We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful hotel find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona Center Hotel
Ranked #194 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a wonderful hotel find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The stay was just wonderful. Great location, helpful staff, clean room, good meals and all was as advertised. We picked up our hop on hop off tickets at the front desk for a savings which was nice. The bellman was so helpful and thoughtful in getting our cabs and giving instructions to the driver. Really well done hotel.

Room Tip: To make life easy and to save a few dollars pick up the hop on hop off coupons at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    408
    113
    22
    11
See reviews for
129
409
36
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our ski club recently spent three nights at this hotel (10-13 March), and we found it be an excellent base for our too short visit to clean, friendly, beautiful and fascinating Barcelona. The hotel is quiet, centrally located and only a short walk to the Diagonal Metro stop. There are many bars and good restaurants in the area, and the shopping areas nearby are ideal for picking up those last minute souvenirs and gifts.
The staff here was friendly and professional, and they did all they could to make our stay a comfortable and pleasant one. Jordi, the bellman when we left on Wednesday morning, was such excellent help in loading our large bus. He deserves extra recognition!
The bar just off the lobby offered some tasty food and drink, and it made for a good gathering place at the end of a busy day of touring. In addition, some of our group enjoyed hanging out at the rooftop tables after dark to enjoy the view and drink some Spanish wine. We all enjoyed the breakfast provided, and it was nice to find so much fresh fruit and even local specialities on the buffet.
I gave this property four stars instead of five simply due to the fact that many of our rooms looked out onto a dark shaft that even with open windows did not allow sufficient air to circulate to cool the rooms sufficiently for comfortable sleep. The heat was so difficult to adjust in the rooms while we were there, but that was probably due to the fact that it was warm outside yet the heat was still on due to the fact that it was still early in March. The rooms, however, were lovely and the bathrooms absolutely tops.
I would happily return to this hotel again, and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: The airshaft rooms are very quiet, but they can be too warm. A room facing the street could be a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Set in the heart of the city, within walking distance to all the main attractions.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, helped us make the most of our few days away pointing out best places to visit and eat. Room was on the front of the hotel. Clean and nicely decorated. Towels changed daily. A little noisy with regards to the traffic in the mornings but hey you are in the centre of a city, what can you expect really?! Buffet breakfast is more than ample with a variety of fruit, pastries, continental and cooked full english. The roof top jacuzzis are great to. Nice to sit in the sunshine and relax after a busy day walking in the city. Towels for the jacuzzis are supplied in the gym.
As for Barcelona, it is fabulous. Highly recommend the 'bus touristic'. Red route round the south of the city, blue route the north. Takes you to all the attractions from the cathedral (well worth paying to go inside) to the cable car, olympic stadium, football ground, Las Ramblas etc etc.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is at the heart of Barcelona's center and very close to metro. The room was very convenient, spacious and nice decorated. The hotel staff were very helpful and polite. For sure it is a value for money option.

The only minus but not something important for me, is that breakfast should have bigger variety and that swimming pool on the top floor is small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinopap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Ticked most of the boxes: easy check in, clean and fully equipped room, excellent breakfast. Wifi disappointingly slow and not a lot of daylight in the hotel but that tends to be typical. Location is fine so a get base for exploring Barcelona.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived at this hotel early for check in as we had just come from Paris on the overnight train. Immediately upon entering we were greatly by a friendly man on reception and a friendly concierge. We were told our room was available which was great as we were in need of freshening up. The reception staff gave us some tips of good places to visit while we were in Barcelona and gave us a map pointing us in the right direction. Our room was enormous, with an extra bed for our 9yr old child and still plenty of space. It was just what we needed arriving in this great city. Would recommend the hotel for being close to the main shopping area Passieg de Gracia. We didn't eat in the hotel but has a couple of drinks each evening we were there. Service was very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel and a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I went to the Center because it was not surrounded by tourist noise, in a modern soundproofed building, near a lot of Gaudi buildings, just off Ramblas de Cataluna, Passiag de Garcia (good for the Airport train). It was excellent, with friendly staff, good rooms + toilets; lots of space, the roof is awsome and good to chill out in. The hotel is near lots of resturaunts and cafes (for breakfast) and the Cervicia de Catalanya is the tapas and drink place never to be missed in Barcelona; superb. The train from the Diagonal takes you to stops for Parc Guell and the hotel is a nice walk to Sagrada Família. Great base

Room Tip: Ask for higher with a front open view = worked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#75 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#136 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#110 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Center Hotel

Property: Barcelona Center Hotel
Address: Calle Balmes, 103-105 | Esquina Mallorca, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#149 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelona Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Center
Barcelona Center Hotel Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing