We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have chosen another hotel”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The only reason I chose this hotel instead of Monte Carlos for my one night stat before the cruise on Oct 31 was it was right across the street from the airport shuttle bus stop. But when we checked in around noon time I was told my rooms were not ready. I had to wait till 3pm to check in. After a 12 hour flight it was head to sit in the lobby for 3 more hours.


Our room rate did not include breakfast. I booked on Expedia. I realized the hotel I should have chosen (7th rank on trip advisor) is only around corner on Las ram las .

Service at front desk was very slow and not as friendly compared with our hotel in Istanbul we left. The room was very poorly decorated with almost zero amenities. No coffee pot, not slippers, no tub. Only a very small shower . The window in my room opened to the high ceiling lobby which means we must have our shade down all the time.


The front desk did not want to give much tour advice and the taxi they hired for us to cruise port was a rip off. We paid 40 euro for the ride , but the front desk told us it was only around 20 euro.

Please go check the ranking on trip advisor before you book. We chose the number one ranking in Istanbul and we were extremely happy with our choice. However this time we were wrong. We should have chosen number 7th ranking instead of Olivia Plaza Hotel.

Do not recommend this hotel whatsoever.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director Comercial at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear Mydailycoffee,
From Olivia Plaza Hotel staff we would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused. Fortunately hotel was full during those days and we were unable to provide an early check-in. Also you have booked an standard room that are facing to the lobby, just for 15€ you could were upgraded to standard city view facing gothic quarter or plaza catalunya.
We would like to have the chance to change your experience at Olivia Plaza Hotel, I you plan to visit Barcelona again please contact us and we will do our best in order to give you the best experience.
Kind regards,

F. González

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed there after finishing a bike tour. Great hotel with modern facilities, a SUPER friendly staff and great location. Great breakfast also!! Staff lent us umbrellas on rainy day and also prepared a great breakfast for us when we had to catch an early flight. Would highly recommend!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is our favorite hotel in Europe. Perfect location, great staff, excellent value. We had a suite facing the plaza (I think room 606). Everything was excellent from the bed to the pull out sofa, to the a/c. Very clean and contemporary. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlk239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for just one night, end of oct. Was travelling alone and it was so easy to get to the hotel..as soon as you get out of the airport , i found buses waiting and in a few minutes i was on the way to plaza catalunya! The bus stops you just a few metres away from the hotel and no problems finding it!

The lobby area is quite small but nice and modern. Staff were great, and one could always find security bythe main door! Had a room on the 6 floor, modern,amazing views! Breakfast was quite good and unfortunatly late check out was not available in my case ( i understand this as i work in hotels)..only thing i didnt understand was..if i wanted to charge my mobile throughout the night, i had to leave my living room light on...its like if you turn off the lights, all the sockets in the area wnt work..so had to sleep with the living room light on to charge mobile( or maybe i was doing something wrong!).

Room Tip: Had a suite on the 6 floor, great views, big room, no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights here earlier this month. The location can not be beat: it's a 45-second walk from the Aerobus stop. I was greeted warmly by Daniel a reception and given the key to my room on the seventh floor. The room turned out to be a three-part suite with a picture window over Placa Catalunya.

The amenities were fantastic: nice linens, great toiletries. The sofa in the sitting room was comfy though there was no reason to sit there when I was smack in the middle of town.

The staff was beyond friendly and I will absolutely try to stay here the next time I'm in Barcelona.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent location where you can reach everything very easily. Very friendly staff. Great General Manager! Spacious rooms. Excellent service. Very delicious breakfast. My family and I have enjoyed a very comfortable stay in the hotel while we were vacationing in Barcelona.

Faisal from Kuwait

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faisal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The good: wonderful location, excellent view (city side), beautiful property.

The bad: horribly inadequate heating and cooling controls, poor lighting, dirt in room corners, lots of street and construction noise.

Room Tip: Your choice: view or sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#73 of 520 in Barcelona
697 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 520 in Barcelona
793 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#39 of 520 in Barcelona
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 520 in Barcelona
994 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 520 in Barcelona
2,408 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 520 in Barcelona
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $156 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing