We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring noise cancelling headphones”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Bring noise cancelling headphones”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Olivia Plaza is a very nice, modern and stylish hotel that couldn't be more centrally located for tourism. It is right on the Placa de Catalunya where Las Ramblas starts, the tourist buses gather and the Aerobus from the airport drops you off. But being right on the Placa means you hear how popular and bustling this place is at all hours of the day and night if your room overlooks it. Interior rooms are MUCH quieter and highly recommended. The staff are very attentive and nice and the breakfast is pretty good. They have a nice enclosed but open to the air patio where breakfast is served.
We stayed in a standard, interior room the first night - quiet but very small (but highly functional). Good for one person but cramped for two. After that we upgraded to a suite. These are very luxurious (by European standards) featuring a jacuzzi tub large sitting room and full floor to ceiling views. That's the good and the bad. Doesn't matter how high a floor you are on as sound travels up through the placa.
If you want to be right in the thick of things, this is the place to stay. If you are looking for something less busy, go into Barri Gothic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    591
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
356
1,041
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Lovely hotel and pleasant staff. In a very convenient location - a stone throw away from Placa Catalunya, buses direct to and from airport, Information stand, cafes, shops. Rates rather high for a 4 stars hotel, paid AU$204 for a Sunday night and $248 for a Monday night (without breakfast) and apparently it was discounted! We stayed 4 nights at another 4 stars hotel at the end part of our 12 days trip to Spain and it was only AU$172 per night , it was just as lovely and comfortable, except 10 minutes further away from Placa Catalunya. Worth it to shop around for special deals.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonefishingPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

The Olivia Plaza combines the best of Barcelona. Right on the Plaza Cataluyna, in under 5 minutes, you can walk to Las Ramblas, fabulous shopping, excellent restaurants, the Blue Line sightseeing bus and the aero bus to the airport ( gorgeous, modern bus designed for airport shuttles. 5 Euros!). Yet, once inside the hotel, it is quiet and elegant. Our ultra modern rooms were lovely and comfortable. Our teenagers loved the atmosphere. The staff was most accommodating. They spoke excellent English, gave us all kinds of local insight and were most friendly. The breakfast is a little spendy so we ate at the amazing Mercado. Considering the high quality of the facility the prices are moderate. Our room for 2 people was 140 Euros. The big room for our teenagers, which slept 5 people, was 215 Euros. Very few local hotels offer this kind of room. We loved this hotel and will stay there when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavatera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

The hotel is in great location. We caught bus from the airport and only a short walk to the hotel. The hotel is located in the centre where you can visit plenty of restaurants.

The hotel is nice and cosy. But the rolling blind wasnt working hence we were woken up very early in the morning. The sewage system must be failing, as our room was okay on the first night but not for subsequent nights.

The lady down in the bar is very helpful. The concierge is great!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spottyladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Very impressed with everything about hotel. Fantastic location. Literally 2minutes from Aerobus stop on Pl. de Catalunya. Very friendly staff, fantastic room with lovely view over old town and towards the port. Shower/toilet quirky but very efficient use of space. Went out for breakfast as felt hotel too pricey + good excuse to go eat with the locals. Only negative was being told when we checked out that we had used something from the mini - bar when we hadn't. We did have a look, checked out the prices - laughed - v. small bottle red wine 8.95 euros! (This buys 1 litre sangria at La Fonda - recommended). Not nice getting that look which says I don't believe you but I'm going to let you off. Notwithstanding this we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

I spent a long weekend at the Olivia Plaza in February 2010.
Location - The first thing I have to say about it is that I don't think that there could be a better location to stay in Barcelona. It was perfectly situated on the Plaza de Catalunya. The Aerobus (from Barcelona airport) stops at the Plaza de Catalunya and there are also stops for the Bus Turistic (the sightseeing bus with three different routes that travels around Barcelona - would definately recommend!!!!!), as well as plenty of places to eat and drink.
Cleanliness - The cleanliness of the hotel was perfect, can't be faulted in any way.
Rooms - We had a room overlooking the atrium, there was outside noise from the atrium but not so much as to bother us at all. However, we had a window which overlooked the lifts and therefore had to keep the curtains closed all the time otherwise everybody could see straight in. The rooms were modern, flat screen television (although only Spanish channels), minibar, comfortable double bed. The bathroom area was spacious. Toilet cubicle very small though! Also, take care when having a shower because there is a two inch gap between the door and the floor and very easy to flood the room!
Service - The staff were brilliant! Reception staff helpful and attentive. One of the doormen, don't remember his name, was extremely helpful, always suggesting things for us to do and go and see and where there was free entry. Only negative thing I would say is that, sometimes we wanted to go back to the room for an hour in the afternoon to freshen up and relax and the room still hadn't been made up, sometimes not until after 3 or 4pm.
I would recommend this hotel, but perhaps request a room overlooking the Plaza de Catalunya.
With regard to Barcelona itself, the Bus Turistic was the perfect way to travel around the city and see the main sights. Also, if you get chance, there is a tram and funicular railway up to Tibidabo and we would definately recommend going up. The views were fantastic! Also, if you go on the Bus Turistic they give you a voucher book with offers for many attractions and food places.
We had a perfect trip to Barcelona!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincesaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

The hotel ticks almost all of the boxes... great location, good size room, and professional day time staff.

Location is right at the midpoint of major attractions. Most sights are either walkable or reachable via a short bus ride. The T-10 ticket was adequate over 4 days for 2 people. Airport bus was also a good value.

The room was a comfortable size, but privacy can be an issue. The shower and toilet walls were glass, and not sound proof. The room was generally clean... not immaculate but good enough.

The staff were night and day in quality. The night staff was flakey. We asked someone to move forward a dinner reservation... this person didn't call the restro until at least one hour later... by then we already ordered and were drinking our first glass of wine. This was despite us giving them the name and phone number of the restaurant. There was one day when the cleaner came in the mid-afternoon while we were in the room. When we left early in the evening, we asked for the room to be cleaned. Not only did it not happen, we were told that it was because we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. Not true. We were also given a horrible room initially when we checked in. The phone didn't work. There were shoeprints in the shower. The blinds wouldn't open. When we asked for a different room, the night staff at first said that the hotel was fully booked, but did relent eventually. The day staff was really good, from the front desk to the bellmen.

Internet was wacky. Couldn't get to non-Spainish websites. But we had no problems in Starbucks. No support from the hotel on internet problems.

It's a shame when a hotel falls short on multiple small service related issues. I would return, but this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CampaspeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#80 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing