We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place to stay. Clean and friendly.”
Review of ILUNION Auditori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ILUNION Auditori
Ranked #291 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty good place to stay. Clean and friendly.”
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We weren't blown away by this hotel, but what do you expect? It's a 3 star hotel, and for that rating it fares pretty well. My mother always told me when travelling in mainland Europe, remove one star from the star rating to equate it to what is expected in the UK and North America, and this advice has always worked.

Confortel Auditori is relatively near a metro station, about 2 blocks away. There are two supermarkets, a bakery and a pharmacy all in a one-block radius. The pharmacy was of particular importance to us as my spouse developed a particularly nasty case of gastric flu after eating at a restaurant in Las Ramblas (that's a story for a whole other review). Having a pharmacy so close was a godsend. The hotel staff were very sympathetic and as helpful as they could be during the time he was ill, sending up bottles of water and providing me with the cutlery and crockery I wanted in the middle of the night when the time finally came right to eat again.

The bathroom is very clean. The sheets were of course clean but I didn't feel completely at ease in the bed - perhaps the discovery of a hair not belonging to myself or my partner was enough to throw me off that first night.

The knowledge the hotel staff have about Barcelona is good, not amazing but not terrible. Restaurant recommendations were the hardest thing to get out of them.

The hotel boasts free wireless, although with a Mac I found the first night I couldn't connect to their system, so I had to use one of the 2 computers in the lobby instead. The rest of the time it was no problem to connect.

Overall it was an alright hotel, but I don't particularly feel any loyalty to stay there again. If we were to return to Barcelona we would probably stay elsewhere just so as not to stay at the same average place twice.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melonfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    446
    196
    50
    27
See reviews for
131
514
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

2 blocks from the bus station and train station and 2 stops from Catalunya (la Ramblas) the hotel is really nice and the service is great!

would recommend if you want to be close to la ramblas and not have to pay an arm and a leg for a hotel!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Location was perfect for us - it was about 5 mins walk from nearest metro (arc de triomph) and around 20 min walk to either the port or the old part of town. Although we spent most of our time in the centre, it was nice to be able to get away from all the craziness to the area of our hotel - which was a quiet, pleasant, pretty neighbourhood.

Our room was very quiet and clean. It was a bit smaller than I'd hoped - we'd booked a twin room but the beds were very close together - this was easily sorted by pulling one of the beds across the room a bit.

Bathroom was also clean and had a fab shower - really powerful.

The only gripe about the room was the temperature - it was far too hot. Neither of us slept as well as we would have liked - even with the air conditioning on the room didn't cool down all that much. I was glad it was November - I can't imagine what it would have been like in Summer! After a bit of investigation, it seemed like one of the main central heaters was on our floor - and next to our room (301) which probably explained it.

We had a room on the inside, with the window opening on to the central air shaft - this meant it was a bit gloomy but very, very, very quiet which was ideal for us.

Other reviews have complained about the price of breakfast - we thought it was great but we booked through hotels.com so paid around £3 extra a night for breakfast to be included - a definite bargain for what was on offer ie a buffet including tortilla, bread, cheese, meats, fruit, yohurt, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. Nothing wrong with that!

It was out of season for the swimming pool and spa facilities so I can't comment on those - we did check them out though and they seemed nice enough.

The room did lack some of the extras you might expect to find eg sewing kit but it had everything we needed.

Overall, a very pleasant stay which was only marred slightly by the temperature in the room. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for somewhere clean and pleasant to stay which isn't right in the centre of all the noise and chaos, but not far away either! The surrounding area felt safe, and the staff in the hotel were helpful and polite.

All in all, a great base for a visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank subzeror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Great location, modern, clean, efficient and excellent for wheelchair users!

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hovitez1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Good value hotel, slightly outside the centre of time but no problem walking to the main sights or using the convenient metro. Clean rooms, pleasant staff. I agree with other reviewers that breakfast was a bit overpriced - more than 50 euros for 4 of us - but then the exhange rate works against us at present. Very comfortable, not luxury but great as a base for sightseeing. i would come back and would look for the same chain elsewhere in Europe.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Essexwoman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Minimal style Hotel
Nice and very kind staff
Near center of the city
Simply... Amazing!!!

Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dimbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed here for three nights, and found it quite pleasent. Rooms were very clean, with hygiene sticker on toilet when we moved it to ensure it had been cleaned. Beds were comfortable. We checked in late and this was no problem and checking out was easy with space for luggage storage.
We did not have any food here so cannot comment. Breakfast seemed expensive so found some cafes on route which were ok.
Staff were helpful and no trouble to find out details for you, though you may have to explain twice as their english is just ok. Some staff were better than others at telling you the best places to eat, clubs or transport.
By the checkin desk are leaflets on places to see, look at these as some have some good offers. Free internet acess in lobby is quick as available during our stay.
The area is safe and nice and quiet. Is a bit of a walk from the tourist places, however we walked everywhere, was easy and safe. 10 mins to La Sagrada Familia, 20 mins to La Rambla and 20 mins to port olympic (maybe more as you find intresting places on the way).
Nice clean stay and very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#161 of 512 in Barcelona
485 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#135 of 512 in Barcelona
2,568 reviews
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#179 of 512 in Barcelona
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 512 in Barcelona
3,737 reviews
Barcelo Sants
#108 of 512 in Barcelona
3,112 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Salles Hotel Pere IV
Salles Hotel Pere IV
#293 of 512 in Barcelona
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Auditori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Auditori

Property: ILUNION Auditori
Address: C/ Sicilia 166-170 | & Ausias March 113-115, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ILUNION Auditori 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ILUNION Auditori is located in the heart of Barcelona, just 10 minutes walk from Arc de Triomf train and metro station and 1.5 km away from the Sagrada Familia. The famous Barcelona Auditorium is just a 5-minute walk from the hotel.ILUNION Auditori Hotel offers a gym, a sauna and a spectacular rooftop pool from where guests can enjoy breath taking views of Barcelona. All rooms have contemporary decor and offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, flat- screen TV, satellite TV, free safety deposit box and air conditioning. The hotel offers free use of sveral PC's located in the main lobby with free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ILUNION Auditori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Auditori Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Auditori Barcelona
Confortel Barcelona
ILUNION Auditori Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing