We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #20 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, huge room size, and we had a great night sleep. Central to everything, the pool area and bar were great for a drink and we asked the front desk for a food tapas bar close by and the one that was recommended was amazing. Service was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ally990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

I chose this hotel because of the great reviews it had on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. After a small problem with the room they put us in we were upgraded to another room on the 6th floor with a bottle of cava thrown in.
The hotel is right in the middle of the Barrie Gothic area and very close to the cathedral square. The hop on tourist bus runs right passed the main entrance & the metro is only 500mts away.
There was some street noise in the evening, but no more than you would expect in the centre of a city.
The interior décor in the hotel is very dark, but plush because it is a boutique hotel. The cleanliness of the whole place is superb and beds are turned down in the evening and yummy chocolates left for your enjoyment. The bathroom towels are huge and soft with a choice of different Pillows for your comfort.
The rooftop pool area is smart and relaxing with a spectacular view across the rooftops to the sea.
We didn't have the breakfast, but there are plenty of pastry/coffee shops nearby.
Cuines Santa Caterina is a restaurant attached to the fruit/veg market, great atmosphere and food, full of local Spanish people.
Reception staff were so helpful & kind.
I would certainly stay in this hotel again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are on the higher floors. Blackout blinds are great for good sleep, but take some e...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I don't know where to start... What a great hotel! Great staff..... Great food, comfortable quite room... Very central to every thing.
It made my stay in Barcelona, a very pleasant experience .
I will definitely coming back to stay there again very soon

Room Tip: Higher floor, deluxe room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mghattas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Two things are excellent with Grand Hotel Central: location and service. The hotel is situated just a few meters from El Barri Gotic and all the staff is very helpfull, kind and pay attention to every detail. If possible, choose a room not facing Via Laietana because of road noise.

Room Tip: if it is possible, choose a room not in front of Via Laietana because of road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A decent hotel with some style. Good modern rooms that appear to have been recently renovated. A solid four star hotel. Very helpful staff on the front desk with good recommendations and directions.ask for an internal room as they are quieter than the rooms facing the street and there is a bit of road noise as it's a busy street. Well located to the old town so easy walking. Good breakfast and plentiful. Room terrace is very nice to sit by the pool late in the afternoon and eat tapas and drink beer but it tends to get closed some nights for private functions so beware of that. Gym was ok for a hotel gym.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went to Barcelona last year during August 2013, originally we booked a different hotel on Ramblas st but we ended up cancelling that and booking GRAND HOTEL CENTRAL. What can I say? I'm glad I changed hotel's because this hotel was amazing. Beautiful reception with helpful workers who directed us in the right direction when asking how to get to tourists sights.
Rooms were a nice size and very comfortable, roof top pool had a beautiful view of Barcelona and pool was very clean, it was a small area and always so busy but nice to relax when we had a few spare hours. Price for accommodation was also reasonable and I would go back if I have a the opportunity. Recommended for everyone :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We travelled to Barcelona for a long week end in June and stayed in the Grand Hotel Central. As far as location goes, I have to say that it was most excellent. We preferred to walk and found it easy to access and explore the different areas of El Barri Gotic, El Ravel, Dreta de l'Eixample and La Barceloneta. The Cathedral was literally a 2 minute walk away and its spirals could be seen from the rooftop pool terrace. The hotel had an awesome infinity pool and roof terrace with great views towards the coast. A bar service operated throughout the day offering drinks and snacks to hotel guests only and turned into a laid back but chique venue at night open to the public from 8 p.m. As other reviews have mentioned, the pool area does get very busy during the day, as is to be expected, so it is pot luck whether you will get a seat or sun lounger. You can feel a little bit like you are being watched by vultures waiting to pounce on your sun lounger but it was all in good spirit. We were on the top floor, as read that the lower floors could be noisy from the traffic and did not hear anything from the road side. However my critique over the hotel does lie with the room. Although the room was cleverly designed to maximise space and still create an open funky feel, the soundproofing from the corridors was inadequate in our room. I am not sure whether there was any extra traffic from people going to the pool bar, even though there is no need to access the top floor to get to the roof top but we found it very noisy at night with doors banging and people talking. They could do with at the very least putting some soft hinges on all the doors as these did slam shut if you were not careful, which most people were not. The other complaint, which I had read about and thought could not be such a big deal, were the beds. Despite requesting a double, the beds were 2 large singles pushed together and by design left a sizeable gap between them. Worse was if you tried to stretch out across the barrier, the beds actually moved apart like some divine intervention. Not comfortable and not very romantic. So despite rating the design, layout and size of the room as excellent, sleep quality was poor. The hotel had a large light and open planned restaurant where a self service breakfast was served and evening meals could be booked and a less formal smaller, funky bar/restaurant on the ground floor. The cocktails were amazing and fresh!! Overall the hotel managed to create a very stylish city retreat in an incredibly beautiful, historic building. The corridors were a bit on the dark side adding to the atmosphere but would be very tricky for anyone with eye sight difficulties and me when I came inside from the sunshine! All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful with any requests and all facilities were spotless. We decided to do a walking tour of the La Ramblas and El Barri Gotic that we had spotted on the back of the complimentary maps provided by the hotel reception. We were a bit apprehensive as these can be expensive and uninformative but I have to say I would HIGHLY recommend this company. Our guide Laura gave us a passionate, informative tour of the area that focused on history, culture, political and traditional/local trade/restaurants/cafe's. It was GREAT. They provided headsets which enabled you to perfectly hear the commentary regardless of distance and the price excellent value at €15 each. Many other trips were on offer. This really is a great hotel in what has to be one of the best locations to explore an amazing city.

Room Tip: Higher floors due to traffic noise. Ask for double bed if they have, rather than 2 singles?
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank star_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,551 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#114 of 513 in Barcelona
6,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,825 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,335 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#36 of 513 in Barcelona
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $269 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing