We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Ranked #44 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
LEEK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice enough but poor value for money”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. The location is great and the staff are very helpful. The room we had on the second floor was spacious and on the whole well-appointed.
I had a couple of quibbles. The safe was almost impossible to use,it took around five minutes each time we used it to get it to lock, and similar to unlock. There was only one mirror in the suite, and that was in the bathroom, so putting on your makeup after showering was tricky as the mirror had steamed up. The mirror was also not full length.
The bath had a nasty rusty ding in the side, which I wouldn't expect when paying €166 for a four star hotel.
The gym was so small it was almost unusable, with only 3 items of cardio equipment and some free weights.
Breakfast was a whopping €18.50 per person so I can't comment on its quality as we ate elsewhere.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay and will visit Barcelona again, but are unlikely to stay here when we do so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenatthefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
we really apreciate them.
we very much regrett to read that you have enjoyed the city and the hotel but you find it poor for valueo for money.
We have a regular rate for 4 star hotels in Barcelona, and we give extra values to our hotel vs the other hotels in Barcelona.
We would like to welcome you back in your next stay in Barcelona and this way we could try to made your stay better than this one and try to make to change your experience and made you feel that you had a good stay related to de value for money.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    727
    82
    13
    14
See reviews for
370
1,086
50
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

fantastic location but so much stuff did not work - the hair dryer,wifi, the AC was poor and it was HOT. But it was clean and the staff were friendly. pool was nice also. It was quiet. There was little atmosphere though and personally I don't like "boutiquey" hotels. They always seem a bit style over substance - ie beautifully placed fake books - what's that all about. They need to fix the ac and wifi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We really apreciate your comments and we will look after the unusual things that were not working in your room.
we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and be able to make you find what your expectations were.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed in the Barcelona Catedral on a Saturday and Sunday eve arriving on the 1st September. Its a lovely hotel in a great location - I had requested an upper room at the front of the hotel based on comments from other reviewers and was given a free upgrade to a Superior room to accomodate my wishes - a lovely touch. The hotel is very clean and modern in its design (think posh IKEA!), tastefully decorated, and my room and bathroom were very spacious. The service was excellent - the staff in reception were attentive, helpful and friendly throughout. Location wise its in an ideal spot - close to the Ramblas but not so busy and noisy that you cant sleep at night if you're at the front of the hotel. We didn't go for the optional breakfast (very pricey at €20 per person) but the restaurant looked decent.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel at the price (we paid around £135 per night). Only watch out is the roof-top pool - it was absolutely freezing!

Room Tip: Our room was great - 319 on the 3rd floor, overlooking the square. Its a teeny bit noisy at night bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay.
we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
best regards

Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel couldn't have been better placed...right in the Gothic Quarter...a short walk to the Ramblas...and walking distance to the beach...the best of both worlds...it was clean and spacious...and had a rooftop pool which was lovely after a day of sightseeing..staff were friendly and helpful...as we only had tapas one night in the hotel we never really sampled the meals in the restaurant...we ate out most nights as there were so many restaurants and cafes close by...really enjoyed our stay here....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dearbhla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We really look forward on welcoming you again, and thank you for your reccomandation.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 4 night short break in early September. The hotel is in a great location in a street opposite the Cathederal in the Barri Gothic. Our room was surprisingly very quiet at night despite the location which was busy with lots of local bars and restaurants. Without exception the staff at the hotel were very friendly. The reception staff helped us put with some restaurant recommendations which we tried out and were were very good. Our room was on the 5th floor, which is also where the pool is located. It was very modern but comfortable with a well stocked mini bar and very clean. The maids visited every day and kept the room really clean and tidy. Our booking included breakfast which really was excellent. It is clever how the hotel have created an outside space as an extension to their restaurant where guests can have breakfast or a drink. At breakfast there was a selection of breads and pastries on each table and guests could help themselves to cereals, fruits, yoghurts and cakes. The waiters took orders for hot food and again there was a really good selection plus tea, fruit juice, coffee and even cava. You really wouldn't need anything very much to eat for the rest of the day if you filled up at breakfast. The pool is on the roof and is, as you would expect, quite small but lovely to come back after a day sightseeing to cool down and sunbathe for a while. We did the complementary guided walk on Wednesday evening which was really good, the guide was friendly and informative and pointed out lots of quirky things that you wouldn't notice on your own or from the guide books, well worth going along. We ate out of the hotel each evening. Friendly guy on reception recommended Neyras just off Lietana for Tapas which was really good. We also tried Senyor Parallada on Argenteria at his recommendation, this wasn't somewhere we would have just happened on off the street but is worth looking up if you are in the area. We also ate out in some of the many squares in the old town food probably not as good but worth going for the ambiance! We also tried the Vietnamese place right by the hotel (turn right out of reception it is straight ahead of you) had a nice stir fry here for late lunch one day. Before we came lots of people warned me about pickpockets etc, we've been to Barcelona before and never had any problems but this did worry me. I must say I felt quite safe throughout, I think as in any city you need to be a little careful, but generally I was impressed with how well the city is looked after. We found it clean, lots of people working hard to keep it that way and a reassuring but unobtrusive police presence in the evenings on the streets. We kept away from the Ramblas and the only bad meal we had was in the main square Plaza Real which seems a bit of a tourist trap compared to earlier visits. So we would definitely recommend this hotel and will return the next time that we visit Barcelona.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor and was very quiet no noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your comments.
we are very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, and that you have enjoyed Barcelona.
We look forward to welcome you back again to our hotel.
best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is situated on a quiet street and yet fabulously well located... right in the beautiful gothic quarter, five minute walk from the Ramblas, five minute from the tour buses, just around the corner from the majestic Barcelona cathedral. The rooms are large and super clean, the bathoom huge with high-end bath products. The personnel at the reception are multi-lingual
and always pleasant and last but not least, their full FREE breakfast in a beautiful setting (indoor or outdoor terrasse) is the best I had in the countries I visited in Europe. I stayed there three years ago, I stayed again this time and would definitely choose Barcelona cathedral for my next stay.

Room Tip: They have twin-bed, double and king-size rooms. I liked mine situated over the terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay again in our hotel.
We would like to thank you for your comments, and we hope you had the opportunity to do our free walking tour for our guests.
we look forward on welcoming you again soon.
Thank you !!
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Nice little boutique hotel in a truly great location. This hotel won't wow you but nor will it disappoint. Service is adequate, so is the breakfast. Rooms are cozy and comfortable. The rooftop pool is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarcelonaHoteles, Manager at Hotel Barcelona Catedral, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you find our hotel Cozy.
We try to give to our guests a good and very personal service.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again in our hotel in your future visit to Barcelona.
Best regards
Alex Vilallonga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#36 of 512 in Barcelona
1,327 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
1,932 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,160 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#34 of 512 in Barcelona
2,072 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona Catedral

Property: Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Address: Capellans, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barcelona Catedral 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valued as excellent for 95% of its clients, the Barcelona Catedral Hotel, 4* Boutique, has an unbeatable location in the Gothic, next to Plaza Catalunya and Las Ramblas. The Barcelona Catedral Hotel is exclusive, modern and comfortable. It has swimming-pool, gym, terrace-chill out, parking, restaurant with outdoors terrace and smoking area, free Internet on business centre, free wifi, meeting rooms. Its restaurant 4 Capellans, offers Mediterranean cuisine, a la carte, lunch menu, banqueting, coktails, catering. An spectacular outdoor terrace is the perfect place for events and celebrations. SPECIAL MENUS FOR COELIACS AND OTHER DIETARY NEEDS. Cultural activities: Every Wednesday night and Sunday morning, the hotel proposes complimentary walks through the Gothic quarter, Legends and Secrets. Gastronomic activities: Cooking lessons, Cooking Team Building for companies and wine tasting. Wifi INCLUDED for ALL Hotel guests Barcelona Catedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Barcelona Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Catedral Hotel
Catedral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Catedral Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing