We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #132 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the city”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. Modern, comfortable, good service, excellent breakfast, great location.
I received exactly the type of room I requested - higher floor, with tub, facing street with balcony. Although it was noisy with window open, with window closed there was no noise at all. Room was not large, but very comfortable for a stay of 10 nights. My only complain for the room itself would be the extra firm mattress - I prefer a pillow top.
Service was friendly, Ruben being especially helpful.
WiFi went out on a couple occasions, including my last night there, but this was a minor irritant with computer on 1st floor available if necessary.
I didn't realize just how much I would appreciate the bottled cold water on every floor - a lifesaver every day.
The breakfast downstairs every morning was very good.
And finally, the location couldn't be better. In the heart of the Born, close to the Barri Gothic, etc.
I would stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: I prefer facing the street with windows, quiet when windows closed. Rooms on back and side have tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiTiTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    515
    107
    26
    26
See reviews for
179
508
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I really don't know why we choose this location, but we did not regret it. From the large terrace, to the clean rooms and the good breakfast, everything was fine. Just the guy at the reception could have been a bit better prepared at check-in. It's perfect to reach the shops, restaurants and bars in Barcelona's old town and you can reach it in a 10 minutes walk from the Placa de Cataluna. Metro is just 300 Meters away

Helpful?
Thank FCKFan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews I was apprehensive on my journey to Barcelona. I was so relieved when we arrived!!
We firstly got upgraded to room 209 with a private balcony which was an added bonus.
The room was clean, modern with all the amenities we needed.
Ok so it didn't have tea making facilities and BBC didn't work but I didn't go on holiday to drink tea watching east Enders.
The roof top terrace was a great bonus open till 9pm it was a great place to soak in the sun and beautiful views.
Thank you to all staff at the hotel for making it a holiday to remember. We shall be returning one day for sure!
There is also a restaurant and bar owned by the hotel which was a lovely place to have a drink and rest from all the sight seeing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Barcelona. It is right next to the Picasso Museum, with plenty cafes, bars and restaurants close by. The hotel itself is clean and staff are friendly. There is bottled water provided in a fridge on every floor free of charge which is a great facility. The roof terrace is small but a fantastic place to chill after a long day sightseeing. Rooms are clean but small and basic, don't expect 5 star beds and pillows but comfortable enough. We were at the front of the hotel, right on Princesa, and I think it could have been noisy if we had wanted to go to bed early! Big tip is buy a metro 10 trip ticket on arrival in Barcelona, it is very useful for getting around and between the attractions.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise as for a room away from the main street, or at least on a high level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloud9903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic location in the Born district on a quiet street, which is full of artisan shops, small treets, quaint cafes. You are 2 minutes from the Picasso museum and 5 minutes from the cathedral.The hotel is basic and rooms are small but clean. The staff are helpful and friendly. THe brekfast at 12 eoros is quite expensive but an exstensive buffet makes it worth while. Definitely would recommend it and would stay again

Room Tip: 416 corner room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verydiscerning141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found this hotel perfect for our long weekend in Barcelona. The location is perfect, being sitiated in the old town, near the picasso musuem and close to the city park (parc de la ciutadella) so you have great access to all the lovely little bars and restaurants in the area. We found the rooms comfortable and clean - nothing special but it was all we needed. From the moment we arrived the staff on front desk were also very friendly and gave the impression that they would do anything they could to ensure you had a great time in Barcelona.
If i went back to Barcelona i would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al_riddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 512 in Barcelona
748 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
480 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#41 of 512 in Barcelona
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
663 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#131 of 512 in Barcelona
1,830 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#66 of 512 in Barcelona
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing