We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern refurbished hotel close to all the action of bustling Barcelona.”
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights last month.We had a room overlooking the Plaza, which was great. There was always so much activity, it was wonderful just to observe it all! There was no outside noise are room was surprisingly quiet. The hotel is @ the top of The Ramblas in a most convenient location. The hop on, hop off tourist bus is right outside. Don't worry about breakfast as there is a fab little cafe next door which opens early. Although tea & coffee making facilities in our room would have been a bonus. The Wifi was not so great in our room but worked fine in the reception. There was a lovely lady in reception, named Rebecca who was most friendly & helpful. We were very happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

First This hotel is situated right in the heart of La Rambles where all the action and shops are. The hotel is so neat and the workers are well trained to make their customers happy. Fine clean sheets on the beds, very clean bathrooms,clean elevators, nutritious breakfast, storage compartment for late check out. And to even make it more better, the airport shuttle stops a Minuit walk away from the hotel. I had a very nice experience with them and would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to go to Barcelona . The only thing is I did not see a gym nor a swimming pool.

Room Tip: I recommend you choose a room with a view and you'll not get bored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franca442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff that made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in. Although we were 5 min away from La Rambla, the restaurant (outside deck) in the hotel offered a peaceful setting to just relax with no noise from the outside world! The hotels within a couple of minute’s walk from the hop on/off buss. Room was small but comfortable and quiet, that is important after a couple of days in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJones74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I were in Barcelona last week and we stayed at the Hotel Olivia. We couldn't have picked a better hotel; the location is perfect, right in the middle of the city, close to everything. But most important, the hotel is modern and spotless, the staff is the best (thanks Rebecca for taking such good care of us) and we slept like babies. We asked for a room facing the terrace and I recommend it.
So without hesitation, go to this hotel, you will love it. We didn't have breakfast there, there is a cafe just outside, a good cappuccino and apple pastry was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked 4 view rooms. On arrival early ,we were told to wait as they were preparing excellent rooms for us. Upon arrival to our rooms , we discovered that we were given only 3 view rooms ; the fourth room was at the back. Unfortunately , the reception desk should have told us that there was no fourth view room available instead of letting us to discover this ourselves. On repeated requests , they agreed to give us the fourth view room next day.
House keeping service was not optimum. We had to call reception on two days for house keeping to come and fix the rooms.
Bathrooms have glass doors. There is lack of privacy. If your partner wants to use the bathroom at night , the light will disturb the other partner.
The only advantage of the hotel is location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodiii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Revenue Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Rodii S,
Many thanks for sharing your experience of your stay at Olivia Plaza Hotel in Tripadvisors Traveller community.
As we could see in our records you have booked 4 rooms doubles with view, those rooms could be overlooking Plaza Cataluña or Gothic Quarter, and we have done our best in order to provide the better rooms as requested. Our Superior rooms and Suites are the only ones that you have confirmed the views of Plaza Catalunya.
We alse been noticed that in your rooms you had the "Non Disturb" advise on the door, and with that advise our housekeeping service is not allowed to go in to your room to fix it. And as a design hotel our bathroom is in open plan basis, as you mention.
We hope to see you again in a near future and give us the chance to change your experience of staying at Olivia Plaza Hotel.
kind regards,

Francesc González
Revenue Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel right in the city centre within walking distance of many of the attractions and with all other modes of transport to other sites right outside in the square....city tour buses, metro, busses and taxi ranks.
The hotel staff are lovely and when we had a minor problem with our shower it was fixed quickly while we were out.
The room design is modern and making the most of the limited space but very comfortable and pleasant. When you are in the hotel it is a very lovely oasis of calm away from the busy city outside.
I would definitely book here again and I would be happy to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the rear on the 6th floor...I didn't mind not facing onto the plaza as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitKat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia P, Director de Recepción at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado KitKat68,
muchas gracias por haber elegido el Olivia Plaza para pasar unos días. Es gratificante recibir opiniones como las suyas ya que nuestra premisa es conseguir que nuestros clientes se encuentren cómodos.
Agradecemos que comparta su experiencia con la red de viajeros de Trip Advisor

Saludos cordiales
Dirección

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June and found it so easy to get from the airport to the Plaza Catalunya on the airport bus. Our room looked out over the Plaza with beautiful views of the fountains. So easy to get around in Barcelona with the open-top tour buses (which start off at the Plaza, just across the road from the hotel). Taxis were easy to use and great value. We were also told the Metro was very efficient, but didn't use it. The hotel is modern and stylishly decorated, all the staff were helpful and friendly, showing us how to find our way to different restaurants, etc. Comfortable bed, quiet room (although we were at the front). The only thing missing is a swimming pool, but as it's so easy to walk down La Rambla or hop on a bus to the marina area and walk along to the beach, we did just that. Highly recommend visiting the Sagrada Familia and going on the guided tour - it's amazing. Can't wait to return to Barcelona and see more of this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Loved our room overlooking the Plaza Catalunya and it was quiet at night. The electric blind shuts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#109 of 516 in Barcelona
2,284 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
958 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 516 in Barcelona
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#81 of 516 in Barcelona
678 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,348 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $129 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing