We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location- Made the Trip!”
Review of Hostal Campi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Campi
Ranked #425 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Campi is in an excellent location. Right off Las Ramblas and very close to Catalunya Square. Walking distance to so many charming parts of Barcelona. The room was large with a balcony, and very comfortable. Is a little noisy at night, but that's to be expected on a main street. I didn't lose any sleep. And, unlike some other hostels I've stayed in Barcelona, you couldn't hear your neighbors in the hostel coming or going. Overall, it was comfortable, clean and has good wifi. I would recommend the ensuite rooms as I wasn't crazy about the bathroom. The toilet didn't seem to flush well, but when I told someone at the desk about this, they took care of it. However, there was hot water! They also held my bags for a few hours after checkout. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMurphy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in July 2013. We booked the private room with bathroom. Hostal Campi was a great location extremely friendly staff who helped us in mostly English with sightseeing, metros, taxis, keeping our bags on our last day for a few hours and they also let us come back and use the shower after we checked out. No AC and it was extremely hot in Barcelona while we were here but not a huge deal. It was bout 25 euro taxi from the airport so a bit expensive but I found that there were cheaper ways to get there so I would highly recommend doing research. The metro was great and very easy to figure out once we were there.
Very basic rooms but great budget prices and it is safe with the best location possible. Right on north end of Ramblas two blocks from Metro and One block from gothic quarter. We walked so much and saw so much because of our great location at Hostal Campi.
Overall no complaints - basic but great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hostal starts on the second floor and our room was 2 more floors up. There is no elevator so know that you have a lot of stairs to deal with - along with your luggage. Staff was fine. Someone was at desk 24 hours. There is a computer for guests use which was great but there is a small fee to use it. And Wi-Fi often goes out.
If you need to make a call from the hotel you may not be able to if there is any fee associated with it. I had to find a public phone store several blocks away.
The room was very clean as were the bathrooms and showers down the hall. I sleep with earplugs but even so am I light sleeper. I had no problems here with noise. While I thought the price was a bit high for what you got I guess some people want to be that close to Las Ramblas. I would have preferred not to be. In general, I found Barcelona to be a bit more expensive than Madrid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I booked this hostal pretty last minute after reading reviews on here. The location is PERFECT if you want to see the best of Barcelona, turn right out of the door for the gothic quarter and Cathedral and left for La Rambla.
The room was bog standard but what you would expect for the price you pay. It was clean and the staff were friendly. Also as for the shared bathroom, we stayed here 4 nights and I didn't have a problem with a bathroom/toilet free. Plus they were good showers! Highly recommend this if your on a low budget trip!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yazzy1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just off La Rambla near Catalunya Square - next to the Metro. Perfect location to see the main sights of Barcelona. The rooms are adequate and the bathroom just across the passage - I never saw another person so it was like having our own bathroom really. For the price being that Barcelona is expensive, I thought this hostal was fine - we stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bruceann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed her e for 3 nights for a weekend event in barcelona. Booked by some friends. Location off La Rambla is perfect for getting to and from the airport and also most sights.
We stayed in a 3 bed room with 3 single beds. There was a sink in the room but that was pretty much it. Decor is from the 80s and doesnt look like much has changed from the 80s either.
Communal bathroom and shower rooms- just like student days!!!
There is a locked front door manned 24 hours. There are lots of stairs and I didn't see any lifts.
It was relatively clean.
If you are after a very cheap hostel on a budget, this will tick the box but if you are looking for anything else, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have ensuite, so ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Really cheap. Big Room and perfect location. There is no breakfast is in the hotel, but that isn't a problem. At the other side of the street is a big market (mercat de la boqueria) and a supermarket as well. I was lucky I had a room on the first floor, but beware that there are a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liselotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hostal Sans
#363 of 516 in Barcelona
432 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#118 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#68 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,894 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Campi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Campi

Address: Carrer de Canuda, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #425 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hostal Campi Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Campi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing