We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #300 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“location is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is very nice. Blonde lady at the front desk was so helpful in assisting me, she is very nice. Rooms are very clean and nice. The location is awesome, this is the best location. The internet worked throughout my stay. Very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    193
    79
    12
    15
See reviews for
74
118
45
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

sleep facilities were very bad and uncomfortable! hotel was very bad smell and bath accessories were bad! always water of shower come out of bathroom inside the room! and rooms was not soundproof! all the night loud noises disturb us!
and finally a big lie!!! I take the hotel with 82% offer discount on the booking.com! and i understood that discount is a big lie! price of hotel is the money that I payed and they dishonestly take up the hotels price and give discount!!! ha haaaa

Room Tip: all the room were bad smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yayaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you look for a cheap hotem located in the heart of Barcelona, it's perfect. Rooms are small but clean, internet connection for free. Only the breakfast is dissapointing, when you ask for a second cup of coffee, they let you know that they do you a favor :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank gregory a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were there for some days to engoy Barcelona. The hotel is the exact spot what I searched - the best point to sleep being in the heart of the city - you were just within in a block from Placa de Catalunya and all the transport services are in walking distance together with major sightseeing points. There are plenty of small restaurants, all well-known fast food brands as well as Carefour for those who would like to serve themselve. For the hotel - clean and tidy, but the main is the location. Enjoy it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
376 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is so convenient to the Ramblas. You are at one end and can walk the length and back easily. We loved being so close to a main square in Barcelona where we could catch not only the tourist bus but also transportation to and from the airport. It was truly convenient.

Our room was small but totally adequate. We had a balcony overlooking a small pedestrian street. Staff were helpful and friendly. The internet was fast and easy.

Our time in Barcelona was fantastic - great food, great sights... a truly memorable experience. We'd return in a heartbeat to Barcelona.... and to the Hotel Catalunya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consultcinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Catalunya for 3 days in Nov and it was a great experience. Traveling in a party of 3, we arrived around 7am, and the staff let us leave our bags behind the desk since we couldn't check in until later. In the future, if coming in early we would book the room for the night before, so we could check in upon arrival. The man behind the counter when we arrived didn't seem like he wanted to help us. When we arrived at 3pm we were able to check into our room.

The room was simple and just what we needed. The pillows were a little flat, but it was fine. Our room was above the alley and was pretty quite at night.

We had a great experience with the young blonde behind the desk on our second night! She had an amazing skull scarf and gave us directions to the store to find one for ourselves. She also gave us a recommendation for a great tapas restaurant only a short walk away.

Breakfast was served in the hotel across the street. I was simple, but a great start to the day.

We are planning a return trip to Barcelona and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are great and close to the computer lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent location, good service.
Perfect solution for a family (we were six, in 2 rooms) or those who spend all the day visiting the city.
Wide spaces for both room and bathroom .
And definitly clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Umberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#233 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#264 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#451 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#155 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Property: Hotel Catalunya
Address: Santa Anna 24, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalunya 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataluna Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalunya Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing