We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, excellent location and very modern.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Spotless, excellent location and very modern.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for a belated anniversary. Only mentioned it when checking in. The hotel upgraded our room without knowing and the first night got a wonderful surprise in our room. Chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne with a lovely happy anniversary note. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The ensuite was very modern like the rest of the hotel. Location was perfect. Overlooking the square and a perfect view. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaDhesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    591
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
355
1,041
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had a fantastic stay mid December. The location of the hotel is perfect. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Even left a bottle of wine and some strawberries as it was my birthday. If I'm ever in Barcelona again, this will be the place I'll be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmmmmyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is lovely, beautiful and is characterized by an excellent location. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is limited but could be suitable for those who are in diet. Everything was fine however the noise of that busy street can't be solved for the first floor rooms. Anyhow Barcelona is a great city and Spanish people are so kind so nice and polite, I like them all.

Room Tip: Customers staying in the first floor rooms could be suffering from the street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hani-KSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel right next to Plaza Catalunya. 2 minute walk from the airport express bus. Metro stations are 2 minute walk away. Lovely coffee shop next door. Really close to Barcelona Cathedral. Staff were wonderful and the room was comfortable and had everything I needed - very modern. Loved it - highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Down
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed in July 2013 - as this seemed to be the most popular month it was more expensive than what I would normally pay, however it was worth it!

The location was excellent - only a few minutes walk from the main shopping district and La Ramba which made it really convenient for a weekend break. The room itself was clean, modern and bed very comfy. They also made excellent use of the space (try finding the shower when you go in!) I would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Jen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

When my friend and I checked-in at the hotel's standard room, we were quite surprised to find it small in size, with an awkwardly looking pillar in the middle of the room, while the separation of the toilet and the shower isn't ideal if you are sharing a room with a friend, as there is no privacy. However, after our feedback to the Front Office Manager, Martha, she was kind enough to upgrade us to a top floor, superior room. It was definitely better than our experience at the standard room. We had a great view of Plaza Catalunya, a door that provides privacy for the bathroom area, although the toilet and shower were still separated. But if you are open to contemporary style hotels and great location, then this is the hotel for you! In addition, service at the front desk was excellent, as the whole Front Office team was always hospitable, friendly and helpful. One of the Front Office staff even walked us to a nearby ticket kiosk when we wanted to buy the tickets to the Sagrada Familia. Martha, the Front Office Manager has certainly set a great example to her team. Stayed 4 nights and would choose the hotel again but would stay at the superior top floor room.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room or suite as a standard room is quite small and not comfy to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Olivia Plaza as a part of our honeymoon, and we really enjoyed it! It provided a GREAT base for sightseeing (right on Plaza Catalynya), and the staff was able to answer all of our questions. The room was comfortable and well appointed, and we really appreciated the extra gift for our honeymoon. The breakfast service was delicious as well!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#20 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing