We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Barcelona I miss you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
Ranked #30 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barcelona I miss you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was in Barcelona working for a week, and the hotel couldnt have been more centrally located, patient with constant business requests, meeting rooms, early morning breakfasts and late night food and drink needs. I will be back to relax and enjoy the pool deck and that fantastic city. Thanks for making our working time a pleasure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indulamiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    396
    87
    21
    18
See reviews for
374
870
81
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a special occasion. Hotel is in a very good location, staff were v,friendly and helpful. We paid for breakfast and this was excellent and really worth the money; everything you could want and more, good quality and choice, cooked, healthy and naughty choices.
We were able to walk to all the things we wanted to see, and getting taxis was easy.
But our room was just too small! We opted for a 5 window option. It was on 4th floor and wasn't a good view, backstreets and noisy all through the night. The bed was great, huge. Pillows a little soft. Tea and coffee plus complimentary fizz and water, nice touch.
Bathroom was great, and the BIGGEST towels I have ever had in a hotel !
One side of the bed was ok, but on the other side, the bed was almost up against the worktop/dressing table/TV table. The easy chair couldn't used as nowhere to put it ! So a bit overpriced for the space provided.
The rooftop pool area was good, nice view. But when we went off looking for our free massage(included), the Spa area was all locked up and no staff to help us ? Not very pleased.
I would return but in a cheaper room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplythebest30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Fantastic hotel, great location for exploring Barcelona. Best breakfast selection and service. Would definitely recommend. Lovely atmosphere in City Bar in the evening. Too cold to use the rooftop swimming pool bit great views from up there!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyA-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel entrance lobby on ancient stone street and step which once lead to a grand residence. Modern, clean, new comfortable rooms. Great service and friendly staff. Good hotel restaurant w/good continental breakfasts incl. Walking distance to attractions. Has rooftop pool, though we did not visit. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micheline a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault this hotel in any aspect of our stay. It was immaculate, the room was beautifully appointed, the staff was friendly and so helpful, and the restaurant was reasonably priced for really good food.

A few things worth mentioning: the rooms come equipped with a salon-grade hair dryer. The toiletries are of excellent quality. There are several small grocery stores very close by, to avoid expensive minibar charges, and a Starbucks a 3 minute walk away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Hotel twice in 2013 and it was terrific on both occasions. First was over the Sonar music festival whilst the second was just prior to Christmas for some family sightseeing.

As the name suggests the hotel has a wonderful location for tourists. The rooms have a stripped back, contemporary style and are extremely comfortable with a great use of space. Without exception the staff are friendly and professional.

The view from the roof top bar is simply stunning. Cannot wait to return again this year for Sonar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a real little gem! The entire offering is quality. Comfortable room, nice restaurant and city bar with good live music in the evening. The roof top deck and pool bar is fabulous with the best views over the city. Staff interact well and there is a strong overall customer service ethic in place. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
Hotel Ohla Barcelona
#41 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
The Wittmore Hotel
The Wittmore Hotel
#4 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#37 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,321 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#19 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Property: Grand Hotel Central
Address: Via Laietana 30, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#17 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Central 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Central, a home in the heart of Barcelona where the amenities and luxuries of a five-star hotel are combined with a sense of style and elegance. The hotel has a perfect location between the Gothic district with its spectacular Cathedral or the ancient city walls and "el Born". 147 spacious rooms & suites with the best of modern design. Its very famous infinity pool, the Avalon Restaurant where the awarded Chef Ramon Freixa presents affordable cuisine to share with friends, the stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere, the Gallery our art space perfect for private events, the Wellness Suite with its carefully designed treatments, the Thermal Suite that offers a private steam and sauna experience, the well equipped Fitness Center, and a dedicated team who understands your specific requirements for any meeting or event in one of our multiples spaces... All creates a unique lifestyle and fashionable experience with a sense of elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Barcelona
Grand Hotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Grand Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing