We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to be in the middle of Barcelone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #384 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Colomiers, France
1 review
“great place to be in the middle of Barcelone”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed 4 days and every thing was perfect. It's close to a metro station in the middle of the city. The shopping streats are in walking distance and every thing you need is close bye. The personnels are very kind.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Yoland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    72
    19
    27
See reviews for
41
109
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel and though it is lovely my main issue is with the staff. A lot of the staff seen to be constantly unhappy and seem unapproachable.
At time of reservation I mentioned it was my anniversary and it was special occasion but this has not been acknowledged.
Everyone needs to smile a bit more!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reanna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

For the price you pay you get a friendly and helpful reception, a clean bed and bathroom, WiFi, and you're close to the Rambla. Not a lot of space for a drug-fuel after-party.

I arrived early with my girlfriend before check-in and was greeted by the staff. They let us know when we could check-in and offered to hold our luggage. We left our luggage to walk the Rambla after the staff gave us a map and helpful tips. We came back to a quick check-in process with our bags already in our rooms.

Overall if you are looking for a clean and simple hotel with all the basics, friendly staff, great location, and a low price, I highly recommend.

Room Tip: May need to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manytrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Excellent classy hotel situated in ideal location . Staff friendly and very helpfull , breakfast good and underground service just outside hotel , ideal for getting around this vast city . Open top bus tours also great way to see the city and good value with discounts available from the hotel . La Rambla restaurants and bars can be extortionate but on the whole Barca wonderfull exciting city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This so called hotel doesn't look like an hotel located above a bank it seems to be an old office converted in an hotel which make him difficult to find.
The rooms are pretty tiny, even difficult for two person to stand in the room in the same time and as we were in the small close to the reception directly on the street, it appears to be noisy.
For your information, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi.
The only good thing with the hotel is the actual location: Passeig de Gracia, 2 minutes from Casa Mila.

I will probably pay a bit more the next time I will go to Barcelona to avoid any surprise of being in such a gloomy place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaydee30061974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is exactly what I expected for the money. Ok it was lacking in personality and also a decent mirror in the bedroom. It's on a noisy street but the double glazing works and so does the air conditioning. The staff were absolutely amazing could not have been more helpful and the rooms were clean. It was inexpensive for a city break. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food. Would go back it's close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Otherwise it's very basic, a bit like living in the middle of an office block and all a bit tired and gloomy, with a very odd reception process. Not terribly comfortable and not highly recommended, unless you have very little money to spend and low expectations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#385 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#398 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#441 of 513 in Barcelona
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#474 of 513 in Barcelona
253 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#245 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Bonanova Park
#374 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Property: Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Hotel Universal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing