We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Sunotel”
Review of Sunotel Junior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunotel Junior
Ranked #356 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    133
    92
    31
    13
See reviews for
27
166
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Metro is acceptable near, so good starting point for all city activities. Main reason to choose the Sunotel versus comparable offerings was the Swimming Pool, which is a good relaxation after a strong museum day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joachim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Sunotel Junior delivered exactly what I was expecting from it.

THE ROOM:
Small but tidy room, clean washing facilities, a comfy bed which the staff come and make each day.

LOCATION:
Just off the city centre with good links to public transport. A little noisey at night but as a light sleeper I must say it never really bothered me. Ask the staff for help they were always very helpful with directions.

OVERVIEW:
I thought this was a great little hotel and good value for money. If you are staying longer than a few days I would suggest going half board as eating out becomes expensive.
The air con is a bit hit and miss as some days it worked then others not so but it was not a massive issue. The swimming pool is not the best I was not drinking from it but the water tasted disgusting, but the view from the roof was great.

I am looking to go to Barcelona gaain in the near future and will gladly stay at the Sunotel Junior again.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room not facing the main road as it is very noisey and glass is not double glazed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theRidleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Do you want a good hotel 200 metres from a metro (Hospital Clinic), 10 minutes ride to Ramblas, AC, swimming pool on roof, in good safe area and short walk to Diagonal? If so stay at its sister hotel [the Sunhotel Aston] which ajoins this hotel and shares facilities. It will cost you about £5 pn extra but its worth it. Its the same firm and they share breakfast room and pool.Loads of bars, cafes etc nearby. Lovely pool and sunbeds, nice breakfast too.
The Junior lets itself down in that the AC for most room's (not floor 1) is controlled by reception and they turn it off most of the time.
The other problem is the noise. The rooms dont seem to have double glazing and even with windows shut you can hear the traffic from the main road. If you are near the lift its also very noisy.The ajoining hotel is quieter (we have stopped in both more than once) and is on the quieter side street.

Room Tip: Go next door, or insist on level 1 on back of hotel away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed 6 nights at the beginning of May, was in Barcelona for the first time, wished to discover the city and Gaudí's works. Booked at booking.com, looked for a nice clean hotel to sleep after Barcelona sightseeing. Accomodation in Barcelona being surprisingly expensive, Sunotel Junior offers good value for money.

In short: good clean hotel, close to the center, well-communicated with public transports, friendly English-speaking staff, excellent breakfast, no big luxury, but worth its money.

Well-situated, not exactly at the center, but metro station Hospital Clinic in 3 mins walk, direct line to Sagrada Familia (7 mins), 1 station to Diagonal - the beginning of Barcelona "shopping line" - Passeig de Gracia with all shops (especially luxury). You could arrive to Plaça Catalunya - many shopping centres and the beginning of Rambla, the main tourist street, - in 10 mins by metro (1 change) or by bus 66 (stops round the corner of the hotel).

The hotel is well-communicated with El Prat airport: either Aerobus from Plaça Catalunya or Renfe train from Barcelona Sants (only 2 stations by metro from the hotel). 2 supermarkets, some restaurants and bakeries close to the hotel.

After having booked a room, I wrote a mail directly to the hotel reception to ask how to get to the hotel from the airport and to request a room on the silent side of the street (I was afraid of Booking clients' reviews concerning noisy rooms), and the hotel reception answers were clear and precise. The hotel staff are friendly and nice, all English-speaking, they gave me a good room and were ready to help at any moment.

Single room nice, well-cleaned daily, not spacious, but I didn't need big comfort for sleep. Not noisy, my room overlooking the interior garden, but thin walls, could hear other guests when they were in the corridor (but not in their rooms). No problem, since I always sleep with earplugs, so I had really good night rest.

Just maybe a couple of remarks that could help you improving the quality of your service. First, I would have appreciated if the swimming-pool and jacuzzi had extended opening hours: 10 a.m. - 8 p.m. I was in the city and could't use swimming-pool, even if I didn't really need it, it would have been nice to be able to do that. Then, would maybe suggest a more comfortable pillow, the one I had was a bit too flat, but it's a minor thing. Finally, and I'm sorry for this remark, a toilet brush in the bathroom is a must, thank you for your understanding!

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior garden are quieter, you could ask the reception by writing a mail, they are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lidia_Sutormina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The room was clean but outside noise level unacceptable .
Main window did not seem to close properly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#369 of 513 in Barcelona
455 reviews
Hotel Derby
#294 of 513 in Barcelona
668 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#360 of 513 in Barcelona
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#250 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#383 of 513 in Barcelona
256 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#365 of 513 in Barcelona
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Junior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Junior

Property: Sunotel Junior
Address: Avenida Sarria 9, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunotel Junior 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sunotel Junior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Junior Hotel Barcelona
Junior Sunotel Barcelona
Junior Sunotel Hotel Barcelona
Sunotel Junior Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing