the slightest trace of smoke in it or on the floor. Nap time then off to explore the Gothic Quarter. Truly an excellent location. There was a Food and Wine Festival at the Plaza between the hotel and the Cathedral. I had a little trouble initially with the Internet connection, but the front desk staff were very helpful. Love the modern bathroom bubble doors and the roof-top pool. Booking and communicating with Hotel Barcelona Catedral was a breeze!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward on welcoming you in your next stay.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#31 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#46 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 519 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#35 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#84 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing