We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place, far from Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Gaudi Barcelona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite Gaudi Barcelona
Ranked #395 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place, far from Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Please do not confuse this hotel address with the Las Ramblas!
This place is a great value but you need a cab (5 euro) to get downtown.
Tiny room but great terrace from which to eat your toast in the morning.
The people at the desk do not speak ANY english so bring your pictionary skills!!

  • Liked — $90 a night cannot be beat. Includes continental breakfast
  • Disliked — The fact that I parked my car at the real Las Ramblas and had a difficult time finding this one.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JanetAnnRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Marvellous, we stayed at this hotel, our pets were alloved! they gave us a bowl for their food and water!. Our room were clean, cosy and comfortable. Staff sweet, helpful, kind, . They offered internet access for free, kitchen room and fridge, microwawe owen all of their cutlery. We are Italians and we missed our pasta, ok, Monti gave us directions where we can buy a regular italian pasta, we went there and after we cooked in the staff's kichen!. It is really another home for us in Barcelona, Monti speaks Italian and the other girl Carina is so sweet and nice. We highly recommend to sleep here. Ariel and Maria Ferretti

  • Liked — STAFF AND PETS ALLOWED
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ARIROMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

Suite Gaudi Barcelona is a good place to stay if you don't have too many needs. The room is very simple, but everything was quite clean and the shared bathroom was exceedingly clean as well. The included breakfast was also simple, but good and got us energy to get out again during the day. The best part of the room was the balcony which had a great view of the streets below with trees tapping lightly against the window.

If you're into high end shopping, the location of this hotel is perfect. MaxMara, dozens of Campers stores, Gucci, etc. boutiques are all on the street parallel to it (Passiag de Gracia). I had a great stay and our hostess, Yvonna, was very friendly, informative and spoke English. I'd recommend this stay to others and I have!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mstinawu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2007

My decision to book this hotel was heavily influenced by the very positive tripadvisor reviews. My experience during the six day stay bears out the absolute value of real user reviews. I agree with everything other reviewers have said about Suite Gaudi (with the obvious exception of the one that couldn't find it). This is a really good place to stay! It's very professionally operated by some genuinely friendly and helpful people, It's well positioned in the Eixample - if you don't know Rambla de Catalunya, it's a very pleasant street with lots of cafes and designer shops - I prefer it to its bigger neighbour, Pge de Gracia. The beach is ten minutes by bus or metro - both of which are very close to the hotel. Breakfast is fine and available up to noon. During my stay, the whole place was kept very clean. I'm at risk of repeating every other reviewer's praise here - but Suite Gaudi deserves it.

  • Liked — First class service in a very good location
  • Disliked — No wifi or computer access
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank trueblueother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

Suite Gaudi is a little gem!!!
When we checked in early our room was not quite ready but we left our stuff. the woman on the desk did not speak good english but was sweet and very polite!

Upon our return after some sightseeing one of the other staff members Monty was there. I can not say enough about how helpfufl and how friendly she was. She provided us with a map of the area hilighting a few restaurants and gave us tips about the city. you can tell monty loves her job....amazing friendly service. when she saw my partner taking a picture of me from outside on the balcony she even offered to take both our pictures even tho she was on the run. Very impressive.

the rooms are sweet. High ceilings, the bed was comfortable, and i loved the little balconies which gave the room a lot of character. the bathroom was on the issue, being very very small especially the shower. You had to be careful not to bump the tap which would turn it hot and you could scald yourself.

the in room breakfast was a nice added touch and for the price you pay here I am surprised they do it. The other nice feature is internet access. they allow you to use the computer in the office.

the location was perfect, in a great area, away from all the action of Las Ramblas but close enough that you can walk with no issue. Also very close to the metro, shopping, and gaudi sights.

I would have loved to have stayed in barcelona longer and next time I come back I will book here without question.

  • Liked — the location and the service
  • Disliked — the small showers
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluedenim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

Our family of 4, including 2 teenaged sons stayed here for 5 nights and can't say enough about the great time we had here. The staff were so helpful and friendly.
We enjoyed the breakfast and the view from the balcony.
Very central and easy to walk to all the sights, lots of Gaudi close by. The chocolate shop and bar across the street proved popular. I would stay here again, it was clean and comfortable.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank laraineheaslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2007

I have just got back from a weekend in Barcelona and just had to tell everyone how good Suite Gaudi is.

The trip was organised to celebrate a family birthday, and the whole trip was a surprise. The hotel staff were brilliant, especially Monti as they kept everything a secret. We could not fault the friendliness of the staff - nothing was too much trouble for them.

The breakfast was absolutely fine. I have lived in Spain and the hotel serves exactly what the Spanish have for breakfast. Lunch is a big meal in Spain and that's when you go wild. Sometimes people go to countries and expect to eat in the same way they eat at home, and then complain if they can't. What happened to 'when in Rome....'?

The rooms were spotless and tastefully decorated with balconies overlooking the street or the inner courtyard. It was about a 10-15 min pleasant walk to the top of the Rambla, straight down the main road and so easy to find.

The Hotel is located on the first floor of a traditional apartment building, in between a shoe shop and a chocolate shop. It is right on the corner and easy to find. I am puzzled at the guy who said in his review that the hotel does not exist. Something went wrong there!

All in all it was a great stay for all of us. We will definitely stay there again next time we are in Barcelona.

  • Liked — The Staff and Cleanliness of the rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SebDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#314 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Moderno Hotel Bcn
#335 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#167 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
La Rambla
Hostal Las Flores
Hostal Las Flores
#164 of 760 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Gaudi Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Gaudi Barcelona

Property: Suite Gaudi Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 103 1a, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Hotel Class:2 star — Suite Gaudi Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Suite Gaudi Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing