We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing & small”
Review of Be Ramblas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Be Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #392 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointing & small”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Not a good start when we arrived - no twin rooms so ended up with a friend in a small double bed in a tiny room. No en-suite which also thought we had booked. The bathroom was small on our floor and you could EVERYTHING that was said (or done) in the room next door to it - clearly need some soundproofing in there! Rooms were basic, not at all cosey in any way.
Would not stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazandbabs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    84
    25
    17
See reviews for
16
101
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed in a single room in this hostel and was overall very pleased with it.
My room was well equipped and clean, option of having it cleaned every day. The bathrooms and kitchen were fine, the whole hostel was very clean.
Staff were helpful and friendly.
I didn't have the free breakfast but it looked very good considering it was free - the free coffee was PROPER coffee from a coffee machine!! :D
Kitchen was quite basic, just a hob, microwave and grill, but perfect for basic cooking, there was a big fridge/freezer to store food in.
I was nervous arriving, having read other reviews referring to the 'dodgy street' next to the hostel. It IS next to a dodgy area, but as long as you turn left out of the door, by the time you get to Las Ramblas (at the end of the street), it's fine. Having said that I was travelling on my own so I made sure to be back before dark, as I didn't want to walk down this street alone after dark. This was my only fault with the hostel really, the location, which didn't feel very safe, but there was 24hour reception and swipe access to get in the main doors so it was very secure.
I had no problems with noise, the hostel was very quiet, it was not really a place to meet other travellers as people staying there didn't really talk to each other but this was fine for me as I wasn't there to meet other people but to see the city!

Room Tip: The single is very good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imolimolimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in a double private room with shared bathroom (only one shower and one toilet for the whole floor - at least 6 rooms!!!). TV, Air conditioner, daily room service with new towels. Breakfast is included but very simple. Very good location, walking distance to Las Ramblas is only 5 minutes. Staff was always friendly, reception was open 24 hours.
Guided walking tours are free and absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

To start with the good stuff, this HOSTEL is very convinently located in the center, at walking distance of the Ramblas street and not far away (bus or subway) from the beach and Casino. The staff speak English and were helpfull and friendly.
The street is not that noisy compared to other areas nearby and also the isolation in the rooms is quite good (protecting from outside noise) but someboy forgot to take care of the internal noise... There is a lot of noise coming from the corridor, mostly from the maids and afer a night of party it is not fun. Ladies, if you are coming with heavy luggage make sure there are some guys around to help you lift it up since the elevator starts from the first floor and not from the ground floor (reception). The elevator is the smallest and slowest one I've ever encountered (rather take the stairs when possible). The single room which I had to take was so tiny that I could barely make a 360 deg turn (im exaggerating a bit but it was extremely tiny). This was a single room with a very small sink and outside the room was a shared bathroom (there were no other rooms left :-) ) which was pretty clean. Price was not cheap, 50Euros per night. My friends managed to book a room for 3 with a private bathroom and they also paid around 50 Euros PP, making it a 150Euro rooom.

Room Tip: its probably a bit more quiet at the edges of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a private room with shared bathroom. Pleasantly surprised to find aircon and a TV! Very clean (rooms are serviced daily!). Absolutely fantastic location one street off La Rambla. Breakfast provided, but very basic, but if on a tight budget it was more than adequate. For the price we paid and the location you couldnt ask for more in Barcelona.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank linsey_finlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July - in a private room which could sleep 3 people.
The room had a private bathroom which was cleaned daily by staff. Towels were replenished daily.
Overall the hostel was fantastic and right in the heart of La Ramblas - literally just off La Ramblas toward Port Vell.
The staff at the hostel were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was secure & the front entry doors to the building would only open when a staff member let us in, meaning that only guests had access to the building. No visitors were allowed to visit the hostel after 11pm which was reassuring considering we were very conscious of pick pocketers and thieves in the area. We didn't have any issues with theft in the hostel which was fantastic, considering the hostel was fully booked the entire time we were there.
Hostel had free unlimited wifi which was fantastic and you could connect as many devices as you liked.
I would definitely recommend this hostel & the location was amazing for anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Barcelona, just a short walk to Plaza Catalonia, Port Vell Marina & other sightseeing points in the area.

Room Tip: The hostel offered different kinds of rooms - if you can afford a private room I would recommend one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hostel is over priced it should be about 40 euro for two people - not 80 euro per night. Arrived & opened room door to an overwhelming hospital grade bleach smell. That is ok if it is a sign of cleanliness but it was not. Immediately noticed hair on pillow which makes me wonder how often the sheets are changed. The smell was overpowering & stayed all night & caused bad headache. Staff did not care or offer any solution. Man at front desk checked room smell & agreed it was bad. We checked back later to see what he could do & he said he was changing over with another staff in a couple of hours so to check back with them. Handball the issue with no help at all. Bathroom tiny & sheets unclean. Partner had bed bug bite. You will also need earplugs but ok if u go out all night. Do not stay here. You can find the same quality for much cheaper price in similar location -or spend another 20 euro and get a world of difference elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 512 in Barcelona
160 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Bia
Hostal Bia
#480 of 512 in Barcelona
180 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#190 of 512 in Barcelona
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Sans
#344 of 512 in Barcelona
411 reviews
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#387 of 512 in Barcelona
185 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#204 of 512 in Barcelona
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Ramblas Hotel

Property: Be Ramblas Hotel
Address: Calle Nou de la Rambla 50, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Ramblas Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Budget Hotel right in the center of Barcelona: Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona Welcome to the first and original of the Be Hostels family, Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona, your best choice for a budget hotel right in the Barcelona city center. Enjoy a calm and pleasant stay in a place adaptable to all kinds of travelers, with a wide range of room options to suit your demand. Take advantage of it’s convenient location around the corner from Liceu and Ramblas, as well as neighboring Plaza Real with all that it’s got in store for you. And, if you are willing, follow us on a free walking tour so you can become acquainted around town. Surprise yourself with all the services you can count on while staying with us; guest’s kitchen, wi-fi inside the room, and all kinds of tours and activities. Enjoy Barcelona with us at Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona, our cheap budget hotel in Barcelona city center. Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona is located: 1 minutes from La Rambla 1 minutes from Palau Guell (Gaudi Building) 5 minutes from The Metro Station Liceu 5 minutes from the Port 5 minutes from La Boqueria (main produce market) 5 minutes from Theater El Liceu 3 minutes from Plaza Real 15 minutes from Plaza Cataluna 10 minutes from MACBA (Contemporary Art Museum of Barcelona) Inside the historic district of Barcelona Inside the shopping and cultural area All the great free facilities you can find at Be Ramblas Hotel to enjoy your stay in Barcelona! Free Walking Tour Free Internet access at the computers Free Common Wi-fi Free In-Room Wi-fi Free Barcelona maps Guest Kitchen available Reception open 24 hours Beautiful and comfortable common room Air conditioning and Heating Activities like: Pub crawls, tapas and flamenco International & helpful staff Luggage storage lockers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Be Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramblas Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Be Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing