We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Medinaceli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Medinaceli
Ranked #323 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Lorne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

nice place to stay...only walking distance to all the night action and local attractions......the side street is a little noisy at night so if your a light sleeper then get a room off the street......staff were helpful...room was good size and clean

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    224
    147
    48
    30
See reviews for
96
256
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were moved here from the sister hotel of the Rialto, was initially impressed as being upgraded to a four star hotel. On the positive side the hotel was well placed just off the bottom of the Rambles, was very quiet but we did stay mid week, the bed was very comfy and the bathroom was huge, however there were no tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Average place with decent breakfast and facilities however would not deserve 4 stars. Moist cellar smell all around the building and room and showers were in disgraceful shape: Mold, broken shower (fixed with glue...) spreading the water all around, difficulties to get into a shower due to urinal which was placed right in front of the stall... Room was "cleaned" when we arrived however black hair was found all around the floor as well as from the bed, wasn't a pleasant surprice. It appeared overall that they're not wiping the floors with moist or washing them at all (socks became dirty within hours).
Overall just a basic max 3 star place but avoid if you're looking for a fancy place to stay. Location is somewhat brilliant though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is the worst hotel, since you walk in the hotel the service is really bad nobody helps you with your luggage, there is a bad smell in the lobby and reception is no help at all. Way over prized and definatally NOT a 4 star!!!!!!! If u need anything extra such as iron, or eating utensils you must get them yourselfs and when we asked for an iron they said they only had one and it was busy so I never got it. The hotel rooms feel really stuffy and has a musky humid smell. The bathrooms had really cheap towels no conditioner and cheap shampoo. Beds were hard and they would roll away when you would sit on them. The tv in my room only had one channel and the control didn't work and when I called to ask for someone to fix it they said they couldn't. The telephone was not user friendly you had to guess what number to press to call either to a room ot the lobby. I requested a wake up call TWICE and I never got it!!!!! And also a cab which we had to request twice!! No communication what so ever between the swift personnel!!!! No restaurant service only for breakfast so anything you need you must get yourselfs. Overall I would never recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would never stay here again even if it where free!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel!!!!!!! The price is too high and service too low
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juji07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

København
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We only had one night at the Medinaceli hotel before flying back, so we prefered a ok rated hotel (4 stars) and a central location. What the hotel did not inform was the renovation project going on that ment we could not have the doors to the (special booked to the occassion) balcony open due to noise and smell coming from the trucks working just below the balcony.

The room was fine but it is still a wonder how four stars fell down on this hotel. You do not get any facility other than a room...? I would recommend asking if the renovation project is still going on before booking the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just had 3 nights at the Medinaceli, a triple room. The hotel is very well situated (at Dressanes metro station), near the port (attractions: Cristofor Columb monument and the Aquarium) and Las Ramblas.
The room could have been a little bigger, but overall was OK, it compensated with the larger bathroom.
We were disappointed by the breakfast, very poor (comparing it with the breakfast we had in Prague a few months ago), some cold meats, cereals, no fresh vegetables.
There was no one at the reception to help us with our luggage.
For the time spent in the hotel, our choice was not disappointing, we were expecting better (the hotel is the former residence of the Medinaceli dukes).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view on the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralu_seby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I recently stay in the Medinaceli and although not being used for several weeks the UK debit card I used to reserve my booking was fraudulently used 3 and 4 days after we checked out for up to £790. I know when I checked in they had my card details written down and stored in a draw at reception. The card was not used to settle the account.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#257 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#451 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#98 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#269 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#303 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#473 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medinaceli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medinaceli

Property: Hotel Medinaceli
Address: Placa duc de Medinaceli 8, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Medinaceli 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Medinaceli, hotel 4 star recently expanded and renovated, occupies the old palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli in the Centre of Barcelona. With a superb location in the Gothic quarter of the city, next to the Rambla, and steps away from Drassanes Metro station, hotel becomes the perfect accommodation option to know and enjoy Barcelona with all the comforts. We are at the plate, the Duc de Medinaceli, 8, in the Gothic quarter in the Centre of Barcelona. Central, easy access and close to the main sights of the city, Hotel Medinaceli is located next to Las Ramblas, Drassanes Metro station 5 and 10 France train station. The Hotel Medinaceli, built in the old palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli, in the popular district of Barcelona's Gothic quarter, offers 78 rooms soundproofed, spacious and bright, decorated in a cosy and equipped with all the comforts so that you enjoy a pleasant stay. All rooms have connection to Internet Wi-Fi, air conditioning and heating, desk, safe, private bathroom with bathtub or shower, hairdryer and toiletries, TV with satellite channels and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Medinaceli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona
Medinaceli Barcelona
Hotel Medinaceli Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing