We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Comfortable but Lacking Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #106 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, Comfortable but Lacking Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location in El Born area is excellent and a block away from the Metro. There's a small tapas restaurant right next door that open from breakfast and dinner, but that's about it, which makes the area a bustling during the day but quiet at night. We couldn't believe that we're actually in the city of Barcelona!

We were welcomed and helped by Anna, thank you so much for your wonderful smile and help. Our room was just the right size, big comfortable bed and a nice little balcony facing the street.

But beware, the only amenities they're providing were a bar of soap and a liquid soap and a couple of chuppa chups. No shampoo, no conditioner, no shower cap, no facial tissue, no toothbrush nothing. So you better come prepared!

However the freeflow bottles of water, coffee and tea in the lounge area were greatly helpful and a nice gesture from the hotel. It was overall a wonderful stay in a beautiful city

Room Tip: The interior room was lacking a balcony and the only natural light come from the round openings in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Korof
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.

Thank you for the nice words for the staff of chic&basic.

I am sorry that my colleges didn’t advise you, we have some more amenities on the front desk (shower caps, toothbrushes, toothpaste, raiser, and ..) up on request.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in chic&basic Born,

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    311
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
459
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and were really glad that we choose this place. Easy to find, great location,walking distance to Rambla and metro station but nice and quiet. I liked Born district,it's full of little bars,restaurants and shop. The rooms are very small,but nice and stylish same like rest of the hotel. There is also small balcony. There is free tea,coffee and water 24/7 which was really nice and comfortable. Wifi was working without problems, no extra charge. The hotel also rent bikes, it was only 5euro for half day and great way to see Barcelona or(and) have a ride along the beaches. Once u feel comfortable with the traffic:).
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back for certain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustLoveToTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear JustLoveToTravel26

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&bHotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.If you decide to come back to Barcelona, let us know, and we will try to give you a biger room.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in chic&basic Born,
Best regards
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having stayed in Barcelona before I knew where I wanted to stay and stay away from! C&B Born was in the perfect area surrounded by nice bars and restaurants without the throngs of tourists everywhere and a gorgeous park on its doorstep! We got upgraded to the largest room which was a nice little perk, big bed, good shower, descent living space and balcony! The only negative is the smell of sewage in the area and in the mornings when the shower goes off but it fades, also the outside noise isn't great, we had a bottle bank outside our room and people really like to recycle in the early hours of the morning but that wasnt so bad! The service was great, really friendly, the common area was great with free water and coffee! All in all a perfect stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Omar M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad smell in your shower.
We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic Born
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great concept, extremely good value, astonishingly helpful and friendly staff (seriously, could have stayed in the lobby and chatted to them all day!) and Born is fantastic.

The hotel is in a stunning old building with a very grand staircase and a contemporary design. It's definitely got a bit of wow factor, is original and had some nice touches, though there were no windows in our room (round skylights instead) and, whilst the mood lighting was fun, you would probably not want to spend any time in the room other than to shower and sleep. Also the shower/bathroom is very stylish, but the glass pod design is quite intimate!

Basically if you're looking for a stylish and reasonably priced base from which to explore the city then this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhistlePunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear John N
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&b Born Hotel. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us . We are looking forward to welcome you again in chic&basic Born.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredensborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chic & Basic in Born has a super location - close to all the Barcelona sites and in Born where you can find all the restaurants and bars you want.

The staff was super friendly and helpfull.

The hotel itself though needs some fixing up - there was a very unpleasant musty/moldy smell both in the room and in the rest of the hotel.

The interior is 'interesting' but gets a little tiresome after a couple of days - but there is a good 'common room' with free coffee and cookies.

A really good place to stay - but the plumbing seems to need some work...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VildPingvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear VildPingvin
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well, for the nice words dedicated to the staff.

I am sorry to hear that you had a bad smell in your room. We will check it!
The smell in the corridors could come from the street side.
Our Neighbourhoods do have sometimes problems of this smell, special when the weather is changing. The city is doing a treatment, and we hope that this will help.

We hope we can welcome you again in chic&basic Born

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tromso
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel back in 2008 .. Loved the Hotel and el Born! The restaurant at the Hotel has great food and great service. The staff at the hotel was friendly and the rooms untraditional. A fun expirience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missgreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear missgreen2

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
We hope we can welcome once again in chic&basic Born.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was lucky to book this hotel just two days before the start of MWC - alternative vacant options at that time could be found either in 50+ kilometers from city center (in Granollers and other outskirts) or at a whopping 800 EUR per night (offer from nearby INDIGO boutique hotel). Given above mentioned situation, I was prepared for the worst - but Chic&basic turned out to be positively surprising. The first and foremost - it's interior design is really amazing (some would call it boutique or art hotel & charge extra 100-200 EUR for that). Would agree with previous reviewers, that some of interior/design solutions have lack of practicality (no space for storage of belongings, shower cabin in the middle of the room (looks great, but it's pain to see water, running on a wooden floors, due to some leaks in cabin's door) and so on, but, still, it was aesthetically amazing experience for me - would like to steal few design ideas for my own apartment. Another huuuge advantage of this hotel is it's staff - very friendly&caring, full of valuable advises - I believe, chain hotels got to learn a lot from those guys in terms of hospitality. Location is also great - there's numerous dining options around - you'd better ask for advice on reception, to pick a best one. And the last, but not the least - hotel's pricing policy - keeping in mind, that I've stayed here during Mobile World Congress madness, 100-something euros per night sounds very reasonable. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: You'd better go for a higher floor (3?). It seems to be more quiet there's a lounge with sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Alexeich

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born. I would like to thank you as well , for the nice words dedicated to the staff. Its great to hear that the recommendation from the front desk help you.
It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#128 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#31 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#191 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic&Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing