We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda
Ranked #306 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed March 10, 2014

(Stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012 but trip advisor won't let me select it). The hotel was clean, the staff were really helpful and knowledgable about the area. It also felt safe and was close to the main street. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Barcelona.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank elohtee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 701 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Booked through BA Holidays. Had read previous comments on TripAdvisor so expected a reasonable stay.
Arrived and was checked in in 5 minutes, friendly staff! Hotel is modern, very clean throughout. Room was a double, and may be a little small but was in excellent order throughout. It was also very quiet for a city centre hotel.
Breakfast included and I was surprised by the amount of choice on offer - (I did not need lunch on both days after their breakfast!).
Was given lots of advice on where to visit by the reception staff, who were very pleasant and friendly and helpful.
Location of this hotel is great, cost was very reasonable and I will definitely use again and recommend to others! (I did take a picture of the room, and deleted it in error!!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BTCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel was located within 10 minutes of La Rambla in a calm neighborhood with a few cozy cafés etc. 2 minute walk to the metro was also a big plus. Our room was decent, good view from the balcony. Most of the staff were however pretty rude for no reason.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirTasteAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights booked through BA Holidays and had a wonderful time.

The hotel is close to Universitat metro station and is a drop-off point for the Aerobus from the airport. Going back on the Aerobus it doesn't pickup here but it's only a 10 minute walk to Placa Del Catalunya so not too much of a problem.

Our room was small but well appointed with a kettle, tea & coffee, hairdryer, safe and minibar which was handy for keeping the beers bought in the local supermarket! The bed was quite hard but with comfy pillows and the temperature was good throughout our stay.

As has been mentioned in other reviews the soundproofing isn't the best and we could hear our neighbours walking about (with very clompy feet!) Thankfully they didn't start too early or finish late.

We didn't get offered breakfast and so found our own closeby - the Fabrica Moritz restaurant about three doors down did amazing breakfasts which we enjoyed trying to order (they have a few well thumbed English menus). We ate there one evening too - it's an old brewery and has a bakery and wine bar within. The food was excellent!

We were able to check in early and left our bags at the hotel on the last day. The receptionist was always cheerful and it was reassuring to be buzzed in to the hotel in the evening.

Overall this is a well placed hotel just off the well beaten tourist areas with a good variety of places to eat and drink closeby. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location, close to all you need. Reception really helpful. About 20 minutes taxi from airport. Room was small, basic but clean and comfortable. Free wifi and use of computer in reception area. would not bother with breakfast for 9 euro's as you can get a better deal out in one of the many local cafe/bars. If you are visiting for the first time i would recommend getting the hop on hop off bus to get to know your way around and use it to go back to places you want to see.

Room Tip: Room on the back was away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I agree with others on here that the location is great but this review relates to the hotel. Had a three night stay here. Our first night we were given a tiny room (412), the small window overlooked the internal atrium of the hotel and the double bed was up against the wall thus meaning access was from 1 side only. There were no tea and coffee facilities despite the hotels website stating there would be. I complained and was told the hotel was full and to check with reception in the morning. When I spoke to the morning receptionist she was clearly annoyed that her colleague had left her to deal with it.

I was again told that the hotel was full but I insisted we were given a room with the correct facilities. We had to pack our suitcases and leave them at reception for the day to allow them to find us another room. Second room was better (510), we could at least access the bed from both sides!

There is no bar in the hotel and breakfast is served in the basement.

I would not recommend the hotel and would suggest no traveller accepts room 12 on any floor as they are tiny. (See the room plan photo)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Twiglet65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had a very good experience staying at the hotel.

The location was great - very close to the Ramblas and Metro stop (Universitat). Lots of handy local shops and amenities. We always felt totally comfortable and safe.

Room was clean, spacious, modern and comfortable. Only reason for not awarding 5 out of 5 was because there wasn't a mirror in the room and the air con didn't really work well to cool the room at night. Other than that (and those were only very minor things), we had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying on a budget.

It definitely helped make our brief stay in Barca very pleasant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjnoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat
Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ducat
#374 of 515 in Barcelona
600 reviews
Eixample
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
#283 of 515 in Barcelona
591 reviews
Eixample
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Rosellon
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Rosellon
#278 of 515 in Barcelona
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Sunotel Central
Sunotel Central
#335 of 515 in Barcelona
790 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta BCN 40
Hotel Acta BCN 40
#195 of 515 in Barcelona
794 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#275 of 515 in Barcelona
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda

Address: Ronda Sant Antoni 49, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $58 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luminous and design Bcn Urban Hotels Gran Ronda welcomes you to a comfortable hotel in the centre of Barcelona. Let yourself be conquered by its spacious areas, its complete rooms with free wifi and its services specially designed for you. The Urban Gran Ronda Bcn is a hotel near the MACBA, the Museum of Contemporary Art of Barcelona, specially designed for business trips. This hotel is a clear cultural reference, with good communications and located close at hand from the main tours attractions of the city, like the Gothic neighbourhood, Ramblas, Gracia, Plaza España square and Barceloan Exhibition Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Gran Ronda Hotel
Apsis Gran Ronda Barcelona
Gran Ronda
BCN Urban Hotels Gran Ronda Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing