We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, fun hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #106 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky, fun hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It's quirky, spacious, grand but somehow intimate. The staff went above and beyondfor the guests, their service was one of the best I've had.
I loved the public areas, you can help yourself to amazing coffee, bottled water, and they even have a vending machine If you fancy a bottle or champagne or wine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear svahey
Thank you very much for the nice words dedicated to c&b Hotel and all the staff. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    311
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
459
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Quirky, clean, comfortable designer non-budget hotel in good position for old city. We paid c£110 per night for large room with balcony. Worth it. Friendly, helpful, English-speaking young staff. No restaurant but plenty of bars, cafes, restaurants (and the excellent Chocolate museum cafe) nearby. Free access to good range of coffees,teas and biscuits and internet in modernistic lounge. Good unobtrusive airconditioning in variably lit rooms. Comfortable, firm, double bed with good reading lights. Uncomplicated, efficient plumbing with integrated, visible, multi-lit shower (not for those shy of showering in view of room-mate).Small lift but rooms might be difficult for elderly and infirm given pooled lighting and internal steps. Only problem was an over-heavy, large window blind which jammed and remained unrepaired during our 3 night stay. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadwallada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Cadwallada
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.
I am sorry to hear that your window blind was broke, and that your staff didn’t not fixed in time. We will do our best that this is not happen again.
We hope we will welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the Chic & basic Born for four nights and was very satisfied with what they offered. Having a room with a balcony is a real bonus because the rooms are quite small. Being able to make a good strong coffee in the shared 'lounge' early in the morning without getting out of my pajamas was a real bonus for me. Close to everything good in Barcelona and the staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Grab a balcony if you can and the second floor rooms are close to the coffee machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Chic & Basic Born is a fantasy hotel in a fantastic setting. Step right off the busy alleyway/street of Calle de la Princessa and enter a miniscule lobby with a broad marble staircase leading to the next two floors. Accommodation is on the second floor (we found the lift on our second day). The rooms are mall but extremely well designed. Our room had a balcony onto C de la P and this was useful in the afternoons and evening. A design motif for the hotel is curtains of clear beads lit from the top by coloured lights. A curtain on the outside of each door with different colours for each room made the hallway an experience too. A common area on the second level provides a lounge and coffee and tea making. The location itself is excellent with C de la P being a direct line through the centre of Born, Barri Gotic and La Ribera to La Rambla. There is a great market within two blocks (Mercat de Santa Catarina) as well as the Picasso museum and the best tapas at La Xampanyet.
The staff at C&B were really helpful and unintrusive. We really enjoyed our stay and it really added to our experience of Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cristina d'Aro, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

If you're used to standard, run-of-the-mill hotels, then prepare for a few surprises. To start with: there is no real lobby; just a receptionist in a door at street level. You check in, and he/she indicates stairs and lift. Once upstairs, you'll find dark long corridors lit by curtains of light in front of every door. In your room you're faced with another floor-to-ceiling light curtain which furthermore changes colour if you wish. Glass shower makes you feel inside fishbowl.
Nothing wrong with the beds though, and pleasant first-floor lounge with free coffee, tea, water and small snacks (excellent quality tea!) as well as large photo books on Barcelona.
No bar or restaurant which in this case is a plus: there's hundreds of them in El Born: lively and pleasant in the late hours.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mardilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed three nights at the hotel in August 2012 and have been pleasantly surprised with the place. Placing in a modern design into an older building can go horribly wrong but the designers here have left many original architectural flourishes that add to the ambiance of the public spaces and rooms. Liked the mood lighting in the rooms and free standing shower and wash basin area. The first floor lounge and tea / coffee area was a nice touch and helps integrate you with the other guests (if you wish to). Lack of breakfast facilities could be a downside for some but there are plenty of options locally to step out and try. The room overlooked Princesa and although a busy street it never felt too noisy or hectic and it was nice to sit on the balcony and watch life pass by. In general I would advocate a stay to all to try and ideally suited for foodies as there are many top rated eateries nearby. May not go down so well with a more conservative crowd who a not keen on Philip Stark ultra-white and modern and preferred more luxuries. Staff were always helpful and pleasant and got a sense that the management were trying to inject a sense of fun into the business of looking after their guests, your pick this up in the comments on your key card and toiletries. Well done for not taking yourselves too seriously!

Room Tip: All are good size and could find a cat too big that could not be swung around one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Reasonably central, very convenient for the uber-trendy Born/Ribera part of town. 5 mins walk from Jaume 1 on metro.

Hotel itself very stylish. We were in room 10, overlooking Princesa. No street noise. Unlimited free coffees (good quality) and water is a nice touch. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hershamboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#53 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#128 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#178 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#31 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,213 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#191 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic&Basic Born Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing