We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona City Hotel Universal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #379 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    94
    69
    19
    26
See reviews for
41
106
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Just a few metres away from the metro Paseig de Gracia and Gaudi's Casa Battlo', this hotel is very conveniently located. The room was clean and comfortable, although a bit small, but for a short stay, it is quite enough. Our neighbours had a baby, who was normally crying at 8.00 in the morning. The rooms are not well isolated against the noise, so if you are unlucky you might not be able to sleep as much as you would like. Anyway, we took it positively... waking up early means more time to explore this fabulous city!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francy_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi!

Thanks a lot sharing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel with other users! It is very useful in order to help people to create realistic expectations about an accommodation they are thinking to book.

Match with a baby in the next room is not always easy. We can assure you from our experience… We are sorry if the noise disturbed you. Next time, please don't doubt to ask for a change of room in the reception. Our staff is always ready to try to improve your experience in our hotel and our city.

For another hand, you are right! Get up at 8 AM is a great idea to use the full journey day visiting Barcelona!

Thanks appreciating our superb location and is completely true rooms are not big, as we try to give the best value for money just 20 meters away of Passeig de Gracia, the street with the highest rent prices in the city. I see you appreciated also this value for money, thanks again!

We hope to receive you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights April 16 - 18th 2012. The hotel makes a good first impression with a nicely decorated, clean and contemporary lobby. The person that checked us in was helpful and spoke very good English - he was able to tell me about a vegan restaurant within walking distance (vegan is not that popular in Barcelona) so this was very helpful and I really liked the place. Our room was very clean and modern, bathroom was spotless and both rooms were a nice size. Room had a nice TV if you care when on vacation - there were 3 or 4 channels in English.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and it was quite noisy because the hotels on a busy street so a lot of street noise and sirens etc. I should have asked if we could move to a room on the other side to see how much of a difference that made but didn't. The bed was a bit hard and either had a cover on it or was made of some sort of foam that made it noisy - whenever you turned over in bed it made a crunching sort of noise that woke me up quite a bit.
We booked with breakfast included and it was very good with lots of variety and they were good about refilling dishes even if you went down to breakfast on the later end. My only complaint was that they said soy milk was available if requested but every morning they said they didn't have any which was disappointing.
The location is great for the metro and is only 10 min walk to Las Ramblas, very convenient location. We arrived a couple of hours early and our room wasn't available but we were able to leave our bags with the concierge and they have a safe as well so it worked out very well. Getting to the hotel from the airport was pretty straight forward by train and the metro and a lot cheaper than getting a taxi. Pick pockets and theft is a big problem in Barcelona which I didn't realize before our trip - the hotel has info posted on this and tips to safe guard and we didn't have any problems. It's a very interesting and lovely city - great place to visit.
I did quite a bit of research on line before booking, reading reviews and looking at prices and I thought this hotel was a good middle of the road choice and after our stay was happy with how it turned out, good solid choice.

Room Tip: Would try a room at the back of the hotel - should be quieter off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugarnepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear customer,

First of all, thanks a lot for sharing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) with other users. Every travel is a new experience and it is good people can read real opinions before book their accommodation.

We are glad you enjoy our hotel and your travel to Barcelona and we wish welcome you back again in some of our lodgings in the city.

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel is budget end of the market, but it is ok, good location, nice helpful staff.Walls a bit thin, but we did have loud neighbours.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsetpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks sharing your experience in our hotel with other users. It is very important for us know the opinions of our guests and they help other users choosing an accommodation.

Although our location is superb and accommodations in the city center are usually more expensive, we always try to offer the best value for money. In fact, this is one of the factors most valued by our guests.

Thanks appreciating it, as well as our kind attention.

We wish welcome you back again in some of our lodgings in the city.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed from 19- 23 january. It is an cosy hotel and it felt like home. The staff was really friendly and give us a lot of information and a nice chat. We always felt safe and there was an familiar atmosphere. When you go outside you always had to leave your key at the reception desk, so that they could check who is run in to the hotel. The room was good and it was very clean and with new funiture (such as tv). At the hall there was an computer where you can go on the internet for free and in all peace. From the airport its easy to reach because the train station is in front the hotel. I will recommend this hotel to anyone! Enjoy your stay! Greats the dutch girls!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi,

Thanks a lot sharing your experience in Barcelona City Hotel in this website. It is very important for us that future travellers can read real opinions written by customers in order to take a decision choosing their accommodation.

We can only give you thanks for all the positive things you comment about our hotel. Thanks a lot appreciating the safety, the familiar atmosphere and -above all- the kind attention of our staff.

We wish welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Well, I was expecting a little better considering it is listed as a four star hotel. Realistically, this is a 3 star hotel in a somewhat questionable area.

Pros - The value is decent. I only paid 120 dollars a night and that's a fair price. The staff is helpful. I requested their assistance on a few things and they did the best that they could. The rooms are not bad. I wasn't "wowed" by any means, but not upset about the size of the room or amenities. I will say that my room was facing the road and it is loud at all hours of the night.

Cons - This isn't the best part of Barcelona. Yes, it is located near many things.....but you are going to pass the pimps, hookers, drug dealers and really strange people that seem awkwardly standing around for no reason to get to your destination. Pedantic as it may be, the smoke detectors have two flashing lights which is quite annoying. As you are trying to adjust to the time zone change, these flashing lights make it really difficult to fall asleep. It's not major if you sleep on your stomach.

Conclusion - If you book the hotel knowing that this is really a three star hotel in a not so glamorous part of town, then you won't be really let down when you get here. Knowing what I know now, I would book the hotel in a slightly better location with direct access to the La Rambla shopping area. It seems like we were constantly on that street for food and to get to all of the Gaudi stuff, as well as the Picasso museum.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdmike312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Basic accommodation. Not the cleanest. You would be better off staying in a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly, thanks sharing your opinion with other users in this website.

As you give very few information is difficult to know the real reasons of your discontent with our hotel.

We understand that you defin us as a “basic accommodation”, as we are a basic, a budget hotel.

We cannot understand that you qualify it as “not the cleanest”. It is precisely the cleanliness one of the factors most valued by our guests, as well as the location of our hotel and the kind attention of our staff.

We hope that at least you enjoyed your visit to the city. Don't doubt to send me an e-mail to explain what things you really didn't like of our accommodation, as it is very useful to try to do it a bit better next time.

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#385 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#473 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Bonanova
#350 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#362 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#231 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#393 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Property: Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Hotel Universal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing