We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Adequate Rooms”
Review of Hostal Campi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Campi
Ranked #408 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Boulder Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Adequate Rooms”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The rooms are small but clean. Someone comes in daily to change the sheets and straighten the room. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Bathrooms were shared, but always available. The balcony overlooked a side street that was a bit noisy at times, but not enough to be disturbing. The location cannot be any better, safe and close to metros and Las Ramblas. There is a large grocery store across the street and is close to La Boqueria Market. What it lacks in charm it makes up for in location.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ktgarvai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    70
    40
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
61
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed in a room with a double bed and an en suite bathroom. The room was clean and the bed was very soft, which was not the case for the other hostals that we stayed at in Spain. We were able to check in early and there is always staff at the front desk. You leave your key at the front desk when you leave the building and then are buzzed in every time you come back. There were quite a bit of stairs to get up to the hostal, and I'm not sure if there was an elevator or not. There are computers in the commons room that you can pay to use the internet. If you have your own laptop, they do have free wireless internet as well. In the commons room is a bookshelf with books that you can borrow. At night, we did see quite a few other guests hanging out in the commons room using the computers.

This hostal is located very close to the Ramblas, but on a side street, so it is quiet at night. It is close to the catalunya metro stop which is at the top of the Ramblas.

Our bathroom faucet only had hot water, which was only a problem when we ran the water to do something like wash our faces and the water got pretty hot. The hot and cold water was very sensitive in the shower so it took some time to adjust the water to get the temperature comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauai2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of May. Service from the staff was helpful and friendly during our entire stay! Thanks for all the help! Got a double room without bathroom. The room was small but did the trick and there is a sink and mirror in the room. Room and bathrooms were clean and everything worked great.

The front desk requires you to leave your key with them when you leave the hostel. Don't worry about the policy, it is great not carrying it around and we felt safe leaving out stuff in our rooms.

Noise can be an issue coming from the main street. If you are not used to living in a big city it might not be the best location to stay. However if you are used to street noise, you should have no problems as it was tolerable the whole time we were there.

Location is perfect if you plan to hang out in the old town to sight see and party. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Barcelona is a very loud city at night, all night. So a room off the main street would be your best bet. The location, off Las Ramblas is excellent. And the five floors you have to walk up to get to your room is good for the legs.

Room Tip: Ask for one off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack-Dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Rooms were simple, but clean. Shared bathroom was also clean. We got a room in the back so it was quiet, but the rooms facing the side street could get quite noisy if the crowd is out on Ramblas after a Barca game! Very convenient to everything. Excellent location. PC available for rent.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclistyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The best part about this hostel/hotel was the location. Oh and it was clean, which is important. My friend and I had a twin room with shared toilets/showers and they were always clean.

The staff was generally nice, except for one of the night staff. I got in on a flight to Reus just before midnight and had to take the shuttle to Barcelona, putting me in around 1:30am. I called the hostel asking directions from the Sants station to them by night bus. The person who was working the night shift did NOT speak English. I could NOT understand what he was saying, and he was very, VERY rude. So I ended up having to take a cab. I don't care if it's just the night shift, if your hostel advertises to English-speaking travelers, all of their staff, regardless of time of day should speak English. AND all of the staff should know how to get from the main train stations to the hostel at any time of day or night.

When I finally arrived at the hostel, the same person was extremely rude to me. And the next night he was rude to my friend when she asked him a question. All the rest of the staff there were fine though.

The other thing of note - we could hear street noise in our room. We did keep the window cracked for most of the time though. I suppose the rooms that were not facing the street probably did not hear street noise.

Oh, and finally - they charge for internet if you don't have your own computer (I brought mine, but still I don't remember seeing it on their website that they charge for internet).

I'd stay there again, but I'd call during the day to get directions if I was going to arrive late at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockeport, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Nice sized room, clean, comfortable. Excellent, informative staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#269 of 513 in Barcelona
525 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Toledano and Hostal R. Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#320 of 513 in Barcelona
399 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#446 of 513 in Barcelona
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Campi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Campi

Property: Hostal Campi
Address: Carrer de Canuda, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hostal Campi Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Campi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing