We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfect”
Review of Transit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transit Hotel
Ranked #370 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed four nights and on first entering the room thought it quite small but it was bright and very clean. It served its purpose very well providing cheap clean comfortable accom. The only draw back was there were no tea making facilities at first this doesn't seem a problem but every time you want a cup of tea you have to go out to a cafe which starts to get expensive. There was however a cafe on the next block which was run by a very friendly family who served excellent tea/coffee and good inexpensive meals ( eating out in Barcelona can get very expensive).
There was very little noise in the Hotel despite it being fully booked so each night had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCarroll471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Transit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Transit Hotel is a short walk from the Barcelona Sants Station. From the outside it looks fairly nondescript and the entry foyer could do with some TLC. We were wondering what to expect and on entering the Hotel decided that we couldn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to our room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The room was spacious, clean, with a large comfortable bed, was well equipped and because it was on the ground floor the bathroom had been renovated to enable a person in a wheelchair to access it easily. There was a reverse cycle air conditioner in the room because the window could not be opened, and this provided us with cool air when needed. For the price, we think we had an excellent room in a Hotel with 24 hour reception, in a very convenient yet quiet location. Reception staff at the hotel were helpful and friendly. All of them spoke English.
Two doors down from the hotel was a very popular cafe/bar/restaurant that offered coffee and croisants for 2 euros or omelette, coffee and toast for 2 euros 65 cents. We made use of this very friendly establishment because the hotel did not provide breakfast. Across the road from the cafe was an internet outlet that charged 1 euro for one hour of internet use. As we used the internet for only 30 minutes, we were charged 50 cents for the privilege. Between the railway station and the hotel is a very large supermarket that provided everything from groceries to hardware to clothing. The popular tourist hop on hop off sightseeing buses stop at "Sants".

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I went there when they were renovating. I had to walk through the painting area to get into my room

the lift was so small that it was almost full from our big luggage.
I got the room that I had to carry my luggage on the steps to the room (after getting out of the lift)

The room looked new (I guess it was already renovated), but it was very small.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-i-Y-i-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Like sleeping inside a shoebox... Terrible service, noises, smelly bathrooms...
Como dormir en una caja de zapatos... Pésimo servicio, ruidos, baños hediondos...

Room Tip: None of them Ninguna
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadroig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Small room, only to have a rest after a long walk in the city. The bathroom is clean and renewed. We stayed 2 nights and went forward to Costa Brava, so as a transit hotel, it is perfect.
Unfortunately no breakfast, so without any meal service it is a bit expensive. I reccommand only for couples or friends and no for families.
Location is good, railwas station Saints is for 5 minutes walk.
Plaza Espagna 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Room is small and the wash rooms are also small. They have a very good shower and airconditioner in the room. No internet facility at the entire hotel. Hotel is very near to Barcelona Sants station. No food. They have some coffee vending machines. They are renovating the hotel. So, rooms seems to be very fresh. Had good sleep and great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Volcanoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was in a great location and we stayed on the gound floor no.2 newly renovated.
But had damp in the walls and smelt a bit in the room - but overall it was great.
Very basic, no internet, but near all amenities. In fact I would say a bit pricey for what it was. Good service.

Room Tip: Great location
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnellap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Sant Angelo
#323 of 513 in Barcelona
365 reviews
AC Hotel Sants
#341 of 513 in Barcelona
529 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Acta City47
#247 of 513 in Barcelona
772 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#331 of 513 in Barcelona
2,784 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Bia
Hostal Bia
#485 of 513 in Barcelona
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transit Hotel

Address: Rector Triado 82, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $67 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Transit Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transit Hotel, recently renovated is a comfortable, cozy and functional hotel, ideal to spend some days in Barcelona. Transit Hotel is ideally located, situated between the Plaza de Espana and Sants Central Station, one of the business areas of the city. The Hotel has good connections with the airport and also with the train and bus stations in medium and long distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Transit Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing