We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable - all you need for a Barcelona trip !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Ranked #147 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just came back with my partner from 4 nights at this hotel - including breakfast.
Main reason I picked this hotel was for the combination of the reasonable price (in my opinion all Barcelona hotels are very overpriced!), location and modern style.
I emailed the hotel ahead to ask for a quiet room with a double bed (during our last hotel stays we always got twins, not very romantic :-)) and already 1 hour later they replied telling me they would do their best to accommodate my wishes. A very good start for a 3* hotel (some 5* hotels didn't even bother replying when I sent emails with the same question)!! When we arrived at 11pm we got exactly what I asked for, a room on the 3rd floor (in a little back alley) with no view to speak of (a ventilation shaft) but very quiet and with a large (180cm wide) bed. We didn't mind the view at all (the street side has nice views but I imagine it to be very noisy at night). The bed wasn't the most comfortable but it was ok. Bathroom was quiet large and very clean with a nice walk-in shower. The room itself was also ok, a little bit 'ikea' but really all you need for a city trip. Very clean too. The thing we liked the most about the hotel was the location! We walked almost everywhere (5-10min walking to the cathedral, the Ramblas, Plaça Reial, the sea or the Plaça Catalunya) and the old town is my preferred area to stay at when in Barcelona (some people prefer Gracia or Eixample, I don't).
We got breakfast included (I would recommend to book a 'breakfast included rate' beforehand as this is usually much cheaper than paying for breakfast in the hotel. And this counts for ALL hotels) and we really liked it a lot. There were (lovely) croissants, jams, honey, yoghurts, cereals, breads, (nice) pastries, different (not fresh but very nice) juices, bacon, scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, lovely cured ham, manchego cheese and salami. To top that off a 'help yourself' coffee machine with nice cappuccinos. We thought the breakfast restaurant was also quiet cosy. The girl working there wasn't the most welcoming though (I wouldn't say she was unfriendly, just very shy, don't expect a 'good morning' or smile from her. She does what she's expected to do and that's about it).
Front desk staff and the room maids were very nice though.
Another nice thing about the hotel was the roof terrace with the small pool. We had a few nice days weather wise but not really for the pool of course. But I imagine it to be very nice in summer. Also nice that you can help yourself to bottled water day and night. Not to forget the free wifi everywhere in the hotel (exactly how it should be these days, some 5* hotels can still learn from this!). I would return to this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone that's looking for a clean room at a reasonable price in the best part of the city !!
And don't forget to give a hug to the 'house cat' on the roof terrace !! :-))

Room Tip: Noisy with a nice street view or quiet without a view. You choose !! Btw the hotel has rooms with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delectatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights stay and all I can say is what a little gem and agree with most other trip advisor comments. Hotel modern and simply furnished but spotlessy clean. Bedroom a decent size with king size bed albeit slightly firm. Flat screen TV but could do with an English channel as well as CNN. Good size bathroom and large power shower with toiletries provided. Only negative is no tea or coffee in the room but plenty of free bottled water on each landing plus free wi fi. No bar in hotel so no problem with your own wine and beer in room. Lovely roof terrace and small pool...great for a drink before going out in the evening. Didn't have breakfast but lovely Demasie over the road is superb. Location great 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas, Bari Gotic and Port Vell but discover the Born district near the Picasso Museum. There may be a lot bigger hotels with more amenities but this ticks all the boxes and is great value for money. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qashqai08-Widnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently renovated small hotel in BCN's for me the best area. Historical quarters with most amenities withing walking distance (beach, plentiful selection of restaurants, subway station).

A small roof top pool with sundeck chairs adds to the charm (might get crowded though).

PS! Rates were really good when we stayed, so it attracted a young crowd - Scandinavians (as me) doin' some serious partying).

Breakfast is average, and you might wanna check out nearby bars to cover your hunger for coffee and morning fix.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is situated in a great location in Barcelona. Its a 5 minute walk to the Picasso museum and the streets surrounding the hotel are filled with loads of great coffee shops and funky restaurants. The rooms are a very comfortable size and clean and modern. The bathroom was actually very large for a hotel bathroom. There is wifi in all rooms as well as access to computers with internet access on all floors. The rooftop has a pool and deck which is great for a dip on a ht afternoon. The breakfast downstairs in the adjoining asian restaurant was excellent. Everything you would want from pastries to a cooked breakfast to fruit and cereals. So all in all a brilliant basic hotel which i can highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffaGillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location with plenty of lovely cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel is clean, comfy and complete with powerful shower! Noise wasn't an issue despite the hotel being located on a fairly busy street. The area around the hotel was well lit at night and felt safe - we didn't have any problems with pickpockets/scams on La Rambla and so on. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights in beautifully warm November sun. Hotel great location, just a short walk to anything and everything. Staff friendly. Room great with balcony onto front street which wasn't noisy considering middle of city. Every immaculately clean, free water great addition. We didn't eat in the hotel but had breakfast across the road in the fabulous cafe Demasie which was 12 euros for 3 breakfasts. We were really concerned about pickpockets etc having read and heard lots of negative press however we used common sense and felt very safe throughout. Highly recommend and can't wait to return to a lovely city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PosyFlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here at the recommendation of a meeting organizer and it turned out to be a great choice as a base station for exploring Barcelona. The hotel is on C/Princesa and very close to the El Born district, the Picasso museum and tons of restaurants and shops. The rooms were clean and modern -- we had a balcony from which we could look at the length of C/Princesa. They had free WiFi and also free bottled water, which was truly a first for us at any hotel and was a great convenience. We also liked the Internet access on first floor where we could check in and print our boarding passes for free.

The hotel is unassuming from the front, but great inside. A short walk away is the Jaume I station on metro line L3 from where you can go to other places. La Rambla is 15 minutes walk straight along C/Princesa and the Parc de la Ciutadella is just 5 minutes away on the other direction. All in all, we'd definitely stay here again on our return visits to Barcelona.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room with a balcony overlooking C/Princesa, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#98 of 516 in Barcelona
769 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 516 in Barcelona
513 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Del Mar
Hotel Del Mar
#250 of 516 in Barcelona
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#221 of 516 in Barcelona
688 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#155 of 516 in Barcelona
1,001 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#252 of 516 in Barcelona
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona

Address: Princesa 33 - 35, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $63 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Hotel Barcelona
Ciutat Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat De Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing