We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with such lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #50 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights before going on a cruise and really loved the place. The bed was large and comfortable. Bathroom was the largest I have seen. Everything was really clean. The location was great as there was plenty of things to see and do in the area. Also loads of restaurants nearby.
The staff at this hotel deserve special mention as they were without doubt the most helpful and friendly I have encountered and I would definitely recommend the place and stay there again if I go to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan12341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you had a very nice stay in our hotel, and that you had enjoyed the city of Barcelona.
we very much appreciate the comments about the team that we work hard in order to give to our guests the service that they deserve, and we are very glad to know that we did it with your stay.
we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,043)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barcelona Catedral
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

They designed this hotel strictly with design in mind and no mind to functionality. For the money you pay you can do better elsewhere at this location. I wouldnt go back thats for sure.

Pros:
exceptional daytime front desk, concierge and bartender service
location right in front of gothic district
bathroom
Gym
Pool (if you have time to use it, i was there 6 nights only had once chance so if this is your reason like it was mine to choose this, rethink it)

Cons:
bed hard as wood caused insomnia for me lost sleep one night

no black out curtains (light also contributed to insomnia in addition to bed made of wood.

had to wear earplugs as well as sanitation crew came through to clean

no drawers anywhere not even in desk so i had to have all my stuff laying out not very neat idont like livings with things strewn everywhere

no top sheet on bed... just bottom sheet and duvet in cover ???

poor ventilation... window opens up maybe 3" - 6" at top only

we stepped out for 10 minutes and came back and housekeeping finished cleaning the room... crumbs on floor and doubts about if the sheets were changed in such a limited time... called to complain and they rectified situation

5 euros everytime you call room service even just for coffee.. i didnt read the fine print on the room literature but this should be mentioned upon ordering

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We would like to explain you that beds are completly new from this year, and there's a black out curtain behind the curtain, we very much regrett if you did not see it.
we do not have drawers because of the desing of the hotel in order to help the guest not to forgott anything in the hotel.
We are very pleased to inform you that our duvet is changed dayli with a cover sheet, and the room mades spend 30 minutes to clean every room, but when the guests comes in the room they have the direction to leave the room and come back later, maybe this was the reason why she left in the middle of her work in youi room.
We note your suggestions and we very much appreciate them that will surely help us to improve.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

First the bad -the wifi is terrible, albeit free. The computers in the lobby are old and tired. Everything else about this place is really good great room, a/c, pool, location. The front desk staff are helpful, speak english quite well and are very enthusiastic. The bartender, rocks.

We'll be back...we'll stay there

Room Tip: WE were 214 right outside the elevator in front of the architectural school with motor scooter parki...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
we look forward on welcoming you back again.
best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. The location is great and the staff are very helpful. The room we had on the second floor was spacious and on the whole well-appointed.
I had a couple of quibbles. The safe was almost impossible to use,it took around five minutes each time we used it to get it to lock, and similar to unlock. There was only one mirror in the suite, and that was in the bathroom, so putting on your makeup after showering was tricky as the mirror had steamed up. The mirror was also not full length.
The bath had a nasty rusty ding in the side, which I wouldn't expect when paying €166 for a four star hotel.
The gym was so small it was almost unusable, with only 3 items of cardio equipment and some free weights.
Breakfast was a whopping €18.50 per person so I can't comment on its quality as we ate elsewhere.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay and will visit Barcelona again, but are unlikely to stay here when we do so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenatthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
we really apreciate them.
we very much regrett to read that you have enjoyed the city and the hotel but you find it poor for valueo for money.
We have a regular rate for 4 star hotels in Barcelona, and we give extra values to our hotel vs the other hotels in Barcelona.
We would like to welcome you back in your next stay in Barcelona and this way we could try to made your stay better than this one and try to make to change your experience and made you feel that you had a good stay related to de value for money.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

fantastic location but so much stuff did not work - the hair dryer,wifi, the AC was poor and it was HOT. But it was clean and the staff were friendly. pool was nice also. It was quiet. There was little atmosphere though and personally I don't like "boutiquey" hotels. They always seem a bit style over substance - ie beautifully placed fake books - what's that all about. They need to fix the ac and wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We really apreciate your comments and we will look after the unusual things that were not working in your room.
we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and be able to make you find what your expectations were.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in the Barcelona Catedral on a Saturday and Sunday eve arriving on the 1st September. Its a lovely hotel in a great location - I had requested an upper room at the front of the hotel based on comments from other reviewers and was given a free upgrade to a Superior room to accomodate my wishes - a lovely touch. The hotel is very clean and modern in its design (think posh IKEA!), tastefully decorated, and my room and bathroom were very spacious. The service was excellent - the staff in reception were attentive, helpful and friendly throughout. Location wise its in an ideal spot - close to the Ramblas but not so busy and noisy that you cant sleep at night if you're at the front of the hotel. We didn't go for the optional breakfast (very pricey at €20 per person) but the restaurant looked decent.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel at the price (we paid around £135 per night). Only watch out is the roof-top pool - it was absolutely freezing!

Room Tip: Our room was great - 319 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the square. Its a teeny bit noisy at night bu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
best regards

Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel couldn't have been better placed...right in the Gothic Quarter...a short walk to the Ramblas...and walking distance to the beach...the best of both worlds...it was clean and spacious...and had a rooftop pool which was lovely after a day of sightseeing..staff were friendly and helpful...as we only had tapas one night in the hotel we never really sampled the meals in the restaurant...we ate out most nights as there were so many restaurants and cafes close by...really enjoyed our stay here....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dearbhla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We really look forward on welcoming you again, and thank you for your reccomandation.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,352 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
2,003 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#71 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,552 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $134 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing