We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Oasis”
Review of Ramblas Guesthouse

Ramblas Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramblas Guesthouse
Ranked #224 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2007

I came to Spain for a crazy event in the dessert just outside of Zaragoza. After almost a week of camping, this bed and breakfast was a complete oasis to our eyes.

The building itself is amazing – we couldn’t believe the floors and the ceilings had been preserved so well – it looks like something out of a picture book. The twin room was so inexpensive and really comfortable and very large. It had plants and cushions and we had a great balcony overlooking a quaint street, which was surprisingly quiet (we stayed on weeknights so I can’t speak for the weekends, but boy slept and we slept good)


The bathroom certainly wasn’t brand new, but it was charming, immaculately clean and even had a tub! Beautiful living room which was large but real cosy and a great kitchen with everything you needed to prepare and store food PLUS a well needed washing machine. There was no reception and no breakfast and we only met one rep from the company, but he was extremely nice and helpful and left us a number we were told we could call 24hours a day. We actually really preferred this kind of set up. Our privacy to feel at home, but knowing someone was there. As for our experience of Barcelona – well, let me tell you, it’s not realy the kind of city you go to for a “rest”!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank darkdirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

This place was really something. Barcelona is an amazing city, and thanks to this company, I had a blast. The place is right in the center of the city at a real deal price.

The place itself was so quaint – really old fashioned but really well modernized. The floors and the staircase were impressive. It’s small, so you can really get to know your fellow guests if you want to, and chill with them, or just do your own thing. There were 5 other people staying while I was there.

My room had a double bed, which was great for me as I’m tall, and I had a kind of small terrace overlooking the, most amazing view of the cathedral and I was two minutes from the Rambla and the beautiful Gothic quarter. I didn’t use the kitchen to cook, as I didn’t come on vacation to cook but it was really great to be able to make myself a coffee and store fruit from the market and ice cold beers in the fridge. Bathroom was modern and most importantly it was really clean. There was lots of hot water.

I really couldn’t have asked for anything better. Big “Gracias” to Edward and team for an unforgettable vacation, I’m looking forward to next time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanssoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2007

Hello!
I came to Barcelona with a very good friend of mine and we stayed for 5 nights at the Ramblas Guesthouse. The room was very big and spacious and the furniture and interior design was warm and pleasant. The living area and kitchen were very nice and were fully eqipped. We made breakfast together in the mornings before heading out and as we were right in the middle of the city we managed to see so much of the city and could walk home safe late at night after being out.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a cosy place to live and who wants to live up the Barcelona lifestyle!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Neubauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Galway,Ireland
111
Reviewed October 18, 2005

Myself and my boyfriend visited this guesthouse a few weeks ago.Whilst we absolutely loved Barcelona and had the trip of a lifetime,our one fault was this guesthouse.Firstly,when we arrived (at about 1pm)our room had not yet been cleaned.The house beared no resemblance whatsoever to the pictures we saw on the website.We asked for a room with a balcony.This could not be described as a balcony.The seats were falling apart and there was barely enough room to stand on it.We asked to speak to Eduardo but we're told he wasn't around.The first night we came home to find a homeless person asleep inside the door of the building.There was alot of noise all night.The next day another couple arrived and we're also disgusted at how the website portrayed a completely different image of this so called "guesthouse".Unfortunately there was a festival on that weekend and although we tried,we could not find alternative accommodation for that week.We tried to speak to Eduardo on numerous occasions but he was nowhere to be seen.We found much nicer places to stay for our second week though.The location of this place is great but that's about it.Just a word of warning,do not expect it to look like the pictures on the website!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

It is the best hostel in which I've been. It is in a very central situation, in the midle of everything. A very good relationship quality-price.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnCramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rita_G_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 736 in Barcelona
1,600 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#122 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#67 of 736 in Barcelona
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Barcelona City North
#205 of 308 in Barcelona
89 reviews
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 516 in Barcelona
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramblas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramblas Guesthouse

Address: Duc de la Victoria St. corner Canuda St, Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramblas Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ramblas Guesthouse Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing