We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money.”
Review of Hotel Medinaceli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Medinaceli
Ranked #314 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights on mid-November 2013. The room was comfortable and clean. Room No. 320- with balcony, so we could open the window. Not too noisy. We didn't use the Air-con so I don't know if it is working ok. the mini-bar is in the closet (?). We surprisingly found it there on our last day, while arrenging to check-out... We didn't had breakfasts at the hotel.
There is Free Wifi- ask the reception for password to log in.
The location is good- located 1 minute walk from the end of La Rambla, close to Ciutat Vella (old city), 3 minutes walk to Metro (Drassanes station) and 5 minutes to the marina and Maremagnum mall. Nearby on Amplel St. there are nice places to eat breakfast and tapas (cheaper then La Rambla retuarants).

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony has window and fresh air.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Medinaceli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 617 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

It is located at the end of la ramblas and just in the gotic area. Convenient for sight seeing, parties and abundant of restaurant and coffee shops near by. The downside of this hotel is i found the receptionists quite rude, seemed reluctant to give advice and recommendation. One even gave me a "sigh" when asked for direction of a restaurant. Anyway, the room is nice, modern and clean looking but windows are jammed so guests won't be able to open it. Unless you have a room with balcony, that should be great..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kai h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Medinaceli is literally a 1 minute walk to the bottom of La Rambla and about a 3 minute walk to the port and Metro.
We never chose to have the breakfast so can't comment on the food; however, it was around €17.00 per person and you can get a cheaper breakfast in any of the nearby restaurants.
The rooms were clean with towels replaced daily. One day our maid came round, we were out for the best part of 12 hours and she had left the balcony doors wide open.
Although we went at the end of October the weather was amazing for the time of year and air con would have been perfect after a full day of sightseeing. The air conditioning in our room never really worked and was quite loud.
The beds were rock solid so for the 4 nights we were there we never had 1 good nights sleep.
There is a fridge in the room and again, this never worked well. My husband took me here for my 30th birthday and he had bought an expensive bottle of champagne; as the fridge was temperamental he went to speak to the reception staff and explained that he had the champagne for my birthday and the fridge wasn't working and could he have an ice bucket (this being officially rated as a 4 star hotel, should not be a big ask) the reception staff said they didn't have an ice bucket and as the kitchen was closed there was nothing they could do in regards to ice.
Although the location was perfect and the hotel was clean, the fact we didn't have 1 good nights sleep due to the hard beds and faulty air conditioning and we found the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful (not just regarding the champagne) we wouldn't stay here again as we expected a little more for a 4 star hotel, especially a comfortable bed at least.

Room Tip: We stayed in 204, it was quite busy but not too loud to keep you awake at night!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverbird83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just return from Barcelona after staying at Medinaceli Hotel. It was in a perfect position, near port, beach and old town. Beautiful hotel and very clean, staff helpful. Buffet breakfast really good with plenty of choice. Only down side, no bar or restaurant, but plently within a minutes walk. This was booked by our children, a present for our golden anniversary, well done kids. Would stay again when viisting Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trendyoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed there couple nights.. Employees were friendly and helpful..Room and Hotel were clean and they did great housekeeping.Reception is so understanding and knowledge l guess his name is Mustafa
Location is perfect because it is so closes to rambla and metro station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CemalCingirlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend in July. The Medinaceli is right on the edge of the old town, a block or two away from the Rambla, on a square that isn't particularly beautiful but is almost on the waterfront, good for strolling or just watching the world go by. The room was a decent size and very comfortable and clean with a nice big bathroom, breakfast was excellent and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLinguist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staff are very friendly. English sometimes not so good, but always willing to help.
Room was exactly like in the picture. Hotel is located near the harbour on the corner of a nice square, two blocks from the Rambla and two blocks from the beautiful Placa Reial. There is a drawback however, the streets are noisy. Many hen-parte / stag night make sure the streets are very lively until late.
The aircon in the room is very effective in that you might want to shut it off and open the window to the balcony. But because of the noise in the street, that might not be a good plan. So, if you dont mind the noise, or the cold strong wind from the airco, this is a nice hotel.
Rooms can be located on the side of the sqaure, the side-street or the atrium. All have their advantages and disadvantages. Hotel staff are willing to accomodate your preference.
We booked (sept 2013), the hotel trough hotwire. That saved quite a bit compared to the expedia prices. It was listed as 3-star hotel in the port olympic barcelonetta area. Also check www.betterbidding.com for up-to-date descriptions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lli_030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#305 of 513 in Barcelona
67 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#257 of 513 in Barcelona
754 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#473 of 513 in Barcelona
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#256 of 513 in Barcelona
470 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
574 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#110 of 513 in Barcelona
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medinaceli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medinaceli

Address: Placa duc de Medinaceli 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $83 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Medinaceli 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Medinaceli, hotel 4 star recently expanded and renovated, occupies the old palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli in the Centre of Barcelona. With a superb location in the Gothic quarter of the city, next to the Rambla, and steps away from Drassanes Metro station, hotel becomes the perfect accommodation option to know and enjoy Barcelona with all the comforts. We are at the plate, the Duc de Medinaceli, 8, in the Gothic quarter in the Centre of Barcelona. Central, easy access and close to the main sights of the city, Hotel Medinaceli is located next to Las Ramblas, Drassanes Metro station 5 and 10 France train station. The Hotel Medinaceli, built in the old palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli, in the popular district of Barcelona's Gothic quarter, offers 78 rooms soundproofed, spacious and bright, decorated in a cosy and equipped with all the comforts so that you enjoy a pleasant stay. All rooms have connection to Internet Wi-Fi, air conditioning and heating, desk, safe, private bathroom with bathtub or shower, hairdryer and toiletries, TV with satellite channels and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Medinaceli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona
Medinaceli Barcelona
Hotel Medinaceli Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing