We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona quick stop”
Review of Transit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transit Hotel
Ranked #357 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Barcelona quick stop”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic value for money. Recently re-furbished and so quite immaculate. All facilities to hand though no in-room internet nor breakfast. As room was so small I wouldn't want to spend any time there apart from sleeping. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by and only 5 minutes from Barcelona Sants station.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    107
    83
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
113
45
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was taken here as a treat and had no part in chosing our accomodation. Having read a few reviews I was a bit wary of what I mgiht find. I needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful, polite and (luckily for us) English speakers. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a small balcony. It was very clean, simple but stylish and suited us perfectly.

There is wifi in the lobby but we were able to access from the room. This wouldn't be the case in other parts of the hotel. There is a vending machine but several restaurant/bars nearby that will more than adequately cover any food and drink requirements along with a Hipermarket and a smaller local shop a few doors up the road.

It's very close to Sants Estacio station and a short walk to Espanya.

Overall we were very pleased at the exceptional value for money this hotel added. I would like to re-iterate that the staff we encountered were all professional and charming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place is little more than a glorified hostel. Shoebox sized rooms and NO INTERNET in the rooms- say what? Is this not the 21st century? Expect to get little to nothing done if you're in transition as you move into Barcelona. And call me crazy but a hotel that boasts itself as good for international travelers should speak more than just Spanish and Catalan- at all hours of the night. Americans and British alike don't just disappear after 10pm... Upon check-in, after I saw my shoebox sized room, I asked for a double room; the woman who checked me in said there were none; this was at 3pm. At about 6pm, on my way out, there was a new concierge. I stopped to ask him why the internet was so God-awful and a man came in off of the street asking if there was a room available. The man replied :solo un doble; meaning only a double for 55euro. Wtf?? I didn't make a big deal of it but it bothered me so I went back around 9:30/10, asking for a new double room (the single is somewhat intolerably small) whereupon I was greeted by yet ANOTHER concierge who said he spoke English but did not. He told me he could move me for 65 euros. I explained to him as best I could in Castilian (Spanish) but he apparently spoke only Catalan (and Hindi, as he was Indian) that I had just heard the same room offered to another man for 10 euros less. Stay 2 blocks away for 20euros more at Carrer del Callao 8, I think its called Townhouse Apartments City Center. So much of a better value; you'll be safe and comfortable. Transit es no bueno.

Room Tip: Insist on a double, chances are they have them but won't tell you and DO NOT stay in room 1- you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance from Estacio de Sants and Tarragona train/metro stations. We even walked to the attractions in Montjuic. It was also easy to travel to Plaza Espanya during the wee hours to catch the night bus to airport. The hotel staffs were courteous but we'd like it better if the registration form that we had to sign during check-in had an English version. The room was new and clean apart from the awful creaking noise made by the bathroom door. The toiletries were not replenished at all during our 4 night stay. There was neither internet nor breakfast but some vending machines at the lobby area. Overall, the hotel was basic but served its purpose as resting place at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A budget hotel. The room was small but comfortable and clean. It had all the necessary: TV, small safe, bathroom, cleaning everyday (although they wouldn't give you soap everyday)
The bathroom was smelling really bad although the window was open all day. Also, the walls were fake and you could hear everything around you.
The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is located on a quite street 5-7 minutes walking distance from the tube and many buses. Yet, it was far from the center were everything is (in terms of sightseeing and night-out). Yet, because it was not in a touristic area it had many cheap traditional Spanish bars around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoraKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

OK, the rooms are small, but clean and perfectly adequate. Position in a quiet side street near the main Sants station, so convenient to get anywhere on the excellent Metro. Nearby there's a Pharmacist and a small "supermarket" for groceries, and round the corner are several restaurants, ranging from a burger bar to middle of the road restaurants, and a Moroccan resto.
Watch out for the shower though, it could be scaalding if not set properly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 20Phil20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed four nights and on first entering the room thought it quite small but it was bright and very clean. It served its purpose very well providing cheap clean comfortable accom. The only draw back was there were no tea making facilities at first this doesn't seem a problem but every time you want a cup of tea you have to go out to a cafe which starts to get expensive. There was however a cafe on the next block which was run by a very friendly family who served excellent tea/coffee and good inexpensive meals ( eating out in Barcelona can get very expensive).
There was very little noise in the Hotel despite it being fully booked so each night had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCarroll471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Sants
AC Hotel Sants
#333 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant Angelo
Hotel Sant Angelo
#329 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Central Inn
Gran Central Inn
#466 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Sans
Hostal Sans
#342 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Expo Hotel Barcelona
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#339 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
0.6 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#107 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Hotel

Property: Transit Hotel
Address: Rector Triado 82, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Transit Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Hotel, recently renovated is a comfortable, cozy and functional hotel, ideal to spend some days in Barcelona. Transit Hotel is ideally located, situated between the Plaza de Espana and Sants Central Station, one of the business areas of the city. The Hotel has good connections with the airport and also with the train and bus stations in medium and long distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing