We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally funky!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #101 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Totally funky!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

First of all - I would definitely stay here again. The rooms are clean, very reasonable price, and a good location. Friendly, helpful reception staff. I loved the funky feel - it was a nice change from the narrow experience of what a hotel should be. Multiple colored lights in the hallway, reflected off plastic bead drapes around each room door. High ceilings, broad staircases, and dark wood floors. Also glassed in showers, at times unique furniture...but a lovely little leisure / coffee / tea spot for residents. Booze in the vending machine, and nice bar downstairs by reception. Some of the furniture ideas were straight from 1968, but it worked! It was refreshing to stay somewhere that wasn't afraid of being unique. Only downside was some street noise.

Room Tip: Might want to choose away from the street - it does get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Katie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    318
    59
    21
    11
See reviews for
59
474
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

is all about "....Yourself" the gym is a cute aside to the overall experience and promoted as "Love yourself" - although I haven´t used it due to wanting to spend all my time exploring this amazing Catalonian city.
The relaxation area "Help Yourself" serves free coffee that would rival and barissta and provides free bottled water and tea, making little rest stops easy and cost affective!
The room we had was fabulous, cosmic lighting and a glass shower in the middle of the floor for extra chic effecA "budget" hotel with a difference! The Chic and Basic hotel in El Born supassed all of my expectations - and my expectations are high! I took my boyfriend here as a suprise for his birthday and I cannot get over how conveniently located this hotel is, coupled with its quirky furnishings and spectacular service!
The hotelt. I requested a balcony and although I had not heard back from the hotel before our stay, my request had been met and although the little balcony looks over a residentual court-yard it made the experience that bit more special to be able to sit outside in the mornings and enjoy a good quality coffee and make use of the wifi in the hotel to plan the day ahead.
I know I am gushing but the location of this hotel is perfect for those wanting a relaxed and safe environment for their first trip to Barcelona. All the main attractions are close (within 20-30 minutes slow walking) and if you prefer transport - the metro station Jaume 1 is really near by along the main street.
Clean, Quiet, Cool and Chic. If you are young or old and not afraid of a bit of quirky charm I cannot recommend this brilliant hotel enough.
Thanks.
Han and Oli

Room Tip: Request a balcony on the 2nd floor. Make sure you get a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Han16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year and would definitely go back.

Great location, very clean, friendly staff and good value.

Bedroom was quite small but an adequate size, bathroom was lovely and well decorated.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinAndGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is exactly what its name says....chic and basic!
The extra large room we stayed in was just perfect and for the price we paid (approx 70e per night) it was fabulous value for money.

Its layout is unique and interesting - and works well

It is in a great location as you can walk to everywhere yet not be hassled by the noise of people partying

And the tapas bar below - is one of my old time favourites too hanging with the locals at lunch time (they just opened this 2nd one in Born a year ago)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaphamLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear ClaphamLocal

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&b Born Hotel, and to recommend our Hotel .
We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic .

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My partner and I Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights last September.
The hotel is very modern and quirky. We loved the quirkiness of our room but if you weren't very mobile or had mobility problems this room wouldn't be advisable as you did have to duck and squeeze yourself around a bit.
I liked the fact that you could get bottled water and coffee in the common areas on your floor. We didn't eat in this hotel so I can't comment on that.
The location of this hotel couldn't be any better. You can walk to many places within less than 10 mins. Lots of nice bars and restaurants all just around the corner.
All in all I think this hotel is a great place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Dale H
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born
Its great to hear that you had a good stay with us.
We have 4 different room sizes
1) Medium/small 2) Large Interior 3) Large 4) XtraLarge.
The medium rooms are our smallest ones, and the Large and Xlarge, do have a Little balcony, which is as well very nice specially in summer.

We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic Born.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located, in the heart of El Born - the place to be in Barcelona;)- rooms are comfortable, nice and original design, service and staff are really good, an excellent quality/ price. Amenities provided should be improved ( just a soap and a shower gel,mno shampoo?). I would definitely recommend this hotel for business trips or vacation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Aurelie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Aurelie C

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in chic&basic Born Hotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.
You are right we just have 2 amenities, the soap and the shower Gel which includes as well shampoo.
Bothe products a coming from Thinkcosmetik ,which is a Spanish company with a very high Quality. The shampoo/shower gel is made by honey and almonds.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great location near the Born market. Loved the concept for the rooms and common areas. Free wifi, free flow Nespresso. Super-friendly and helpful reception. Very cool ambience. Didn;t try the breakfast,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notts_travelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Notts_travelller
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.

I hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic, and maybe you will try our Breakfast buffet ( 9 Euros per person)and let us know what you think of it.


Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#49 of 512 in Barcelona
481 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#132 of 512 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#176 of 512 in Barcelona
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#41 of 512 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#203 of 512 in Barcelona
663 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#32 of 512 in Barcelona
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic&Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing