We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Be Ramblas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Be Ramblas Hotel
Ranked #395 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Rooms fine, well appointed, but walls in this hostel are paper thin. Combined with the noise from the lively lane aside the hostel this is not the place for a quite stay. but if you want to party on, crash and do it all again..it's the place for you. NO real common areas but who cares in this location you would be out anyway. Laneway at side of hostel is quite dodgy, but security in hotel is 100%. Staff friendly, and hostel very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrokeAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Be Ramblas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

Private Rooms: TINY. Not enough space to move around. Very clean, however, with nice beds. A bathroom big enough, spotlessly clean!

Staff: helpful and kind!

Location: Great! A plus indeed! Only two blocks away from Las Ramblas.

Breakfast: just ok.

Common kitchen: very good. With all the necessary stuff. The PCs are there too!

Lockers: to leave your luggage is you are travelling somewhere else. It was 2 euros per day for a big suitcase (January 2011).

It suited our needs. However, I didn’t book this hostel again six months later when I was back in Barcelona because of the room size.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Be Ramblas is definitly a Hostel and not a Hotel. Being a Hostel is a good one comparing to some horrible hostels that you can find around Europe.

LOCATION
On the Hostel's street you can find mini supermarkets, ATMs, cheap souvenir shops, bars and the beautiful Palau Güell from Gaudí. The Hostel is well situated, literally less than 5 minutes walking to the famous Las Ramblas. From there you can easily go to Plaça Reial, Plaça de Catalunya, La Boqueria, Barri Gótic, Port Vell, Avinguda del Paral·lel, Rambla del Raval, etc. At night the street can be busy and loud because of the pubs but the Hostel's windows are double glass, so you can get a good night of sleep. There's excellent access to public transports: metro, buses, taxis.

BEDROOMS
The bedroom ensuite is small but doable. All bedrooms have balcony with excellent natural light, flat TV, air conditioning, free internet, linen and towels. The room was clean everyday. Towels and linen changed everyday too. Anyway, the towels and linen were not so clean because everyday we found some stains in it and little hairs in the sheets. We were really concerned about it. The bathroom has everything we needed and has a good shower. In our last day there, unfortunately, we found 3 small cockroaches running around the room, I don't know if we let the window open or if they were there before...anyways, is always disgusting!

BREAKFAST
Some people here liked the breakfast, some people don't. We didn't like in regards to the quantity and variety of it. Everyday we went for the breakfast room at 9.30am and almost everything were gone...almost nothing to eat and no variety. I am not asking for a fancy breakfast because I know that is a Hostel but 1 or 2 things can be added in it. The breakfast was not enough to achieve the classic expression 'good to go'...we had to stop in some places to eat something more to be able to start our long walks around the city.

LOCKERS
Be Ramblas has lockers where you can put your luggage after you do the check out. Our flight home was only at 6pm, so we put our luggage there - for 2€ - and we went for our final walk in Barcelona. Once you put your luggage there you cannot open the locker again unless you want to pay another 2€. So, be sure you put everything you want in there until you open it to grab your belongings and go.

STAFF
Staff is polite and helpful. We had a little problem with the TV, we went to the reception and they quickly fixed the problem. The moment you arrive to do the check-in, a staff member of the reception will charge you the room. Be ready to pay in cash!

Some more info:
- The elevator starts on the first floor, so you have to go up the stairs with your luggage.
- Every time you leave the hostel you have to give your room key in the reception.
- A bit expensive for a Hostel but perfectly located to explore the city.

Maybe in that area there are better hostels with better prices and conditions. Is a matter of looking for those hostels and compare them. But I have to say, even with those flaws I mencioned, Be Ramblas is not an awful hostel...is just doable. With some improvements I am sure that it will be like an average Hotel and not just a Hostel. By the way, you must go to Méson David to have dinner. The restaurant is from the Be Hostels Group. We went there and it was a great spanish experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Room was great, small but doable. Sink in room was very helpful. Breaky was good. Great easy location.
Staff help was interesting. Advertised tapas tours with wrong meeting point and still posters up when we left, so we missed out, luckily there 2 more nights! also not your usual overly helpful tips that u get at a hostel about sites etc. Walking tour didn't arrive and taff not particularly helpful. Nice enough though. Travel bar has otter tours so just make sure to look around and not take their only ones as guy wouldn't suggest others to us which is wrong I think. Good actual hostel though

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovinItAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This hostel is in a great location near the La Rambla and only a short stroll from many attractions and the Metro for more further afield sightseeing. Our room was clean and well presented. Breakfast was included and was sufficient to fuel you for a day of exploring the city. Our only gripe was that there was a surcharge of 8% on the bill if you paid by card (either debit or credit). This wasn't mentioned on the website anywhere. Since we had come straight from the airport with our luggage, going looking for a cash machine wasn't an option, so we were charged the 8%. The wireless Internet also went out for the last 2 days of our stay, which was inconvenient as we needed to book accommodation for the next leg of our journey. Otherwise, our stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendanandmerrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is a really lovely place to stay. Booked it on a Hostel site so expected it to be just a bog-standard room, I was pleasantly surprised. Clean towels and bedding every day. Room and shared bathroom cleaned every day. Breakfasts where a basic "DIY" job, provided with bread, cheese, jam in the mornings. Pretty strict with when they cleaned it all up, but always managed to make it despite my love for a lie in. Location was not as close to Las Ramblas as expected, a little way up a side street, but very close indeed. Loved the Gothic Quarter most of all. And Gaudi's Palace created for Guell should be open now... it is on the same street as this place! Walls were a little on the thin side, but we weren't really in the room in the evening anyway so it wasn't a big issue. The free walking tours are a must do, really gives you your bearings! Overall a really great place to stay to explore this beautiful city on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeachLAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were there during Easter weekend, the location is great, close to everything, rooms are clean, staff are helpful, kitchen is very basic, breakfast is a bit disappointing. And the sound proof is really bad, we had private room with bathroom, however, our bathroom is sharing a very thin wall with public shared bathroom, so basically it was a nightmare to us...
Overall, it is still a great bargain for that location !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKJANICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#378 of 513 in Barcelona
260 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#479 of 513 in Barcelona
544 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#422 of 513 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutat de Sant Adria Hotel
#389 of 513 in Barcelona
195 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Bia
Hostal Bia
#485 of 513 in Barcelona
189 reviews
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Ramblas Hotel

Address: Calle Nou de la Rambla 50, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $52 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Ramblas Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap Budget Hotel right in the center of Barcelona: Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona Welcome to the first and original of the Be Hostels family, Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona, your best choice for a budget hotel right in the Barcelona city center. Enjoy a calm and pleasant stay in a place adaptable to all kinds of travelers, with a wide range of room options to suit your demand. Take advantage of it’s convenient location around the corner from Liceu and Ramblas, as well as neighboring Plaza Real with all that it’s got in store for you. And, if you are willing, follow us on a free walking tour so you can become acquainted around town. Surprise yourself with all the services you can count on while staying with us; guest’s kitchen, wi-fi inside the room, and all kinds of tours and activities. Enjoy Barcelona with us at Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona, our cheap budget hotel in Barcelona city center. Be Ramblas Budget Hotel Barcelona is located: 1 minutes from La Rambla 1 minutes from Palau Guell (Gaudi Building) 5 minutes from The Metro Station Liceu 5 minutes from the Port 5 minutes from La Boqueria (main produce market) 5 minutes from Theater El Liceu 3 minutes from Plaza Real 15 minutes from Plaza Cataluna 10 minutes from MACBA (Contemporary Art Museum of Barcelona) Inside the historic district of Barcelona Inside the shopping and cultural area All the great free facilities you can find at Be Ramblas Hotel to enjoy your stay in Barcelona! Free Walking Tour Free Internet access at the computers Free Common Wi-fi Free In-Room Wi-fi Free Barcelona maps Guest Kitchen available Reception open 24 hours Beautiful and comfortable common room Air conditioning and Heating Activities like: Pub crawls, tapas and flamenco International & helpful staff Luggage storage lockers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Be Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramblas Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Be Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing