We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location...No Frills!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of bcn Fashion House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
bcn Fashion House
Ranked #52 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location...No Frills!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 6 nights at the Fashion House. Here's what you need to know before booking your hotel stay:

The Good: The location is unbeatable. Its mere steps from the metro which will take you anywhere in Barcelona. It's also walking distance from the Rambla and there are lots of great bars and restaurants in the vicinity. You can get to the hotel from the airport for about 5 euro. The staff is fantastic. They are friendly and are great at helping you find things to do, places to go and giving some nice recommendations. The bed and bathrooms are very clean and well maintained. The continental breakfast served at the hotel is substantial and at 6 euro, the price is a steal! There’s a beautiful courtyard that is perfect for enjoying breakfast in the morning.

The Bad: The rooms can definitely be a little loud. The entire hotel is hard wood floors so the sound of luggage, high heel shoes, doors opening/closing, etc., can all be heard. I stayed in this hotel in the off season – there weren’t very many people at the hotel while I was there. I imagine in the summer when the hotel is bustling with tourists, the sound of the hotel would be a bit more intrusive. The rooms are also a little small – some are larger than others. For me, this really wasn’t very much of an inconvenience. With the hardwood floors, the rooms can also be very cold in the winter. They do have heaters, however. The showers can be a little annoying. They are timed and the water shuts off every 30 seconds. You have to keep hitting a button to keep the water on. Annoying but not a deal breaker.

Overall, I really enjoyed the accommodations but it is no frills (no TVs, refrigerators, in-room safes, and most rooms have shared bathrooms). I went with my best friend and as two women, we felt very safe and comfortable with the accommodations and the location in the city. I would highly recommend for the traveler who cares more about the location than the perks of the facility. This hotel has everything that matters: clean showers and beds, clean towels, nice, English speaking staff, great prices and a very hearty, affordable breakfast.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uscgal97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    103
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
73
123
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Liked the concept of the hostel: very clean, quiet and simple yet with all amenities and advice/help on hand if and when required. Awesome staff and location as well - 10-15min walk from Plaza Catalunya/Aerobus stop; with many train lines within walking distance.

Definitely would recommend and would stay there again if in Barcelona again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

The location is ideal (But was a little tricky to find the first night because the intersection just before it threw us off into the wrong direction).
Great security, so we felt very safe. (need 3 keys)
Nice size room with high ceilings and a sink. VERY comfortable, new beds.
The veranda was beautiful and large as well. We thought it was connected to our room from the description, but technically it is not. You just have to walk through the main room. No big deal. Everything was clean and I liked the ambiance. The staff was very helpful.
I will definitely return to Barcelona and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copalis Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The place is pretty bland inside, and sure looks crummy outside, but the location couldn't be better, and the staff tries hard to be helpful. I also think it's expensive for a place with the bathroom down the hall (I paid similar for a real hotel room a year earlier, somewhat close to here), but as I say, the location couldn't be better. Just 2 blocks from Placa Catalunya, 1 block from the metro and a Starbucks and El Cort department store (which has everything from cameras and clothing to food and Band-aids). City buses right at the front door (bad smell if you have a street room), a Gaudi house just around the corner, and the regional autobus estacion just 6 blocks away.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bruc have a view of the street, but it's not a pretty view, and the bus stop exhaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boba543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in these B&B three nights. The first night in one of the room in the main floor, looking at the internal garden with a shared bath and the remaining nights in the studio in third floor. Both rooms were nicely decorated, bright and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location of BCN is great, just few steps from Plaza de Catalunya, the Gotic Area, etc

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoniogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

My friend and I stayed at Fashion House for three nights in early September 2011. We loved it. From the friendly and helpful staff, to the very clean, bright and restful rooms, this place was a real gem. We shared a bathroom and this was absolutely fine. If you want a more private experience, then go with the private bathroom, but the shared bathroom was very clean and so close to the rooms, it didn't matter at all that it was shared. The room we had looked out over the street and had a balcony. We really didn't find it too noisy at all and the room was so spacious with wonderful high ceilings. The outside area is great, but we ventured out most of the time we were in Barcelona and didn't get a chance to try the breakfast...It did look nice though! Would definitely recommend this place to friends and family..Great location too!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annanurit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly staff and a clean room. All you need for a weekend stay in Barca. We were out all day in the city. It was nice to have the balcony / garden to chill for an hour or so. Breakfast was oke but we favoured the local shops for our morning breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsBreedveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hostal Girona
Hostal Girona
#48 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Blanc Guesthouse
#37 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Petit Hotel
#62 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal Balkonis
Hostal Balkonis
#39 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#17 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Colkida
Hostal Colkida
#26 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to bcn Fashion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about bcn Fashion House

Property: bcn Fashion House
Address: Carrer Bruc, 13, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — bcn Fashion House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion House is located in a fine 19th century building in the heart of Barcelona, a few steps away from the Paseo de Gracia and Plaça Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter.A careful renovation has added comfort and functionality to the ample spaces, keeping the atmosphere and enchantment of that period.The rooms are spacious and comfortable all equipped with heating and air conditioning. In addition you can also enjoy the common spaces such as a beautiful 100 sq meters terrace/garden and the large living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your bcn Fashion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bcn Fashion House Hotel Barcelona
Bcn Fashion House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing