We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”
Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #308 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed October 26, 2013

In Barcelona it is all about location. Just off Las Ramblas, easy walk to Plaza Catalunya. Right in the centre of the action and easy to hit the myriad of shops and other attractions. Our room was very modern and comfortable. Airconditioning worked a treat, lots of hot water, lovely towels. The bed was very comfortable and our room was not at all noisy. Cousin had a single room right next door which even had a little balcony. Both rooms were spotlessly clean. Free computer as well. Would highly recommend and would happily stay there again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank cactusangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 443 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Couldn't put it in a better spot if you tried. Rooms are very clean and relatively new. We arrived at 8am having had no sleep and were able to check in early at 10am which was great. Very fast wifi for free and cold air conditioning. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for one on the 4th floor or higher for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelator456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is just off Catalunya Square so very convenient for all the sights, restaurants and shops in Barcelona. We opted for a room with a balcony, which is a definite must, there are some balconies that are smaller with no balcony furniture, the larger ones have two chairs and a glass table for those early morning coffees. I can't really fault the hotel on most things, it was very clean, towels were changed every day, the bed was comfortable and it was pleasantly decorated. There was a mini bar in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities. There were things that need improving, as with other reviewers, the doors automatically slam closed, which is very annoying and the internet was terrible. We were on the fourth floor, so not right at the top, all our devices would only stay connected while we were using them. by closing your phone or iPad, you were disconnecting from the internet at the same time. this was very annoying. Other than that, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A large balcony room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice breakfast, comfortable rooms. I book this hotel every time I visit Barcelona and I'm always happy with the service and rooms I get ! Price-quality is perfect! I recommend this hotel to other city trippers.

Thank lasnau
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

You won't get a better valued hotel in Barcelona. Everything is at your door step from this location. The hotel is clean, recently renovated it seems, room sizes are good. There is a strong signal and fast working wifi Internet for free. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. The location is perfect. At 90 euros a night it's very cheap considering nearby places at 150-250 a night. Not sure how it can be faulted at all at this cheap price for the very center of Barcelona. I would stay here again. Definitely check out the nearby restaurant Santa Anna, fantastic food at cheap prices for the center. It's about 20 meters away on the same street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_D1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a small budget hotel in a great location. We only slept here so the fact that it was a small, bare bones accomodation was fine. Internet was good. They charge 2 euro/day to use the safe in the room. Room 401 is a bit dark but may be the quietest room available.

They could do MUCH better cleaning the bathrooms though the beds were crisp. It is down an alley-like street. Be prepared for this if you arrive at night. It seems shady but was really just fine.

1  Thank AnAtlantaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Located in the city centre near the Ramblas, this hotel offers a convenient location to visit all major tourist attractions. The room was clean and equipped with the basics. It's certainly not a special place (view, comfort, style) but it serves the purpose when you are looking for good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barlozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#67 of 517 in Barcelona
603 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#289 of 517 in Barcelona
566 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#205 of 517 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#362 of 517 in Barcelona
383 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#189 of 517 in Barcelona
1,510 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#430 of 517 in Barcelona
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Address: Carrer de Santa Anna, 24, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $48 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalunya 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataluna Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing