We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet and cosy!!!”
Review of Hostal Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Benidorm
Ranked #75 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I loved it. Probably a bit noisy owing to the late arrivals but besides that, the rest was perfect. The room was clean and cosy (partly owning to its small size which at the end I liked much (-:), the hostel's stuff was friendly and the location rather comfortable.
..together with Barcelona's particular Gaudi architecture character, and a precious partner this was a trip I'll never forget!!

...looking forward to the next one..
greetings from Salonicco!
n.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajoGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Hostel Benidorm which is right in the middle of Las Ramblas. Having read reviews of several hotels in the area I came prepared with earplugs ready for a sleepless night.
There is a tiny lift which is a great relief after dragging our suitcases around the metro and our room was ready straight away even though we arrived during siesta. The staff were very good, chatty and able to point us in the right direction - the English spoken was very good on the whole - the one staff member we encountered that didn't speak English was happy to muddle through. The rooms have a very sterile feel with twin beds, but still comfortable with a decent shower. The air con was good too. We managed to get to bed around 2 - 3 am which is probably early for Las Ramblas however we didn't hear a peep (and we had a window). The only noise we heard was the cleaning staff in the morning (about 11am). All in all you stay in Ramblas for the location and you can pay lots to do it in style or save your money, stay here and have a comfortable central base

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAgent43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Hostal Benidorm is situated in a great location, just on the Ramblas, between Drassanes and Liceu Metro stations.
Rooms are simple, but comfortable, with Air Conditioning and TV.
Breakfast is not included, but you won't have any problem finding a good place to have breakfast nearby.
Just a suggestion: there are a few rooms (3, maybe 4) that have a window on a small internal "court". Below the hostal there's a restaurant and the kitchen is just on that side, so we had to keep our window closed to keep out the smell coming up.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanoDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

After reading all the reviews on this hotel I was a little nervous at check-in wondering what on earth I was letting myself in for. However as only sleeping at the hotel as we would be leaving the hotel early each morning for the grand prix and arriving back late I was not too bothered. However the reception staff were very very helpful and gave loads of info whilst checking in. Our case was carried to the room by reception and showed around the room by him. The room was very clean and exactly as the pictures on the hotel website which is a first for any hotel we have stayed at previously. Each morning we were greeted with a small and pleasant conversation. I had a problem with my bed as one of the springs burst through the mattress, immediately on reporting it this was replaced with the most comfortable mattress I have slept on for a while. We had a room overlooking La Rambla as requested with a balcoly and was greated with the sun and hustle and bustle of the noices of the rambla which was great. Yes a night you have to expect a little noise for such a busy road but once the patio and curtains were closed this was negliable. Would definately stay here again and it was extremely good value for the time of year and location. It even has locked luggage storage if you are flying out late with a washroom to freshen up! Last year stayed at a 4 star hotel in Barcelona at twice the price and this was not available!!

Stayed: May 2009
Thank jimmyboyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My second stay in Barcelona was at this hostel which is located right on the ramblas (the main street in downtown Barcelona, and very well known). Ramblas is very "tourist-like", but it's location is good. You can easily walk to the surrounding neighborhoods, such as raval, barrio gotico, and gracia. These places are alot more interesting than just staying in the area around the ramblas.
The hostel was clean, although the bedsheets maybe should have been changed more often. Service was alright, the guy at the front desk told us which transportation to use, and how to get to the airport in the easiest way. They were not that interested in their custermers though..
Room was cheap, had it's own bathroom, but there was no view or anything, just a window towards the backyard.
It's a fairly good hostel, but would try something new if i went to Barcelona again..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCopenhagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

One word to describe this place: SKETCHY.

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in December of 2007, including New Years Eve. We booked well in advance -- August or September. When we called to book, the reception would not take our credit card information over the phone. They preferred we e-mail it to them with the expiration date. Not comfortable with this option, we said we would find another location, but they eventually gave in and took the information over the phone.

Because the hotel is directly located on Las Ramblas, I knew it would be noisey. However, in all of the places we stayed in Europe, this is the place we felt most uncomfortable and unsafe. There were people lying in the stairwells leading up to the hotel, even at nighttime after the main gate to the hotel had been closed.

The room was somewhat clean, but despite the fact we had booked almost 4 months in advance for a room with a double bed (and our booking sheet confirmed this), we were given 2 twins. We expected noise from outside due to the location of the hotel, but what we did not like was that we could hear everything going on in rooms around us - below, above, and beside (and we had a corner room). We could hear the man beside us snoring, we could hear EV"ERYTHING. We could even hear someone 2 rooms down from us knocking on the wall of the man beside us to get him to stop snoring. Worst sleep ever.

Our room had a private bathroom, which was somewhat clean, but the shower did not drain well. When this was brought to the attention of the staff, they merely shrugged their shoulders.

Internet was free, which was nice, but the WiFi did not work in all areas of the hotel. In order for us to access the internet, we were required to sit in the hallway of the hotel.

Overall, would never ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

You should know that in Spain there are Youth Hostels - for students/backpackers, Hostals - somewhere between a hostel and a hotel, they equate to a B&B w/out breakfast, and the Hotels. Benidorm is a Hostal.

We stayed in the hostal for 4 nights in mid October. We chose this particular hostal because they advertised internet. This was true however it did not work about half the time we were there due to the boss being out of the office, on siesta etc.

The room was on the small side, but adequate and the bathroom was quite large. The room was cleaned daily and we had a baloncy overlooking La Ramblas. Most of the staff spoke English and they were all nice and willing to help. We stayed during the week and it was nice and quiet however on Friday night it was a bit loud, but not unbearable.

The direction for arriving were less than clear. The closest Metro stop is Liceu, upon exiting walk downhill and look for the Hostal on the right about three blocks down.

Overall the location was amazing, the price was fair and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank butterflysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#236 of 516 in Barcelona
500 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#174 of 736 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#70 of 736 in Barcelona
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
360 Hostel Barcelona Arts&Culture
El Raval
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
#175 of 736 in Barcelona
76 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#23 of 736 in Barcelona
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Benidorm

Address: Rambla dels Caputxins, 37, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , La Rambla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Benidorm 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Benidorm Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Benidorm Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing