We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad way to end our wonderful holiday in Spain”
Review of Hostal Abrevadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Abrevadero
Ranked #126 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We only stayed for a night before flying out of Barcelona. We took the overnight train from Madrid in to Barcelona and arrived quite early at the hostal. We understood and had no problems with the 2pm check in. We decided to leave our luggage at the hostal and do some shopping while waiting to check in. We were then informed that we had to pay 2 Euros to leave our bags in a locker. 2 Euros isn't a big deal but we travelled to a few places during our time in Spain and no hostals had ever charged us to keep our bags for a few hours. But fine, we needed it done and we weren't in a mood to argue. Later during the check in, we asked and found out that wifi isn't free. Chargeable at 2 Euros and signal available only in the reception. We enquired if they had a safe where we could keep some valuables and were promptly told that there was a fee for it as well. Ok so everything is chargeable. Not really the best way to attract customers in a really competitive market these days.

Anyway, we got to the room and realised there was no airconditioning in the room. Even though it was almost the end of summer but the temperature outside was 34degree C and the room had two tiny tiny windows which opened to a wall. They did provide a fan but it was really inadequate. The room was stuffy and the fan had a short electric chord which meant that friend sleeping on the bed away from the fan couldn't really get the wind. And fan was quite loud when we set it to the highest so beware those who can't sleep with sound.

The toilet was huge but the poor design of the shower made huge areas of the toilet wet after showering and there wasn't a mat to dry our feet coming out of the toilet. They don't have any hooks for you to hang your clothes. No shelf to put your toiletries. But yet they had support handrails by the toiletbowl for the elderly/handicap. And a seat for the elderly/handicap at the shower. It seriously doesn't make any sense to me.

Also on the day we were to check out, we came back to the room after a morning of rushing around doing last minute shopping to find that somone had entered our room. I knew because I had specifically closed the tiny windows in the room and they were open when we entered our room. And that's when I noticed the bath towels provided by the hostal were missing, presumably taken by the cleaning staff. What if we had wanted to shower before checking out? Really what was the rush to get our towels before we even checked out? *shake head.

The only redeeming feature of this place is that it's really close to the metro.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniehou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights. I was full of trepidation having read bad reviews about the area, grumpy staff and unpleasant rooms. Was greatly relieved when the man on reception was kind and welcoming! Not all that surprised to find that the room we were allocated didn't have any windows - correction, there were actually two windows, one in the main room and one in the bathroom, but they opened onto a light well in the centre of the building which served only to admit stale warm air and not much by way of light. Still, the bathroom and the room were pretty clean - one or two glitches during the stay with some bedlinen that was rather grubby despite having been washed and, on night 2, some small scuttling insects that I decided to ignore for my own peace of mind - never saw them again. No air con and when we visited Barcelona was scorching hot. They provided a fan which we had to keep running all night. Walls were thin but noise from neighbours not unbearable. Bathroom clean, modern and functional. Neighbourhood a bit intimidating. We stayed for the 5 nights we had booked, because overall it didn't matter much to us that we were sleeping in a box - we were exhausted anyway. Next time I'd book somewhere nicer, where we could retreat to for a siesta - I think it would have improved our holiday if we had paid more for something better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank janelongnumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed for 7 nights with my spouse and our daughter(young adult). We were a bit hesitant and unsure of how things may turn out to be. But it was a pleasant surprise! This hostal is definitely ahead of other similar places of tourist residences and hostals in this great city. The external facade portrayed a peaceful and secure environment and the reception areas proved that aptly. We had a triple room - it was very spacious, with its own large,very clean and well maintained bathroom. There was also a private balcony. The famed La Rambla and several other popular tourist destinations are all within easy walking distances. Internet access, both wired (for folks without their laptops) and through WLAN was fast and always available.
We were very satisfied with the cleanliness and daily room services. The staff were very courteous. All in all, a very positive experience - at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Positive:
Clean
Nice hotel-staff
Near city

Negative:
Should be refurbished
The staff is not very good at English
Thin walls, hear everything that is going on in the rooms nearby..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathrine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights for the F1, does excactly what it says on the tin! Room was simple, twin beds, 3 chairs, big wardrobe, plenty of extra blankets, nice big "door" windows, shower room and flat screen TV.
Can be noisy at night, shut the window and it is fine! Looks in a dodgy area, but we had no problems at all. Metro is 2 minutes walk and travel cards are VERY easy for getting around! 10 mins walk to the Ramblas.
Staff were very helpful, and spoke great English too. If you want a clean room, shower and somewhere to sleep then this is brill. :D

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyroxie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

As a mature lady travelling alone I initially felt it was a bit of a rough area when I saw the strip clubs, but I decided to call it Soho/ Theatreland. I soon discovered that Barcelona has very clearly defined social areas that can change in just a few yards, and I got used to it. The hostal was very well placed for the city's excellent transport system and the lovely waterfront / Montjuic area. I am not going to complain about value as this is a hostel and I got a deal and Barcelona can be pricey for single occupancy. However, the room was clean but tatty with patched up walls, and rust along the edge of the bath. The facilities list advertised toiletries provided, this was just a soap dispenser on the wall and nothing like the cute picture on one website. It was very noisy in the street below which is understandable for Spanish lifestyle, but other residents coming in at 3 or 4am was standard, and the dustcarts started at 5.30.
All the reception staff were friendly and smiley, and I felt safe here. I did not require any assistance but it would have been there had I needed it.There was a supermarket and lots of snack bars nearly, with locals not tourists. All in all it was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellercm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Very easy to find on Paral-lel and right by the subway station of the same name. Easy check-in (and leave room keys at reception whenever you go out). Small lift. Building is tall and narrow. Free Wifi, but signal only really covers reception (I could get a signal in my room - sometimes - by opening the window and putting the laptop on the windowsill). Storage lockers available for your last day after checkout - large, and 2 Euros a day (they're in a back room, ask at reception). Place does breakfasts, but didn't use them - this area of the city is absolutely packed with bars/restaurants/cafes/small-shops - must especially recommend the Chinese buffet, just round the corner on Carrer Nou de la Rambla.

Now the rooms, and bathrooms - they ain't great. Mine was 4th floor at the front (404), 2 very narrow single beds, cheapest possible furniture in the rooms, bare tiled floors (mine very chipped and damaged - but probably a comfort in high summer), and the en-suite bathroom had been fitted out extremely amateurishly. Bath enamel was very chipped, with a couple of big scabs of rust on it. Poor design meant shower leaked floods onto the (tiled) floor every day. Towels very thin indeed. My room also smelt a bit - I think this was because the floors are mopped over everyday (and the cleaners did do a very thorough job every day) - but bits of mop-water are getting into the very cracked tiles and sitting there to leave a not-so-great smell. Not awful, but not great.

This is also a pretty noisy area at night (any night), mostly due to the clubs and street-life. Doesn't bother me - might bother others.

However - overall - this hotel was excellent value. We stayed all week for the Mobile World Congress, and all the hotels are packed, and charging premium rates - 50 Euro a night for such a great location is a true bargain. The staff were all perfectly ok and helpful. It's a pity that the hotel doesn't have the rooms refitted to a good basic standard (rather than the comically bad workmanship) - it wouldn't cost them much, and would transform the place into an excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
#376 of 516 in Barcelona
282 reviews
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#382 of 516 in Barcelona
263 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Paral - lel
Hotel Paral - lel
#125 of 516 in Barcelona
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#105 of 308 in Barcelona
36 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hostal Orleans
Hostal Orleans
#27 of 308 in Barcelona
553 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Center Inn
Hostal Center Inn
#76 of 308 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Abrevadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abrevadero

Address: Calle Vila I Vila 79, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $33 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abrevadero 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is a simple and comfortable place, ideal for those who want to experience the heart of the city from a quiet setting. Hostal Abrevadero has all the comforts for you to feel right at home. Our philosophy is to offer the guest a good level of comfort with friendly service. We like to give our visitors personalized service, offering them everything they need, from 24-hour reception to ticket reservations for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Abrevadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Abrevadero Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Abrevadero Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing