We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostal, not amazing”
Review of Hostal Campi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Campi
Ranked #416 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I would give this 3.5 stars if I could. It's really a good option, but nothing fantastic. The staff is friendly and the rooms and shared bathrooms are kept clean. We paid 50 euro (does not include breakfast), which is a good deal for a private room so close to Las Ramblas. However, the walls are paper thin (we could hear everything our neighbors were saying), there's no wifi in the room (although you can get it downstairs in the lobby), and there's no safes to lock up your valuables. So while I think it's a good deal, I wouldn't say it's outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - so that you don't get one that faces the street.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sariberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Campi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 143 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hostal Campi is a basic Hostal, offering a great location, safe area, friendly very clean accomodation near city centre in Barrio Gothic. Staff are very helpful and friendly and all do their jos very well.

Room Tip: Back of building for quiet, but front is intersting as you look out on the passers by - bring earplu...
Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank michaelmacginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We began a 16 day trip across Europe with two night in Barcelona. We arrived jet lagged and in the evening so we were relieved to find this place fairly easy to get to and find coming from the airport. As noted by other reviewers, they don't have an elevator. We knew this going in so it wasn't so bad. There were plenty of great places to eat in the vicinity (and throughout the city). Located at the top of the Ramblas it was in a great spot to get around and see Barcelona. I also found it clean, and safe. On our last day we checked out early and left our bags there in the bag storage all day with no problem. They keep them tagged in a separate room behind a desk, monitored by the person at the front desk. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure it's quiet, ask for a room in the back.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

It is nicely situated in the happening spot of Barcelona, La Rambla. It is not difficult to find the place. Easy to reach either by metro or by airport bus. The location and hotel look safe.

There is no lift in the hotel, so it is not so fun if you have heavy luggage. I stayed in the single room with shared bathroom. The room looks old fashioned but clean enough and neat. The furniture is basic, a single bed, a table, a chair, and a wash basin. The white linen was fresh and clean. Towel is provided. It was quite noisy in the middle of night, the noise from outside, as I stayed there during the weekend. Probably people were just back from having fun in the bar. The shared bathroom and toilet were clean. There is computer with internet for rent. I found out that the internet rental price is cheaper than outside. The price of the canned drink they sell is also the same as the price outside. But it is still cheaper to buy stuffs from Carrefour that located some few meters from the hostel.

I would suggest this place for those who looks for basic accommodation with cheap price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daftrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week in Fall 2011. A room with shared bath was 58euro, and with private bath was 69euro.
The good: This hostel is super close to everything: Las Ramblas, the Gothic Quarter, El Raval, La Rivera, and Placa Catalunya which is a travel hub for the entire city. For the price, you can't do much better.
The not-so-good: The decor is rather drab and the rooms are on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors of a building with no lift. The towels are very starchy and the maids replace them every day even if you hang them on the hooks next to the sign that says "Help save the environment: if you hang your towel on the hook the maid will not wash it..."
All things considered, the staff is very nice and the place did not feel in the least bit sketchy, which is wonderful in a neighborhood that is relatively sketchy in general.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Have just returned from 3 nights in this beautiful city.the hostel could not have been more perfect! Absolutely fantastic location,right in the heart of where things seem to happen,perfect being so close to placa de catalunya as thats where all the metro lines change etc. Though as I'm happy to walk everywhere so as to really get to see the city it was nice and central for that too but when feet were burning,it was great being so close to the metro!
I had the cheapest room going,single without shower / wc - I was a bit nervous about this but budget commanded this option! I have to say it was not a problem at all,showers were always free,wc's always free and both were very clean.the room itself was basic but comfortable,nice to come home to after a long day.
The best thing I could stay is that if I were going back to the city again,I would not hesitate in the slightest or even bother to look around,this is a perfect, basic, fantastically located stay!
Also,the staff were very helpful with lots of recommendations and advice!

10 out of 10 :)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegsyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

As mentioned in other reviews, this hostal was truly clean and comfortable. The location, at the top of La Ramblas and near to La Boqueria, is very convenient as it's a downhill walk south to the rest of Las Ramblas and Port Vell. It's a 5 minutes walk north to Plaza Catalunya, where there is the El Corte Ingles supermarket, the metro and various bus lines are. To the east, is Barri Gothic, where the Barcelona cathedral (not the Sagrada Familia) is nearby where one can watch the Sardana dance on Saturday and Sunday. So one can eat cheaply at La Boqueria or buy from the supermarket, and there are tons of eateries all around.

The fan was a necessity in summer. Even on the fourth floor, one can hear some revellers and cleaning trucks in the wee hours, but it's bearable.

The location on the 4th floor (91 steps!) - without a lift- can be a concern with heavy luggage or after a long day or both! The steps have been worn rather smooth and I slipped on a step once, going downstairs with luggage.

My only feeling of discontent was the price which as compared with other cities is rather high, given the facilities. In all fairness, this is reflective of prices in Barcelona, where for some attractions, the price increased by about 20% in one year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#303 of 513 in Barcelona
422 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#137 of 513 in Barcelona
2,637 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#72 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#423 of 513 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#481 of 513 in Barcelona
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Campi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Campi

Address: Carrer de Canuda, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hostal Campi Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Campi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing