We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great.....but not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #401 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Well, I was expecting a little better considering it is listed as a four star hotel. Realistically, this is a 3 star hotel in a somewhat questionable area.

Pros - The value is decent. I only paid 120 dollars a night and that's a fair price. The staff is helpful. I requested their assistance on a few things and they did the best that they could. The rooms are not bad. I wasn't "wowed" by any means, but not upset about the size of the room or amenities. I will say that my room was facing the road and it is loud at all hours of the night.

Cons - This isn't the best part of Barcelona. Yes, it is located near many things.....but you are going to pass the pimps, hookers, drug dealers and really strange people that seem awkwardly standing around for no reason to get to your destination. Pedantic as it may be, the smoke detectors have two flashing lights which is quite annoying. As you are trying to adjust to the time zone change, these flashing lights make it really difficult to fall asleep. It's not major if you sleep on your stomach.

Conclusion - If you book the hotel knowing that this is really a three star hotel in a not so glamorous part of town, then you won't be really let down when you get here. Knowing what I know now, I would book the hotel in a slightly better location with direct access to the La Rambla shopping area. It seems like we were constantly on that street for food and to get to all of the Gaudi stuff, as well as the Picasso museum.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdmike312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

Basic accommodation. Not the cleanest. You would be better off staying in a hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Firstly, thanks sharing your opinion with other users in this website.

As you give very few information is difficult to know the real reasons of your discontent with our hotel.

We understand that you defin us as a “basic accommodation”, as we are a basic, a budget hotel.

We cannot understand that you qualify it as “not the cleanest”. It is precisely the cleanliness one of the factors most valued by our guests, as well as the location of our hotel and the kind attention of our staff.

We hope that at least you enjoyed your visit to the city. Don't doubt to send me an e-mail to explain what things you really didn't like of our accommodation, as it is very useful to try to do it a bit better next time.

Kind regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is clean, quiet and very secure. The employees are extremely helpful and very professional. The room was larger than we expected and classy in appearance. The only thing I would suggest is that they provide 220-volt to110-volt adapters for the North Americans that arrive not knowing that Europe runs on 220 volts. We could not charge our camera, I-pod and computer batteries while we were there.
The pool is small but clean and there is enough area to catch some rays on the roof by the pool.
The hotel restaurant is expensive but there are so many options to eat at a reasonable price around the hotel it’s not a problem. You should be aware that the prices posted at the restaurants around the hotel are for inside dining; patio dining is 10% more.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We booked through
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stivonovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much writing this opinion and sharing it with other users.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We wish to welcome you back soon again in some of our accommodations in the city!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel is one level above a hostel. We pcked it because it's cheap and within easy walking distance of downtown Barcelona. Rooms are small and shabby but very clean, with an upgraded 4-piece bathroom ensuite. The entrance is on the second floor and accessed by a buzzer at street level. The street is somewhat noisy but we quickly got used to it. Nice, friendly staff, and very private.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditzy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hi!

First of all, we want to thank you for writing this review. It is important for us to know what we are doing right and what things we can improve.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in one of the busiest roads of Barcelona and for this reason sometimes it is so noisy if you are not used to live in the busiest part of a city. Hopefully, all rooms enjoy new and sound proofed windows, so I see you quickly get used to the noise and it was not a problem for your rest.

We are a simple, budget hotel of one star, so it's completely true we are one level above a hostel.

Thanks appreciating our location and value for money.

It's true rooms were a bit shabby and small. We have repainted them, so they look a but better now. They are small as we try to offer good prices in an unbeatable location in the city (20 meters away from its most expensive street).

We wish to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The hotel was great, very clean and helpful staff. Excellent location to Las Ramblas, marina/pier. Good restaurants nearby, banking, grocery store. Nice dining room and breakfast selection and hard working staff for quick turnover of diners.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmciintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hi!

Thanks a lot sharing your experience in this website. It is very useful for other travelers to read opinions of our guests to take an idea about our accommodation..

We are glad you enjoy your stay in our hotel and your trip to Barcelona and we wish welcome you back soon in some of our lodgings in Barcelona!

See you,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel perfectly located - very close to La Rambla, many good restaurants, Gaudi's and more!

The rooms were very clean, though small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The building had good security - there was an exterior door and guests entered into the hotel rooms via the hotel office.

The one warning is that the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything through the walls. I recommend ear-plugs!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hi!

Firstly, thank you investing some of your time writing this review. All experiences are useful for other people to get an idea of our accommodation and for us to know what we are doing well and what we need to improve.

Thanks also appreciating our location (it's perfect, that's true!), as well as our cleanliness and staff's attention.

About the size of the rooms, the hotel is located in the city center, twenty meters away from one of Gaudi's masterpieces and the most expensive street of the city, Passeig de Gracia: rooms have the minimum square meters required by law, but are not larger to offer the best value for money, a cheap and basic accommodation.

It's true wall may be a bit thin, but next time if you find your neighbors are too noisy, tell it to the reception, as you shouldn't hear too much noise from the room next to yours.

We wish to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Excellent location for walking around the city. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. The walls are very thin, so bring ear plugs.

The entrance to the hostel is on the second floor of the building. It took us 10 minutes or so to find it when we arrived at night.

The restaurant right below the hostel was fantastic! Also, visit Cacao Sampaka for amazing hot chocolate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlimaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with other users. We know it takes a little time, but it is very useful for us and other travellers.

We always try to explain to our customers how to arrive to Barcelona City Hotel. We are sorry if it seem a bit confusing. Since your staying , we have put a bigger sign in the door, so now it seems it is easier.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center, in a noisy area of the city. Our soundproofed windows allow a good rest for our guests, but we know sometimes some people can be noisy in the night. In this cases, please don't hesitate to contact our staff in order to avoid this situations.

Thanks appreciating the tips we probably gave you in the reception (places to visit, restaurants…).

We hope to see you again in any of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#164 of 518 in Barcelona
673 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#413 of 518 in Barcelona
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#424 of 518 in Barcelona
402 reviews
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#216 of 518 in Barcelona
434 reviews
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#302 of 518 in Barcelona
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $52 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Hotel Universal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing