We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent location where you can reach everything very easily. Very friendly staff. Great General Manager! Spacious rooms. Excellent service. Very delicious breakfast. My family and I have enjoyed a very comfortable stay in the hotel while we were vacationing in Barcelona.

Faisal from Kuwait

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Faisal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    592
    133
    29
    23
See reviews for
357
1,042
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The good: wonderful location, excellent view (city side), beautiful property.

The bad: horribly inadequate heating and cooling controls, poor lighting, dirt in room corners, lots of street and construction noise.

Room Tip: Your choice: view or sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Amazing location, lovely room, excellent view and very helpful staff.

We were very pleased to find just how central the Olivia Plaza was. We arrived 2 hours early and were checked straight in with an upgrade to a room with a view of the Plaza Cataluña, amazing! The room was clean (and kept that way throughout our stay), the bed was comfy and the shower was powerful. As mentioned in many other reviews, the set up of the rooms is slightly different, the almost open plan bathroom could be a little uncomfortable if staying with someone you don't know that well.

We did not pay for breakfast as it seemed a little expensive but it did look like a good spread whenever we passed it.

If you are looking for a central hotel, near the tourist bus, areobus, metro and La Rambla then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Broers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in plaza cataluna.the breakfast room is perfect,so is the breakfast itself.quality food and good variety! Some rooms don't have even a window so you have to ask not to get one of those.modern decoration nice and very friendly and helpful staff. Defenately reccomended.a very good four star hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marios k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Olivia Plaza for the last 2 nights of our 12 day vacation and wished we had another night there.

As others have said, the location really can't be beat for tourists. You are steps away from La Rambla, the Hop On/Hop Off bus stop and shopping. It is a bit touristy as Hard Rock Cafe is next door, but there were tourists everywhere.

We had excellent service from the front desk, the door men and the staff at breakfast. I must say the breakfast was quite impressive. By far the best we had for the entire trip and being able to sit outside in the quaint courtyard on a beautiful morning was wonderful.

Our room was quite nice. I liked the contemporary decor and the size. The bathroom is nice, if slightly different as the shower door slides open/closed for the shower and the toilet at the same time-as it is one door. The shower water does escape out into the toilet area a bit, but really not an issue-just different.

When we come back to Barcelona, we will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank coloradowahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is very styled, with red and black in the rooms. But it is not very comfortable, it's to designed, with a very small and open place to wash yourself at, for instance. The beds are ok, men nothing in the hotel is very friendly, even though you can sit outside and eat along a wall thats from the 15th century.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, right on the Plaza de Catalunya and steps away from la Rambla and a metro station. For a tourist, you really can't beat the location.
Unfortunately, I wasn't a tourist, I was there on business and was freakishly busy and trapped in the room, which was smallish by North American standards, but really quite decent for a central location in a large European city.
The shower and toilet arrangement, as described by other reviewers, isunique, with a sliding glass door that goes across both of these small rooms. Whatever... the shower was the rain type and was the highlight of the room. If you're really tall, you may have a problem fitting in the tiny toilet room, though.
My big problem with the room was that there is really nowhere to work comfortably. There is an overhanging shelf at the end of the bed that I used as my desk. Not conducive to getting work done in an efficient or comfortable manner. My room faced the inner atrium, and it could get quite noisy at times. No biggie--I didn't really sleep much anyway.
I ordered room service a couple of times, and it was prompt and delicious.
The staff were great. Everyone I dealt with spoke English well and were very friendly and accommodating.
If I was going back here as a tourist, I'd be happy to stay here again. If I was to return on another business trip, I would definitely look elsewhere, to save my back and neck the agony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#44 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#82 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Cubik
H10 Cubik
#21 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing