We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, unassuming and would return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #46 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, unassuming and would return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was an excellent hotel choice for the location, friendliness and cleanliness of the room.

Nothing was a concern there...no niggles...staff were more than helpful especially with directions around the city.

The hotel was very easy to find. I wanted to go by taxi from the airport which we were quoted 40 euros for, but the airport bus/coach was on the same road..this cost 5 euros..my husband wanted this option lol.I agreed and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was and how perfect the stops/route was...if your using this get off in the square (the last stop), and cross the road and head for the Inglezi store, turn left here and keep walking in a straight line until you reach the Cathedral..its about a 5 minute pleasant walk....so easy, so i have to admit the husband was right...

Barcelona is such a beautiful City, so if your heading here, you have already made a great choice...we had a fabulous time.

Weather was in the late 20's and very pleasant. Parc Guel was my favourite place...its much bigger than you can imagine, and there were a couple of brilliant entertainers there which made it memorable.
Did a boat tour from the harbour which was also very nice. And even though it seemed a little pricey, the City bus tour was well worth the money..Underground is 2 euros per trip and also easy to use.

Would definately go here again....cant praise the hotel or Barcelona enough.

Well done Catedral...well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for you comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice experience and stay in our hotel, and in our wonderfull city.
We look forward, to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    698
    78
    13
    13
See reviews for
351
1,018
43
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lucerne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

a 5-10 minute walk from Placa Catalunya, ideal with the airport bus. A bit confusing to find- landed in Hotel Catalunya Cathedrale first. Nice and spacious rooms, clean and newer in deco style. For the price there were not enough towels for the 3 of us, and the safe door was broken and not fixed after being reported. The front desk staff was helpful. Ammenities in the washroom were not filled after the first night, which was also for the price less than acceptable. (we could sneak some from the cleaning lady in the hall though.) The room was nice and quiet, not as mentioned in previous ratings. We didn't have breakfast (€18.00!) there, many nice cafes and restaurants within walking distance. Were given free ice when asked from the bar.
Good to reccomend to fellow travellers - a bit in the "higher" price range but worth the bit more for location and quietness of the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
We would like to present you our more sincere apologie, for the incovenience with you door, and we would like to explain you that when a guests needs a more towels or amenities, we bring it more as if they need it.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a beautiful part of Barcelona. Right in the heart of the old town, the surrounding streets are full of character. Whilst the hotel is new and modern, it sits discreetly amongst the older buildings. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean, with tea making facilities and an excellent bathroom.

We skipped breakfast at the hotel and ate delicious cheap food at Bilbao which is a 30 second walk from the hotel. Bun Bo, the Vietnamese restaurant across the road is also excellent for dinner and you'll find great tapas restaurants throughout the surrounding area.

Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. If you stay, make sure you take the free tours offered by the hotel on a Wednesday and Sunday. Juan the guide is extremely interesting and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny1Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a very nice experience in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed our free walking tour.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff was top notch. They were friendly and knowlegable.
The full breakfast on the patio was wonderful every morning....lots of fresh fruit available. Small but lovely rooftop pool. The hotel offered tours of the old city. We had a major leak from the bathroom upstairs and were quickly moved and upgraded to a suite. Would have given 5 stars but suite was on a smoking floor. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Specify smoking or non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adaurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to welcome you again.
Please feel free to contact us for your next stay!!
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a simply delightful hotel, perfectly situation in the heart of Barcelona but in a quiet side street off the Cathedral square. The interior is modern and sleek, the staff extremely helpful and the whole place squeaky clean. Wifi was complementary but temperamental. The open-air pool on the roof offered the perfect antidote to the heat and bustle of the city below. All in all, an excellent four-star hotel suitable for city breaks.

Room Tip: The floors are divided by smoking and non-smoking, so better specify your preference when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments,
we are very pleased to know that you had a very nice stay.
We really look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a four day stay at this hotel and was really pleased. Fab location right next to the cathedral but quiet at night. Five minute walk from the aerobus stop so easy to get to from airport, 2 mins from sightseeing bus stop, 10 mins from sea and 5 mins from las rambles , we couldn't of got any better. Room clean and comfortable and staff superb. Pool was ok if you get time. Starbucks in the square downstairs if you fancy a good latte. We will absolutely stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: Room 401 was fab, the first we were offered was on the first floor and a bit dark but they moved us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwls12086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know, that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Superb hotel. Every member of staff was extremely welcoming, helpful, friendly and informative. The rooms were better than expected (almost 5 star) clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast, which was included, again was better than expected being hot and plentiful. Ideally situated not far from the Cathedral, Ramblers and Plaza de Espana, the open-top sight seeing bus is also nearby as are plenty of restaurants . We have stayed in Barcelona before but not enjoyed as much as this pre-cruise two night stay. We would most certainly return to this hotel and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our Hotel and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We hope you had a great Cruise.
We will be very pleased to welcome you back in your next trip to Barcelona.

looking forward on welcoming you again, we remain.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#65 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#78 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing