We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advance Hotel is certainly not advanced....”
Review of Hotel Advance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Advance
Ranked #328 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After arriving from Prague at our originally booked Hotel Cram, we were kicked out because our booked room was taken by other guests and the hotel was now full so they sent us to stay at Advance Hotel instead where they threw in a complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience. We were already feeling hot and annoyed on arrival at Hotel Advance as it was not the hotel we booked. On entering our hotel room the problems with this place started and didn't stop! It was 30 plus degrees outside in Barcelona with probably 80% humidity so you really want to come in and get the air con cranking in your room. Problem one, we had the air con turned up full blast on the coldest setting and our room began to get hotter! We couldn't enter our room and not sweat in there because the air con was pumping out air hotter than outside it seemed. We opened the window and the room actually began to cool slightly.

Problem two, we were given a wifi password to use and were able to get onto the internet in our room, however no web pages would load. My partner works in IT and figured it was a problem with their router. I called up reception and explained about the wifi issue and the girl just told me they have problems with the internet there and I would have to use it in the lobby like everyone else. What?? Are we not paying for wifi to be useable in our room? I also complained about the air con in our room and she said "oh yes, this means there are many people in their hotel rooms using the air conditioning so it struggles when there are too many people using it when it's too hot". I couldn't believe this response and argued that this is unacceptable for a hotel.

Problem three, with no internet available to use in our room I thought I'd check out some Spanish TV. I found an English station but couldn't hear anything because the volume would not go above 8 via the remote or a button on the TV. Very frustrating, especially since the walls were super thin. We decided to go down to the lobby and try looking for another hotel to book because we were getting so frustrated, but everything was too expensive and we figured they most likely wouldn't refund our money. So we endured the heat during the day and returned back to our room in the evening to find the air con was still not working properly. I requested a fan so we could at least get to sleep in the heat but they didn't even have any. I complained again about all the issues with reception downstairs and he just said they had problems with management solving the issues.

On the plus side the shower in the room was fantastic and it was clean, and our complimentary breakfast was not too bad. The standard fair, but the juice and water could have been filled up more frequently. They also had a late check out time of 12pm, which was great for us with our flight home at 4pm. It's a just unfortunate that the last night of our five week holiday was spent in an ill equipped hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Electrickittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Advance
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 356 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We came from England to this hotel and stayed for 4 nights.

The location of the hotel was great as it was close to the centre and had the metro stop close by.

The rooms where very clean.

The staff were very polite and helpful.

The breakfast was good as it had a wide range of choice.

I would definitely recommend to stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emznsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location is perfect - near the university, metro stop, grocery store, and movie theater. Also, laundromat a few blocks away which we desperately needed. You can access the entire city from the metro, so we cannot over emphasize how great the location is. Staff was friendly but not overly so. Rooms had plenty of space, but we did have issues with bugs outside the room door at night (which snuck in when we entered the room). The air conditioning did not sufficiently cool the room to our liking, and they did not provide clean sheets daily on our rollaway bed. We did not have any noise issues at the hotel. Overall, it was a good stay and we would visit again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank marybandrobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I LOVED the location of this hotel. It was great to be in an area that consisted primarily of locals, but was within close walking distance to the touristy La Rambla. The neighborhood certainly seemed safe, and I was always comfortable walking around. A few doors down is a great little bar/pub called El Principal. This is a great spot to grab a quick bite or a drink. As for the hotel interior, its decor is very modern which is great. Rooms are a bit small, but that's to be expected for Europe! Bathroom is really nice and includes a large shower. The MAJOR negative to this hotel is the wall's must be made out of paper! You could hear EVERYTHING around you (I actually heard my neighbor blow his nose). I would recommend this hotel because of its fantastic location, but would highly suggest bringing some ear plugs :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachGal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We came from Israel for 5 Days,

Beautiful boutique hotel, close to downtown-
Great location within walking distance of Catalunya Square and the Ramblas.

Hotel staff very courteous and pleasant.

Definitely highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meirav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

the good - very helpful stuff , good breakfast , facilities , near transportation, free wifi
the bad - noisy room (thin walls , traffic on the road side) , walking distance from main attractions (the subway connection in Catalonia hub is not short)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymagor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've read quite a bit of feedback about this hotel and some of it very negative. Have to be honest and say I don't really share the negative thoughts.

We were greeted by helpful, polite staff, and our room on the third floor was clean, modern and well equipped. The front if the hotel faces onto the road, and if you're a light sleeper then traffic could be an issue. We had one issue with other guests being noisy but they were fine once asked to turn it down a bit.

Breakfast was simple, but well presented and again, service was great.

The hotel is ideally located as it is just off the metro, the bus route and 5 mins from the main drag at La Rambla.

If you're eating out, try la Principal, next door... Great food, brilliant atmosphere, great prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#123 of 513 in Barcelona
520 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#81 of 513 in Barcelona
947 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#139 of 513 in Barcelona
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
Hotel SERHS Rivoli Rambla
#214 of 513 in Barcelona
1,318 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#91 of 513 in Barcelona
1,667 reviews
Eixample
H10 Universitat
H10 Universitat
#148 of 513 in Barcelona
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Advance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Advance

Address: Sepulveda 180, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $136 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Advance 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and only 10 minutes walk from La Fira and 5 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and Paseo de Gracia, and next to the historic and charming neighborhoods of El Raval, Gothic and El Born,hotel Advance brings you closer to museums and major attractions where you can get lost and discover Barcelona. The 1888 building was the old familiar "Casa Farmis" which later became the home of the Marquis of Framis where they lived until 1990. Designed by interior designer Santi Nin and some family members Bondia, you will receive a magnificent entrance doors, fully restored, dating from the late nineteenth century. The Hotel Advance, combines elegance, modernity and comfort, the hotel has 38 rooms, some with nice terraces where you feel the authentic Barcelona. All rooms are equipped with T.V. hairdryer, mini bar, safe and air conditioning. The Hotel Advance, all equipment will serve you with professionalism and attention that our guests deserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Advance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Advance Hotel
Hotel Advance Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing