We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel for the poor”
Review of Pension Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Miami
Ranked #557 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed March 21, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ryszard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 333 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

This place was by far the cheapest, and we feared the worst, but all in all it was a good place. The rooms were quite nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Alessandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Me and my friend made a last minute booking, costing only £15 for the night. So went there expecting not much. The rooms are very basic and small but if your only staying here for somewhere to sleep then this is perfect. The staff are very helpful and it is always locked and you have to buzz to get the staff to let you in so very secure. there

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleyb3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

For the money that it cost for two nights, I had really low expectations for my stay. But - the service is excellent, the staff is really nice and they will help you with anything you wonder about. There is actually room service every day (if you leave your key at the recepion during business hours). I had a room on the top floor + there was a bathroom between the bedrooms, perhaps that is why I didn't hear much of the noise between rooms that everyone else is talking about.

I did not like the shower, it was merely a stream running down from the roof, which made me spill everywhere. There was supposed to be color tv, but it was only black&white in this room. Still, it had a lot of channels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kamilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Booked to stay here in September, our Ryanair Flights were delayed on the night of arrival, so we didn't arrive until the day after we were due to arrive (annoying in itself!). But when we arrived, we were told that we had been charged 70 euros late fee and if we wanted to stay there we would have to pay double the fees advertised!

We politely asked the woman at the counter if we could talk to the manager/owner but she assured us that he was not contactable. Unbelievable.

We went elsewhere, having been charged 70 euros to my card, without my consent...

Disgusted with the service, spoke to a police officer in Barcelona about the issue and she said this wasn't the norm, but she couldn't help us

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenB295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We were nervous booking this hostel after the bad reviews, but decided to give it a go anyway and i'm glad we did. It was a very clean hostel, housekeeping came daily to change the sheets and clean the bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent. Close to the Ramblas (the main pedestrian street) and a safe enough area to walk home even in the early hours of the morning. If you are used to 5 star hotels, go stay in one. But for the everday traveller and typical backpacker used to hostel accommodation, the Pension Miami is all that you could hope for considering the amazing cheap price. Light sleepers, use your brains and bring earplugs... this is a city after all. Keep in mind we visited in November so could be different in summer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#270 of 516 in Barcelona
757 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#171 of 736 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#68 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,601 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#118 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Miami

Address: Carrer Verge 16, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 736 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $32 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Miami 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Miami Hotel Barcelona
Pension Miami Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing