We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #141 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

POSITIVE: We have just returned after our three night stay at this great little hotel. After reading some of the not so positive reviews we were pleasantly surprised on arrival. We received a warm, friendly welcome - we had requested a certain floor and room location and the request was honoured -- a very positive start! Our room was really nice, light and airy with two windows that overlooked Princesa Street. It was a good size, modern, attractively furnished and spotlessly clean. Likewise the bathroom, it was quite roomy, a nice efficient shower, a hairdryer and good quality towels. Despite complaints about noise from some other reviewers, we must have been lucky because our room was very quiet, of course with the windows open there was some traffic noise but that was to be expected. The staff members at this hotel were all polite, helpful and friendly. In particular a young man called Gabriel on reception who very kindly helped sort out our hotel/airport departure details.
NEGATIVE: The breakfast was a real let-down and disappointment. It was a shambles and a complete antitheses to the well run-hotel. It's difficult to know where to start with what's wrong with the breakfast service. The food wasn't bad, it was the usual Continental fare as well as scrambled eggs and bacon. However, the place was so under-staffed, just two people to serve coffee, replenish food items, clean the tables and generally look after and serve dozens of customers, most of whom were complaining about one thing or another.
Having said that, we would still return to this hotel but would skip booking breakfast - there are lots of super little breakfast places nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Altea88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

I will start with the good thing about this hotel. The location is superb – right in the middle of the action, only 5 minutes away from the L4 metro train station. The design of the room is very nice and modern. The room was clean. I didn’t hear any noise from the neighbor rooms like other travelers mentioned (but I’m not sure that they were occupied neither).

Now - about the bad things.

First – it is really noisy if you are facing the street – this is true. But I was prepared for that and I can coop with it. Most of the staff on the reception were really indifferent – neither rude nor friendly – just being there. The electricity in the room was shutting down from time to time and I have to reset the card in the slot manually to turn it on again. On the last day it started doing that every 10 minutes. When I complained about that on the reception they fixed it immediately - bypassing the card slot and turning the electricity constantly on. This means that they knew about the issue (since they knew what is wrong without visiting the room and how to bypass it immediately), but never bothered to fix the source of the issue. There was no duvet cover – just 2 plain sheets and I had to put in between (like sandwich) the blanket that I found in the wardrobe. The “crown jewel” of the bad experience was the fact that there was no hot water in the room during rush hours (around 18 to 21 h.). Also no Wi-Fi in the rush hours either. The receptionist explained that there was cleaning of the pipes on the particular day and this is the reason for the lack of hot water. But when I told him that this goes for a third day in a row he remained speechless. It was obvious that the hotel management is aware of the issue and they provided the reception staff with a script for excuses so they can pipe down angry guests, but again they didn’t actually do something to fix the issue. On the other hand I didn’t notice any other reviews with complains about this, so I might have been just a really bad luck, but it ruined our stay and our nights out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Well located in the centre of Barcelona...which makes it very far if you are there for the Fira. Staff is very friendly and willing to help, which is very good. Rooms are clean, but their walls are made of paper and my bed was made of stone. Shower was either super hot or super cold, but seemed to have difficulties finding a stable point in between those. Aircon / Heating did not work. Breakfast was "motorway motel" style, with some good stuff but mainly basic stuff tasting as it had been made by a low quality supplier. Strangely enough lunch / dinner was very good, which might be due to the fact that the restaurant of the hotel is also available from the street and therefore caters inside and outside people. Terrace on the roof is very pleasant, with a small pool which would probably be a blessing in the summer.

Room Tip: High floors only, so that one is at least protected from the noise in the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you're up for staying in Old Town (El Borne District), this is a great place. This small boutique hotel offers good service, clean rooms and free water bottle service on each floor. It is really inexpensive and is the perfect startingpoint for exploring the old town. Only 15 min walk to La Rambla if you fancy that. Very close is an epic tapas place "Bar del Pla", which makes it even better. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldclassinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Nice hotel, great decor and good value for money. Staff was very helpful.

The neighborhood looks a bit edgy but still acceptable. The only downside is: beware of the noise from the restaurants and passer-by down the street. Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saintnectaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We (8)recently stayed there for a friends stag weekend.
We found checking in very quick and the staff helpful and polite.
The rooms were clean and to a good standard of repair.
It's hard to give a total overview of the amenities as we only used the room simply a place to sleep.
Though it is very well situated with the bars and touristic sites all close by.
The rooms were cleaned and beds made everyday.
One thing that was gratefully welcomed was a fridge full of free water bottles!
Overall a great hotel BUT sadly I had to report our room door was left open for all to enter !
After leaving our room in the morning we returned early next morning to find our beds made so can only imagine the cleaning staff had forgot to close on there exit.
I must state though that NOTHING was missing from the room .

Hopefully this was a oversight but it did leave a bad feeling of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whomenoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel upon our arrival in Barcelona after 3 long flights from Australia. The hotel was in a good location, walking distance to the Cathedral and La Ramblas and with a good selection of patisseries, tapas bars and restaurants nearby. We stayed in a double room which was a good size with modern bathroom. The only downside was that it was quite warm and the cooling seemed to only pump out warm air so we had trouble sleeping the first night. The hotel has a computer corner with a printer (great if you want to book online to avoid queuing at attractions). The hotel also offers free bottled water which was a huge convenience which we loved. The only reason I've marked this hotel at as 4/5 is because we stayed again for one night at the end of our holiday in Europe and again booked a double room (I think the only choices are single, double, triple) which was 2 doors down from our original room. This room was noticeably larger with a much larger bathroom than the first room... there isn't an option to book different grades of 'double' rooms on their website so it seems to be a bit of hit and miss which room you actually get allocated. Tip: don't bother paying the 12 euro/pp for breakfast at the hotel - there is an amazing patisserie across the road where we got breakfast each morning for around 4 euro each.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HolidayKat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#98 of 515 in Barcelona
764 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 515 in Barcelona
510 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#108 of 515 in Barcelona
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#251 of 515 in Barcelona
634 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#218 of 515 in Barcelona
686 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#48 of 515 in Barcelona
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $70 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing