We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really great place to stay for the value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Ranked #260 of 323 Barcelona B&B and Inns
El Cerrito, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great place to stay for the value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I was really pleased with this place! My boyfriend and I stayed for 4 nights, it was a wonderful location, central to everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Maria. Internet was easily accessible on wifi and computer in lobby, the place was smal and often quiet, the street, despite being in the center of town, was very quiet. The only thing I didn't like was that very little light got in through the window, but this was really no problem at all. I don't know if all the rooms were like that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with other people. Is a pleasure for us that a Senior Reviewer in Tripadvisor gives us so high score.

We tried, as we always do, to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Since you slept with us we made some improvements: listening to our guests suggestions, now all our rooms enjoy a little fridge, for example.

Regarding the light, some of our rooms face to the street (in spite of having unsoundproofed windows, they are noisier, but with more light) and some of them to backyards (less light, more silence), that is very usual in Barcelona, as it is a very compact city.

Finally, just hope to see you again in any of Barcelona City Hotels' chain place and hope your experience will be as good as the last one.

Best Regards,

María
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    22
    12
    19
See reviews for
19
49
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argostolion, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Cheap in comparison with other hotels and located in a really nice spot (supermarket next to it, nice places to eat close to the hostel and 10 minutes walk to Placa Catalunya)! Almost all of the most known tourist attractons are within walking distance and there is a metro station close to it (Passeig de Gracia). The staff is really friendly, we arrived after midnight but there was someone there to welcome us, although it was past time for the check in. They gave us a map and marked for us the metro lines, the best things to see and even the places where pickpocket was usual. Clean enough, has big rooms, a shared kitchen and is really quiet (the structure of the room was such that we weren't annoyed at all by the traffic noise). The best choice for those who want something cheap and nice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioanna-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal.

I saw that you loved our privileged situation in the city, that is the most valued thing by all our guests, as well as our facilities and friendly service.

I think, sincerely, that we are not a cheap hotel. We just try to give the best value for money and I think that it is what you appreciate.

I hope to see you again in this or some other accommodation of our chain.

See you soon!

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had to wait for them to arrive to allow access to our room since we arrived in the evening but service was good and atmosphere was very good and relaxing. Rooms were big enough for three people but not much time was spent there since Barcelona is such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi!

First of all, thank for taking your time sharing your experience in Barcelona City Centre Hostal.

Regarding your arrival, sometimes specially arriving late in evening or night, guests have to wait for some time as we don't have 24 hours reception. We are testing now to give this "out-of-time" check-ins in a hotel we own just three blocks away from the Barcelona City Centre.

Anyway, we provide all the guests with a confirmation e-mail where we ask their arrival time and we provide also an emergencies phone in order to advise us in case of unexpected delays and to agree the check-in time and place. I see it worked also this time!

Thanks again for your opinion and very proud that you loved our city (we too).

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a hostel right in the heart of Barcelona, well almost. You can reach La Ramblas in 5 minutes on foot, or take a bus which stops right in front of the hostel. Rooms are average size but clean, and they are cleaned everyday. Bed sheets and towels are changed everyday as well. You get AC, wifi and a common kitchen where you can do some basic cooking and heating. Owner is very helpful and on the day of arrival, she explained all places of tourist interest and how to reach there by metro. Would definitely suggest this place for people looking for a nice place to stay within budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starmayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Room was clean, friendly staff, quiet and a great location. Excellent value for money! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi!

Thank you for your impressions.

Sincerely, I think we are not perfect and we can improve always some things.

Anyway, when someone rates you with a 5 over 5 and understands perfectly what we offer (value for money, great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and good facilities) our work makes sense and we try to offer even a bigger smile.

Thank you again.

See you soon!

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very friendly staff. David and Gabriel were extremely helpful on arrival and departure.

Incredible value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi!

First of all, thank you for your encouraging opinion.

I was probably on holidays during your visit or in my free days, but is really good to know that everything was perfect in my absence and the "clock" doesn't stop.

Just let you know that now Gabriel doesn't cover anymore the free days of the accommodation's managers of the chain and has become the manager of our new opened (March 2013) places Barcelona City Street and Barcelona City Seven.

Finally, it is a pleasure that you appraise our value for money and you find it "incredible". We will try to continue to meet our customers expectations.

Hope to see you in a next visit. Thank you again.

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Service very friendly, polite and helpfully.
Room was tidy and looked good.
Close to centre.
If I go back to Barcelona I order the same hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tomasz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelonacitycentre, Gerente at Barcelona City Centre Hostal, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi!

Just a big thank you for your kind post.

Is a pleasure that you find everything perfect. We like the excellent rates we receive from our guests, but we like also to receive some kind of feedback about things we can improve.

Just explain you that, thanks to some feedbacks we received, now all our rooms enjoy a little fridge inside and we are trying to give some kind of a paid good breakfast. Paid, but really really cheap. As always with Barcelona City Centre: value for money.

Thanks for your comments and I see we will probably see you again.

Best regards.

Maria
Manageress (Barcelona City Centre Hostal)
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#371 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#320 of 524 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Eixample
Plaza Catalunya Guest House
Plaza Catalunya Guest House
#132 of 323 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ally's Guest House
Ally's Guest House
#83 of 323 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Barcelona City Street Guesthouse
#210 of 323 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Barcelona City North
#171 of 323 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Property: Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing